Fantasies - Metric
Fantasies Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth album for the indie-rock band was mixed by John O'Mahony.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. This isn’t the breakthrough album that nobody expected. This is precisely the album everyone was waiting for from Metric, a culmination of all their strengths and a slicing off of the fat that may have slowed them down in the past.
  2. There's plenty of apprehension in Metric's lyrics, but Fantasies isn't about wallowing. As Haines sings, "If somebody's got soul, you've got to make them move." Metric more than gets the job done.
  3. Metric is back with its strongest collection of songs so far.
  4. She's softened the edges just enough for you to find a way in and it pretty much liberates the whole record. The transformation overall is nothing short of terrific.
  5. 74
    Fanatsies may not have "Live It Out's" fire, but it smolders just fine, thank you very much. [Spring 2009, p.92]
  6. This Canadian-American hipster quartet's first record in four years has an electrophile slickness, not to mention a set of catchy songs.
  7. While it continues Metric's new-wave/loud-rock amalgam, the songs themselves fail to leave much of an impact.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Oct 21, 2012
    One of the essential electronic/alt. rock albums. Metric's evolution isn't all that much of what you'd call evolution, but more adaptation. Thank God what they've adapted to embraces them tightly. Expand
  2. Aug 29, 2012
    FANTASIES is my second favourite album by METRIC, I didn't find any song to be bad at all, all songs are decent in their own way. Though I liked SYNTHETICA more. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2011
    A handful of great songs really make this album. I have 'Gimme Sympathy' and 'Stadium Love' on repeat. There are a few songs I could leave but overall the album is a lot of fun. Expand
  4. Mar 28, 2011
    Metric is a different type of band. They have originality and it shows on this album. Not only can you dance to a lot of these tracks, but the lyrics are also something you should listen too, they're surprisingly good. Emily Haines' vocals are very good. It's a great mix of electropop and indie. B Expand

See all 16 User Reviews