User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 60
  2. Negative: 2 out of 60

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Anonymous
    Jul 30, 2009
    10
    This is, without question, the best album of Regina Spektor's career. While I though that Soviet Kitsch had some good moments, there were only enough to make it pass for "good overall". Begin to Hope was a slight improvement, but still lacked something to sweep me away. Far is different. It can go from dark, moody and gothic (Machine, Laughing With) to bouncy, upbeat, and sunny (The This is, without question, the best album of Regina Spektor's career. While I though that Soviet Kitsch had some good moments, there were only enough to make it pass for "good overall". Begin to Hope was a slight improvement, but still lacked something to sweep me away. Far is different. It can go from dark, moody and gothic (Machine, Laughing With) to bouncy, upbeat, and sunny (The Calculation, Dance Anthem of the 80's) in an instant. It can either rely on the quirky voice'n piano stuff she did mostly on her first two albums (Folding Chair, Eet) or it can veer away from naked acoustic melodies to band-backed numbers (Blue Lips, Man of a Thousand Faces). In other words, this is Regina acting more like herself than she ever has. Her voice and lyrics are still as beautiful as ever, and she sounds very much at home. Overall: BUY THIS WHENEVER YOU GET THE CHANCE! SUPPORT REGINA! Also, anyone who thought this album sucked doesn't know crap about good music. Best Tracks: The Calculation, Blue Lips, Eet, Laughing With, Wallet, Machine. Expand
  2. ChrisJ
    Aug 7, 2009
    10
    Great things about Far:- 1. "We made our own computer out of macaroni pieces" 2. The way those 'pop-like' drums change the tempo of Eet three times while the vocal track and piano plays at the same pace 3. The fact that while the first and last verses of Folding Chair are identical, due to what happened in between they both mean very different things 4. Genius Next Door 5. That Great things about Far:- 1. "We made our own computer out of macaroni pieces" 2. The way those 'pop-like' drums change the tempo of Eet three times while the vocal track and piano plays at the same pace 3. The fact that while the first and last verses of Folding Chair are identical, due to what happened in between they both mean very different things 4. Genius Next Door 5. That voice 6. Those lyrics 7. That piano 8. I wish that had been MY wallet 9. The almost spoken-word bits of Laughing With's chorus 10. "Outside the cars are beeping out a song just in your honour...." 11. "You-o-o-o-o a-a-a-a-are so swe-e-e-e-e-e-e-e-e-eet" 12. The dolphin(sea-lion) song 13. "I've got a perfect body 'cos my eyelashes catch my sweat" 14. Those stunning piano arpeggio's at the beginning of Blue Lips 15. The rest of Blue Lips 16. The fact that I can only whittle my favourite song on this album down to a choice of 7(in case you're wondering 2,3,4,6,7,9,10) 17. Brilliant dual stories on One More Time With Feeling 18. The "I have no wallet" verse I don't think this album is as good as Soviet Kitsch or Begin To Hope but it's probably as close as anyone's going to get. Expand
  3. Junom
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    The songwriting is a world on its own. Its a story that's completely different then normal making it a life of its own. The sound made is completely original and godly refreshing. A fluid, original masterpiece.
  4. pleasuredinmorethanoneway
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    This is the jizz. She does things with her voice that annoy me sometimes but I got used to it. The lyrics are very left feild and have become expected if her to make these very original written songs. I respect her music even more because she dies write all her own material, no co-writing but the whole album is writtien with her hand from ideas coming from her head. Great sound, the piano This is the jizz. She does things with her voice that annoy me sometimes but I got used to it. The lyrics are very left feild and have become expected if her to make these very original written songs. I respect her music even more because she dies write all her own material, no co-writing but the whole album is writtien with her hand from ideas coming from her head. Great sound, the piano seems more used for this cd but that's okay even great since she's talented at it. The only flaws ate the turns she dies in sings with her voice which sometimes sounds great but mostly sounds distracting and she also gets repetitive but besides that is really perfect. Those are minuscule problems anyway, the only way to find those flaws is by nit-picking. Well, its all still very orgasmic. Expand
  5. CharlesC
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    I keep reading these half-hearted reviews of "Far," and I can't help but think, "Are we all listening to the same album?!" I have only been listening to Regina for a few years, but she quickly became my favorite artist on the strength of her sharply unique voice, quirky and brilliant lyrics, rollicking music and refreshing artistic demeanor. In short, she has always been this humble I keep reading these half-hearted reviews of "Far," and I can't help but think, "Are we all listening to the same album?!" I have only been listening to Regina for a few years, but she quickly became my favorite artist on the strength of her sharply unique voice, quirky and brilliant lyrics, rollicking music and refreshing artistic demeanor. In short, she has always been this humble and sweet musician who paints masterpieces by doing what comes to mind, and that's why we love her. A "polished" sound does not detract from that. "Far" is, in my opinion, better than her previous two albums, and this is coming from someone who will freely admit 'Soviet Kitsch" changed my life. I think it's interesting that music reviewers who listen to 20 sec. snippets of her songs decide that, because of her increasingly accessibility, Regina has somehow lost the edge that made her popular. They would be far off the mark. Talk to any fan of Regina before this album's release, and they'll tell you that if she's changed, it's only been for the better. I would be surprised if this album or the next one did not catapult her even more into the mainstream on her brilliance, alone. As for the songs, what is there to say? Every track on here is brilliant. Expand
  6. joered
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    Stunning, wonderful, moving and unique.
  7. kr
    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    I've waited 3 years for this...and it was well worth the wait. This album is more beautiful than I imagined. Each and every song tells a little story...it's just amazing. You must listen to the songs to know how I'm feeling right now... Give it a try. Listen to each song, and pay attention to every detail.
  8. GregS.
    Sep 12, 2009
    10
    Just brilliant. More highly polished than previous albums, this nonetheless sets the bar for every female singer-songwriter. A classically trained pianist with something to say. And she's not afraid to say it. Quirky, melodious, and thought provoking. Love it.
  9. EstebanO
    Nov 7, 2009
    10
    Pop perfection, powerful alternative rates combined with smooth melodies next to an almost angelical and deeply confused voice...the best album of the year!!!
  10. Nick
    Jun 23, 2009
    9
    This is spectacular. 4.8 from Pitchfork? I lost all respect for them, this is a creative gem, the peak of her musical career thus far, songs like The Calculation, Two Birds, Folding Chair, and Riot Gear (who knew the bonus tracks could be highlights?!) inspire me deeply to write my own music. Get it, now.
  11. Juana
    Jul 18, 2009
    10
    Nice piano, beautiful voice. Great album.
  12. Nov 18, 2014
    7
    Varies in tone so much it could almost be called a flaw.
    Regina Spektors voice carries the really quite simple songs out of their potential mediocrity and transcended my expectations. Nothing immensely skillful though.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. While Far is far from bad, it doesn't quite live up to expectations, either, based on all the talent involved in making it and how fully Spektor expressed herself on "Begin to Hope."
  2. playing the freak also makes her blissfully unself-conscious, and that can be contagious. Nothing's more heartfelt than 'Wallet,' an ode to a stranger who lost his.
  3. Tired of her peculiar singer-songwriter pop being a fringe taste, the Russian-born New Yorker's gone for the commercial jugular, polishing her strangeness with help from ELO's Jeff Lynne among others.