• Record Label: A&M
  • Release Date: Aug 1, 2011
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 8 out of 17
Buy On
  1. Aug 2, 2011
    30
    There isn't really an awful lot else to say. Famous First Words might not be the worst record you'll hear this year, but it's certainly one of the most pointless.
  2. Aug 2, 2011
    30
    Yet for all their bluster of writing anthems for a new generation and saving guitar music, the reality is little more than a damp squib.
  3. Aug 2, 2011
    29
    In execution the whole thing comes off as nothing more than a thinly disguised, crass attempt to smoke latent Oasis fans out of hiding. Unfortunately for them, Beady Eye already beat them to the punch.
  4. Aug 12, 2011
    20
    As a record that Geffen plus Newell and co expect anyone to pay for, this album is a distillation of all that is wrong with British guitar music, peddled by a band so consumed by their own deluded egotism that they think of themselves as its saviours.
  5. 20
    Strident guitars and harmonies tug one's sleeve, eager for attention they don't merit, while the lyrics seem to be about nothing.
  6. This debut is so lame, it makes the Beady Eye album sound like Let It Bleed.
  7. 20
    Ultimately, Famous First Words sets the cause of resurgent guitar rock backā€¦ ooh, a good 20 years.
  8. Aug 9, 2011
    0
    This album is an abomination. It's a rancid pile of regurgitated tripe.
User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 14
  2. Negative: 10 out of 14
  1. Aug 11, 2011
    2
    This is a joke, surely? Also, I don't hate the album just because of critical reception, I've heard the album. Imagine if Oasis's first albumThis is a joke, surely? Also, I don't hate the album just because of critical reception, I've heard the album. Imagine if Oasis's first album was Standing on the shoulders of giants and their albums went downhill in the same way, well this is what their 4th album would be like. A pointless attempt at invoking some feeling of nostalgia. Full Review »
  2. Jun 1, 2012
    4
    This Is Just Not A Good Album At All..
    One Of Two "Ok Songs"
    The Rest Is Just Total Crap.. I Give Them A 4 Because I Feel Bad For Them...
    This Is Just Not A Good Album At All..
    One Of Two "Ok Songs"
    The Rest Is Just Total Crap..
    I Give Them A 4 Because I Feel Bad For Them... Just A Really Bad Bad Bad Album..
    The Worst Of 2011 Sadly...
    Full Review »