F.A.M.E.

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Mar 22, 2011
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 95
  2. Negative: 33 out of 95
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 2, 2011
    4
    My least favorite Chris Brown album. This album is not an R&B album instead its a commercialized pop album just released to make Chris Brown relevant and to gain fans back. It did go number 1 but if it wasn't for "Look at me Now" i doubt that would have happened. The best songs were the ones released except yeahx3. The album sounds the same and was poorly put together. Hopefully FortuneMy least favorite Chris Brown album. This album is not an R&B album instead its a commercialized pop album just released to make Chris Brown relevant and to gain fans back. It did go number 1 but if it wasn't for "Look at me Now" i doubt that would have happened. The best songs were the ones released except yeahx3. The album sounds the same and was poorly put together. Hopefully Fortune will be better. Expand
  2. Apr 6, 2011
    4
    This is not real R&B! I not happy that this album went number one, but it's a improvement based on the his last album, Graffiti. But this album is still overwhelming.
  3. Mar 29, 2011
    6
    Before you read this, you should know that this is from a person who believed that Graffiti was one of his best work. This album may not be, but it looks rushed. You have five songs that most people have already heard on the album and eight songs that don't live up to the hype I was expecting. Deuces needed no reintroduction being the smash it was from the mix tapes, and No BS didn't needBefore you read this, you should know that this is from a person who believed that Graffiti was one of his best work. This album may not be, but it looks rushed. You have five songs that most people have already heard on the album and eight songs that don't live up to the hype I was expecting. Deuces needed no reintroduction being the smash it was from the mix tapes, and No BS didn't need to be replayed for the THIRD time. This seems like another attempt to mix two different sounds together with no sense of a medium or a flow.

    But as a positive, the album sounds well as a whole, minus a few unneeded tracks. As a return from his media blackout, he seems to be coming back to terms with his livelihood. There is no same sound, but that could be a good sign as well. It show diversity that most would've thought left Brown a long time ago. The two biggest highlights in the album have to be "Look At Me Now" (with pulse-pounding kicks, an addictive hook, and one of the best verses from hip-hop veteran Busta Rhymes, this is easily a fan-favorite) and "Next 2 You", featuring the new teen heartthrob, Justin Bieber, who does not overshadow, but does not underwhelm, and seems like a well-thought out choice for this tribal-inspired pop smash.

    If you are a fan of Breezy before the incident, this is right up your alley. If you're like me and actually wanted a more singular sounding Chris Brown, best stick to the mix tapes.
    Expand
  4. Mar 28, 2011
    4
    There is one really good song, "All Back." Too bad he really can't. When you punch women and throw chairs and other awful things that kinda goes down in crazy history forever. "Bomb" is pretty good too. That's about it. A forgettable album.
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Aug 4, 2011
    60
    This album is about keeping Brown relevant and making the musical man child marketable again, and on that level it's a moderate success. He's still got a long way to go before he regains his previous stature.
  2. Apr 21, 2011
    40
    If you already didn't like Brown – he would classify you as a "hater" – this album's combination of lewd (Wet The Bed, No Bullshit) and saccharine (Next 2 You, Should've Kissed You) content, delivered in that gross, oozing cadence of his, will only aggravate you further.
  3. Apr 18, 2011
    30
    F.A.M.E. will satisfy 12 year Malibu and Miami beach frequenters, but anyone with a soul should steer far clear of this mess.