• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Family Crimes Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The seventh release for the California psych-pop duo of Glenn Donaldson and Donovan Quinn was recorded by Jason Quever of Papercuts.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 29, 2014
    Here, together again, they pick up more or less where they left off, slipping subdued hooks into strummy reveries and spiking easy breezy tunes with jarring, occasional violent lyrics.
  2. Magnet
    Aug 6, 2014
    Their first album in five years captures the comfortable joy of falling back into sync with old pals. [No. 112, p.61]
  3. Jul 8, 2014
    If Skygreen Leopards still sounds like its surrounding environs--and it does, kinda--the group works to summon a Bay from times past, rather than portraying its current digitized state.
  4. Jul 8, 2014
    Family Crimes sees Skygreen Leopards light years away from the experimental, communal folk sounds that they were drawn to in their earliest days, but still retains the same distant dreaminess, though it's more dedicated to melody than any other chapter of the band's epic, shifting discography.
  5. Jul 10, 2014
    The tracks as a whole may come off a bit uniform, containing little in the way of surprise, but Family Crimes is nonetheless a sweet reward for those of us who’ve spent years following Jeweled Antler and everything after.
  6. Jul 10, 2014
    The album doesn’t valley so much as it plateaus, but it never quite falls into out and out repetition. Quinn and Donaldson are too good at their craft for that, and this bittersweet set of tunes is proof of not only the lasting nature of their sound but also its elasticity.
  7. 58
    The vocals feel particularly watered down, a pastel blur that lacks the highs and lows that the Leopards had delivered in the past, the songs blending too anonymously into each other.

See all 8 Critic Reviews