Fast Man Raider Man

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DannyO
    Jul 12, 2006
    7
    Some really good stuff here; Some awful stuff too. Save the first 20 seconds, "If the Poison Gets You" sounds like a great John Hiatt song.
  2. AJ
    Aug 6, 2006
    8
    Pathetic reviews from the "professionals?" I guess when an artist is as prolific as Frank, pumping out double albums in between Pixies shows, the critics start to tire. Frank's albums are also not that conducive to a quick listen and review type format. His albums are always "growers" that are textured and layered, taking multiple listens to fully appreciate. Much great art is like Pathetic reviews from the "professionals?" I guess when an artist is as prolific as Frank, pumping out double albums in between Pixies shows, the critics start to tire. Frank's albums are also not that conducive to a quick listen and review type format. His albums are always "growers" that are textured and layered, taking multiple listens to fully appreciate. Much great art is like this. For reviewers in search of gimmicks and catchy tracks- Black is set up for critical failure with this double-album. But the fans will understand it and salivate for more. There are some really great tracks on here, both lyrically thought provoking and stylistically interesting. Black has evolved from a rock historian to a music historian and he delves into a multitude of American styles on this record and nearly masters all of them. Expand
  3. phineasg
    Jul 1, 2006
    9
    His best since Teenager of the Year. It doesn't "rock" like his old stuff, but the songs aren't slow. They are all well written and suprisingly consistent in quality.
  4. Louie
    Jul 14, 2006
    4
    quite disappointing. loved honeycomb but this one just seems to miss the mark
  5. matts
    Jul 4, 2006
    10
    It's the firts time ever I was disappointed by Uncut.
  6. AlexF
    Sep 20, 2006
    7
    A bitter pill to swallow for most Pixies fans and even those of Frank Black's early solo work. That being said, I think this record is pleasant, but overlong. There's some really good songs in there, but you have to find them amongst some boring filler. (Yes, Frank Black can be boring!) Which isn't to say it is bad. Just not something that makes your ears perk up and listen A bitter pill to swallow for most Pixies fans and even those of Frank Black's early solo work. That being said, I think this record is pleasant, but overlong. There's some really good songs in there, but you have to find them amongst some boring filler. (Yes, Frank Black can be boring!) Which isn't to say it is bad. Just not something that makes your ears perk up and listen intently. Expand
  7. RuviW
    Jun 22, 2006
    10
    it's sad the critics these days don't have enough spirtual enegry to dig albums that may not shine at first, or ever second, listening. you have to listen to this albums again and again and again, and after about the 7th time you will find that this albums is rich with magninficent nuances and every time you listen again you will found another gem of songwriting, expression, and it's sad the critics these days don't have enough spirtual enegry to dig albums that may not shine at first, or ever second, listening. you have to listen to this albums again and again and again, and after about the 7th time you will find that this albums is rich with magninficent nuances and every time you listen again you will found another gem of songwriting, expression, and overall a true masterpiece - especially disc 2, with songs such as "don't cry that way", "fitzgerald", "sad old world" - remark the highlights of Frank Black's career. Expand
  8. FrancoF
    Jun 23, 2006
    10
    I think I'll never again buy Uncut (that guys are crazy,,,)
  9. CaptainWacky
    Jun 24, 2006
    3
    Stupendously boring. Reheated late '70s Stones/Dylan rejects from a man with no aptitude for the genre in which he's chosen to work. One album of which would be bad enough - God alone knows what possessed him to try his luck with two.
  10. calvinhobbes
    Jun 27, 2006
    10
    I completely agree with Ruvi W. There are a lot of gems in this album: you have to find them!
  11. someoneelse
    Aug 11, 2006
    8
    i cant imagine any country music fans picking this album up... only fans of frank black's way with a song...i guess thats why comments based completely on his ability to perform this kind of material are moot...to me at least. i guess that's also why a song like "im not dead (im in pittsburgh)", which is a very straightforward country song, bores the hell out of me... but, there i cant imagine any country music fans picking this album up... only fans of frank black's way with a song...i guess thats why comments based completely on his ability to perform this kind of material are moot...to me at least. i guess that's also why a song like "im not dead (im in pittsburgh)", which is a very straightforward country song, bores the hell out of me... but, there are more than enough songs that are are typical frank black, filtered through a different perspecitve of course...and im still glad i picked it up Expand
  12. BrandonS
    Jun 22, 2006
    2
    Poor. Disappointing. And, worst of all: boring. A sad day for a long-time fan.
  13. ALS
    Jul 24, 2006
    8
    not bad...grows on u slowly...but well worth the wait.
  14. RatCore
    Sep 19, 2006
    6
    It's a good cd overall, lots of good tracks. But too many tracks overall. Should have been made into one cd with the best ones. Standouts: Wanderlust, If your posing gets you, it's down to you, raiderman, its just not your moment.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Uncut
    30
    Much of it is endurance-defyingly dull. [Jul 2006, p.84]
  2. Black's voice is less interesting when he's not going postal with the Pixies; here he delivers dark visions wanly, with a nod to Nick Cave and a saving touch of camp.
  3. [A] compendium of mostly refined Americana, albeit filtered through Black's uniquely cockeyed worldview.