User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 1 out of 18

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Scott
    Mar 2, 2004
    9
    This is truly one of the most important records to own this year. Never before have I heard an artist bring so much to the table, with so little regard to how it's taken. An excellent album.
  2. Zach
    Mar 2, 2004
    10
    wonderfully weird.
  3. JohnB
    Mar 3, 2004
    9
    more melodies, and fuller instrumentation compared to his earlier work. more accessible, yet loses none of his style.
  4. David
    Mar 2, 2004
    9
    good album
  5. ERDEMC
    Mar 8, 2004
    10
    xiu xiu proves where music goes. their latest is an innovation to boring music scene. they may be the pioneer of what music should be in the future. the posterity: listen carefully xiu xiu (shoe shoe).
  6. BenjaminBunny
    Mar 16, 2004
    9
    The best and most accessible album yet from what very well might be the most important band in music today. Xiu Xiu's music is unflinchingly emotional and sonically and structurally unusual, fascinating and beautiful. No other record right now sounds like this, or feels like this. Xiu Xiu still makes music that will scare the sh*t out of you, but this time around they maintain a The best and most accessible album yet from what very well might be the most important band in music today. Xiu Xiu's music is unflinchingly emotional and sonically and structurally unusual, fascinating and beautiful. No other record right now sounds like this, or feels like this. Xiu Xiu still makes music that will scare the sh*t out of you, but this time around they maintain a consistant, overwhelming loveliness that compliment their harsh emotional theatrics. If you want to be in the know, you will own this album. Expand
  7. tweedledee
    Mar 18, 2004
    10
    Jamie gets better every time. I luv the cd OH!
  8. AramisG
    Feb 23, 2005
    10
    After Skinny Puppy released Last Rights back in 1992, there has been very little that is actually "new" going on in pop music. IDM was and continues to be cool but very little of it feels organic, emotional or dynamic (Autechre conintues to try though). There have been plenty of great bands since then but they have all been tied in one way or another to other older bands. That is the one After Skinny Puppy released Last Rights back in 1992, there has been very little that is actually "new" going on in pop music. IDM was and continues to be cool but very little of it feels organic, emotional or dynamic (Autechre conintues to try though). There have been plenty of great bands since then but they have all been tied in one way or another to other older bands. That is the one great risk none of them seem to want to take which is fine as long as they make good music. But here is Xiu Xiu, wow! Noise, and good noise at that, mixed with snippets of melody and hooks. I can't believe a band is making the type of pop music I actually want to hear. If you think this is too pretentious or noisy then there are plenty of less dynamic bands for you to roll with and they will tap any nostalgic bone you have for $18.00. However if you feel like something is desperately missing from pop music, like how you expected your kids music in the future to be louder and noisy than your music and not this pussy ass crap kids listen to these days, then Xiu Xiu is there for you. Expand
  9. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    Personal as hell. musically diverse, gay as **** Challenges. Rocks your ass off. Easily made my Pitchfork Peoples' List Top 30. I love alot of songs by Jamie Stewart off various albums as Xiu Xiu, but from beginning to end this one is the standout in his ouvre. The album makes me smile, cry , and cringe. What more could you want?
  10. dgddgdf
    Mar 5, 2004
    0
    What? U cal dis moosic? i's sure deont
  11. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    This has to be one of the saddest, most emotional records you could listen to nowadays. All the lo-fi noisy synths, chiptune/folk melodies, and strong vocal work make this a great album, though I don't think Support The Troops OH! is a very tasteful song and contrasts with the rest of the album in my opinion. Other than that, great album!

    Best tracks: Crank Heart, I Luv The Valley OH!,
    This has to be one of the saddest, most emotional records you could listen to nowadays. All the lo-fi noisy synths, chiptune/folk melodies, and strong vocal work make this a great album, though I don't think Support The Troops OH! is a very tasteful song and contrasts with the rest of the album in my opinion. Other than that, great album!

    Best tracks: Crank Heart, I Luv The Valley OH!, Little Panda McElroy, Fabulous Muscles, Mike.
    Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. It's harrowing and difficult, but occasionally insightful enough to be powerfully gravitational. [24 Mar 2004]
  2. Profound, innovative, and absolutely vital.
  3. It's exhilarating and rare to hear such bruised raw performances as these. [#242, p.71]