Fantasies - Metric

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. This isn’t the breakthrough album that nobody expected. This is precisely the album everyone was waiting for from Metric, a culmination of all their strengths and a slicing off of the fat that may have slowed them down in the past.
  2. 90
    Fantasies has solid musicianship, simple yet poetic and meaningful lyrics, a myriad of melodies, and hooks that are memorable and exciting.
  3. The complex emotional duality of the disc is nothing less than penetrating. Most of the tracks are danceable as well as lonesome, and can be enjoyed in a variety of settings.
  4. There's plenty of apprehension in Metric's lyrics, but Fantasies isn't about wallowing. As Haines sings, "If somebody's got soul, you've got to make them move." Metric more than gets the job done.
  5. Danceable though they may be, these songs are also fighting some pretty serious gloom.
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Oct 21, 2012
    One of the essential electronic/alt. rock albums. Metric's evolution isn't all that much of what you'd call evolution, but more adaptation. Thank God what they've adapted to embraces them tightly. Full Review »
  2. Aug 29, 2012
    FANTASIES is my second favourite album by METRIC, I didn't find any song to be bad at all, all songs are decent in their own way. Though I liked SYNTHETICA more. Full Review »
  3. Mar 28, 2011
    Metric is a different type of band. They have originality and it shows on this album. Not only can you dance to a lot of these tracks, but the lyrics are also something you should listen too, they're surprisingly good. Emily Haines' vocals are very good. It's a great mix of electropop and indie. B Full Review »