Fake History

  • Record Label: Epitaph
  • Release Date: Apr 12, 2011

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy On
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    Fake History is an album that really cements Letlive's place in the vanguard of the current crop of modern post-hardcore, making for an album that will not only please longtime fans, but could also pique the interest of some of the genre's disenfranchised old guard.
  2. Apr 19, 2011
    As powerful as the music is--and its strength is undeniable, as every muscle practically spasms in reaction to the desperate guttural screams that emanate from singer Jason Butler's mouth and to the violent and complex post-hardcore melodies produced by his four bandmates--as much weight is carried in the erudite, intelligent lyrics and themes that permeate these 14 songs.
  3. Apr 19, 2011
    Far from didactic or preachy, it's a lesson in the pure power of music.
  4. Kerrang!
    Apr 21, 2011
    Though the band rage like a jungle fire, it's the vocals that set them apart from their peers. [19 Apr 2011, p.52]
  5. May 24, 2011
    Letlive are simply rehashing the successes of better bands in their scene. Granted, they are doing so with a great deal of skill and proficiency, but that skill is too high a price to pay for such a blatant lack of originality.
  6. Q Magazine
    May 27, 2011
    Third album Fake history is a whirl of clattering hardcore, gymnastic screaming and raw-edged, blazing riffs. [Jun 2011, p.114]
  7. Apr 19, 2011
    It's a frenetic, hugely entertaining and inventive genre mash-up full of punk rock aggression and rock 'n' roll swagger that blends inventive chaos with a real ear for melody.
  8. Apr 19, 2011
    This is good because Letlive know their strengths here, hooks and Butler, push both ahead to the front, and come out with the best eleven tracks of their career thus far, easily.
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jun 4, 2013
    Letlive's first full length, "Fake History", provides a refreshing old take on post-hardcore. The album blends Glassjaw, At The Drive-In, andLetlive's first full length, "Fake History", provides a refreshing old take on post-hardcore. The album blends Glassjaw, At The Drive-In, and their own sound to make something completely amazing and astounding. Good albums don't come often in today's world, but perfect albums are a rarity; "Fake History" is one of those perfect albums.

    Stand-out tracks: "Muther", "Day 54", "H. Ledger", "Enemies/Enemigos"
    Full Review »