Face The Promise

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Sep 12, 2006
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JesseT
    Oct 30, 2006
    10
    Awesome!!! Its like he never stoped singing
  2. DebbieO
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    It's been a long dry spell and die hards like me welcome the old man back!
  3. ThomasM
    Sep 15, 2006
    8
    Strong voice, strong record. The past 20 years didn't had any effect on his music - a good thing-.
  4. ScottS
    Sep 18, 2006
    9
    Seger is Seger doing what got him into the R&R hall of fame. I did not want to hear something different I wanted to hear vintage Seger and that is what this record is!!!
  5. DebbieC
    Nov 5, 2006
    10
    Seger's back and just as fantastic as always. If you buy no other piece of music this year, buy this one! He's still top of his game.
  6. RyanR
    Sep 17, 2006
    8
    He's still got it.....his first few tracks are excellent then it tapers off. His duet with Kid Rock should get some airplay along with his title release. A must have for your collection and worth purchasing at Walmart for a killer price.....I wish all cds were that low!!!!
  7. kenc
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    the best show i have ever seen and love the the new one big 10 hear
  8. GayleL
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    A varied selection that is a story among stories if you look a little more in depth than those who judged each song individually. It is the saga of any person going home again, their values and wondering how they will be remembered. I loved it.
  9. GaryM
    Dec 14, 2006
    10
    Simply Classic !!!! Like allways.....Rock N' Roll never forgets !!! And neither does Bob seger
  10. BillM
    Dec 16, 2006
    8
    I am an old Seger fan. The album starts off great with classic Seger michigan rock n roll, it soon slows down to a much more reflective and contemplative set of tunes that seem to be testimonials to a hard life and the struggles that come with life under a spotlight. In the end he seems tired, but none the less this IS Bob at his finest, just eleven years later.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. It often feels sluggish despite itself, and his lyrics show him riding against the same old Michigan wind with a voice that's grown haggard and curmudgeonly with time.
  2. Thoroughly enjoyable.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    This is satisfying meat-and-potatoes rock. [15 Sep 2006, p.77]