Favourite Worst Nightmare

  • Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Apr 24, 2007
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 438 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 438

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. john
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    Best band alive.
  2. RobD.
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    wow! i thought the first album was brilliant, this one is twice as good. Its a brilliant album, listen to it for what it is, dont be like this dude below me and give it a 0 just cuz you dont like how they were hyped so much.
  3. Sep 1, 2010
    9
    A good, solid album with as much lasting value as their debut, if not more. Having broken many records with their first album, Arctic Monkeys were hard pushed to create an album that at least lived up to their amazing "Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not", and they have produced a work of mainstream British alternative-punk art.
    While it doesn't bring too many "WOW" moments, it
    A good, solid album with as much lasting value as their debut, if not more. Having broken many records with their first album, Arctic Monkeys were hard pushed to create an album that at least lived up to their amazing "Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not", and they have produced a work of mainstream British alternative-punk art.
    While it doesn't bring too many "WOW" moments, it is a piece of solid modern rock that provides a wider range of emotion that its predecessor; instead of happier, more joyous and playful music that seems to point towards having a good time, it has its slower songs, its more in-depth and deep essentially, love songs, plus its angry and succulent feel-good music that is reminiscent of their first album. It is an album that one can sink your teeth into, and listen to it multiple times with its long lasting vibes and effectively simple beats and chord sequences.
    Collapse
  4. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    8
    Great follow-up to their debut. Musically they've improved as well.
  5. FeD
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    Simply the bast band at the moment.
  6. Kasper
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    This record made Arctic Monkeys my favorite band.
  7. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    Best Band Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  8. KarlC
    May 20, 2007
    9
    This album is more complex then the first one. It takes a little time, but you can easily see the Monkeys evolving.
  9. CaitlinS
    Apr 24, 2007
    8
    Just a month ago I despised this band calling them over-rated and unoriginal. After hearing this CD, I've changed my mind. 505 and Brianstorm are key tracks, and a CD well worth your listen.
  10. GigiL
    Apr 30, 2007
    9
    Probably the best lyrics to come out of a band in years... although you probably have to be a Brit between the ages of 18-25 to understand how wonderful it is that they used words like balaclava and teddy picker.
  11. BorisC.
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    Whatever people say I am, seriously discredited the hype, in my view. Favourite Worst Nightmare, au contraire, is perhaps the finest record I
  12. Gerber
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    A more chill album then the first, but it is just as good. Every track is strong and there is never a point that makes you feel like your time is being waisted. The album is like a beautiful dream.
  13. WillO
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    These guys just prove why they are the best new band. This album takes their music to a whole different level. They just kick ass. Plain and simple.
  14. BBGNL
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    Great follow up! More diverse and more mature!
  15. markc
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    Great to see the band continuing their success with another excellent album..
  16. DanS
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    Instant classic. Massive development, both lyrically and musically. the presence of nick o'malley on bass adds steel to an already stellar line-up. The first half is immediately recognisable, yet the ambitious second half of the album is an outrageously good evolution of their sound as they test themselves and push the boundaries of their sound. Buy it
  17. mikeyff
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    i don't get the hater-critics. this effort is as good as / better than any rock disc, ever. alex turner is chuck berry's successor - that's right - and nitwit doolittle scribblers dis what they should be taking a bath / put white gloves on before spinning. don't you be put off by the lukewarm reviews, if the first album was a joy, this one'll send you up to the i don't get the hater-critics. this effort is as good as / better than any rock disc, ever. alex turner is chuck berry's successor - that's right - and nitwit doolittle scribblers dis what they should be taking a bath / put white gloves on before spinning. don't you be put off by the lukewarm reviews, if the first album was a joy, this one'll send you up to the point you'll need to peel yourself from the ceiling. blazing good. Expand
  18. GraceL
    Apr 24, 2007
    9
    Their new record is a more intimate, emotional, heartfelt, and mature than their debut record. Turner's vocals have improved greatly and the rest of the band seems to have grown into their sound well.
  19. SeanP.
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    This album left me speechlessly in awe during only the first listen, which is rare for me. Even rarer though, is when an album that does that remains great to me after multiple listens. But i've heard this six times by now and I still love it end to end. Even Neon Bible didn't leave me in awe on first hearing; that one had to grow on me a bit.
  20. tobyjoyce
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    great album, shows how far the band has come
  21. alecW
    Apr 25, 2007
    9
    Absolutely massive, how refreshing that they didn't come back with a mixed bag of half-baked ideas and sloppy tunes, Top of the form, A+
  22. AndréP
    Apr 26, 2007
    10
    fantastic! whatever people say i am is a little better, but favourite proves that arctic monkeys are the best and most important band since oasis.
  23. JosephA
    Apr 26, 2007
    8
    Better than the first. Nice work, nice to see one of these megahyped bands not over or underestimating themselves. Straight forward growth and evolution with out loosing touch with what made them great the first time around. Kudos
  24. joeyl
    Apr 26, 2007
    9
    Much better than I expected. Not much like their debut, but just as good. Higlights for me are Fluorescent Adolescent, D is For Dangerous, and Teddy Picker. Its an easy listen and fun too. Overall a great follow up!
  25. QUAID
    Apr 27, 2007
    9
    It would have been a perfect album for me, but the album isn't even 40 minutes long. It goes way to fast. I think by extending the beats a little more, it would not have damaged the album. In any case, it is a wonderful album and this band is far from over-rated.
  26. AndreaP
    Apr 30, 2007
    9
    Great band!!! This second album is surely better than "Whatever". This boys have the future in their hands!
  27. TerronM
    May 1, 2007
    10
    Where "Whatever People Say I Am..." took place in and around a raving London Club, "Nightmare" is of another location, perhaps the alley behind it. It's darker, moodier, more adventurous, and therefore, that much more enjoyable than it's predecessor.
  28. chrisp
    May 1, 2007
    9
    just as good as the whatever
  29. yanivv
    May 14, 2007
    8
    excluding 2 songs this album is mind blowing. its a pure youth potion. hate or love it you just cant stay indeference to it
  30. TimF
    May 23, 2007
    9
    Don't listen to anyone who says that there are not enough 'tunes' on this record, FWN is an ambitious, clever and, most importantly, great album that sees Arctic Monkeys having much more depth to the sound than the somewhat samey Whatever.. 'Tis bo!
  31. Frank
    May 2, 2007
    10
    it seems like you eather love or hate this band, and to all the haters i say, did you listen to the right album? cuz this ones perfect
  32. Czar
    May 9, 2007
    9
    I loved the first album, a lot. And that usually means I feel very disappointed when the second one comes out. But not in this case, its a real cracker. The songs continue to grow on me. I notice something new each time I listen to it. Love it.
  33. RogerI.
    Jun 22, 2007
    10
    absulutly brilliant every song has a sense of meaning i could listen to that over and over again till i to tired and nap still singing those catchy lines and phrases. Just in love with flourecent adolesence, nearly know all the lyrics by heart
  34. StevenChung
    Jun 7, 2007
    9
    It didn't sound that great during the first try. As with Regan, after a few plays, I think it's better than the first.
  35. mi-ly
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    So much better than the first to which I listened to three times and never had the urge to listen to again. Prefer the lyrics and the music and the lack of cheesy tunes.
  36. GeoffG.
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    Arctic Monkey's don't cease to deliver on their latest LP, each song is beautifully constructed with clever lyrics to boot! I give it a listen at least once a day, 10 songs is my dose.
  37. poopface
    May 3, 2008
    9
    This is one of the best albums I have listened to in a while.
  38. MarhadiashaK.
    Feb 19, 2009
    9
    All tracks fun and full of hooks. My favourite, I listen to it almost everyday. This is much better than its predecessor.
  39. kasabian
    Jun 18, 2009
    10
    The Arctic Monkeys are one of the finest things this world has seen. Favourite Worst Nightmare proves it.
  40. Paul
    Oct 12, 2007
    9
    Brilliant. Better than their first album. Don't have to skip any tracks cos every track is good. I agree with Barry R Do me a favour is an awesome track.
  41. AndrewA
    Oct 22, 2007
    8
    It's simply more original and better crafted that their first album.
  42. FrancisY
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    Great follow up to their amazing debut... The Monkey's have improved lyrically and musically, though less people will like this albm due to this unfortunately...
  43. DanielR
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    eith this album the band have taken a heavier approach, with dazzling results
  44. EddieVedder
    Apr 19, 2007
    9
    A great album but so similar to the first.Anyway there are incredible songs with good drum and string arrengement. Matt Helders sounds awesome.
  45. PaulH
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    This is a great follow up. Album of the year
  46. ChristoN
    Apr 20, 2007
    10
    It is a great album with a great variety of songs and their sound has evolved!!!
  47. RyanS
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    A mature follow-up to "Whatever...".
  48. DillonS
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    incredible.
  49. federicor
    Apr 23, 2007
    7
    Not bad, Monkeys. But honestly I'd have expected a better album from such a considered band.
  50. JacksonB
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    Brilliant! Catchy, diverse, colourful, emotional and witty. Everything you could ever want from this band more, its all here.
  51. NeilP
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    Its great!
  52. Mick
    Apr 23, 2007
    7
    A strong second album - Brianstorm, Do me a favour, This house is a circus, and old yellow bricks are the songs that I like best on first listen. Unfortunately its just not as consistant as the first and it doesn't include songs nearly half as good as; a view from the afternoon, I bet you look good on the dancefloor, or when the sun goes down
  53. ShunsukeN
    Apr 23, 2007
    8
    This second album is a step forward without forgetting what they did good on the first one.
  54. DrewC
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    This album is amazing and in my opinion a better album then there freshman album...which is quite an amavzing feet. they have grown up alot and are apparantly much mor confifent in themselves. i was sure that trhis abum wasnt gonna be as good as "whatever people"... but i was completely wrong!
  55. nimmyg
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    Even better than their first album, but that's just my opinion.
  56. SamD
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    this album is incredible. buy it immediately.
  57. Nikkig
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    this is a very good album contrary to the person belows review who obviously didnt listen to the album it is not as good as their debut but a wondeful second album showcasing their energy and talent in a slightly more mature way highly recommended
  58. JarredR
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    It's amazing that these kids can put together such well crafted straight up rock n' roll tunes. I can't get enough of it.
  59. KaNo
    Apr 25, 2007
    9
    This band has really come into their own with great lyrics and musical stylings. There is nothing really hooky here, but it's still fun to listen to. The only thing I'm having a hard time with is the last song, 505. I think it should have been cut from the album.
  60. CapH
    Apr 25, 2007
    9
    fantastic album, at first it seemed as awful as some of the above reviews say, but it really grows on you. Best songs have to be 'old yellow bricks', 'd is for dangerous and 'fluorescent adolescent'. It doesn't however, have the catchy anthem aspect that the debut had.
  61. SophiaB
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    Phenomenal album. It's louder, more energetic and more in your face. I love it! They just keep getting better.
  62. MikeP
    Apr 26, 2007
    9
    Top album, lyrics make me laugh :)
  63. DavidM
    Apr 26, 2007
    8
    ITs like Turner drank some crunk juice after he kicked that guy out of the band. Good rhythm thru out the album. Very enjoyable. their still trying to find thier sound though. if they were only to blend the influence of the first record, with the rhythm of this album. I have alot of hope for the monkeys.
  64. flashpan
    Apr 26, 2007
    9
    fantastic return. more solid than the first, near genius.
  65. ChristyM
    Apr 26, 2007
    10
    good album, maybe not as good as the last but still good.
  66. ROBB
    Apr 27, 2007
    9
    a verY good album that rocks. if ou like our tunes big, fast and full of drums You will not be dissappointed
  67. JulianG
    Apr 28, 2007
    10
    Simply great!
  68. Will
    Apr 28, 2007
    10
    awesome progression of the band. excellent album.
  69. RobertG
    Apr 29, 2007
    10
    Great follow up album. A little different, but a good different. All of the songs are fantastic.
  70. EmmanuelP.
    May 16, 2007
    8
    "Worst favourite nightmare" is a good follow-up, has some great songs like "Teddy Picker", "Fluorescent Adolescent" or "Old Yellow Bricks". Not as great as some critics claim, but certainly a good record. There are just a few monotone moments that bring the record down, but the Monkeys did it again.
  71. JasonT
    May 17, 2007
    10
    Favourite Worst Nightmare is a fantastic follow-up to the incredible Whatever... album. As good, or dare I say, better. For those of you who listened to it once and dismissed it - listen to it 3 times and for sure you will start liking it. I know someone who said it wasn't as good as the first one but kept listening to it and now they agree. I only had to listen once and knew it was Favourite Worst Nightmare is a fantastic follow-up to the incredible Whatever... album. As good, or dare I say, better. For those of you who listened to it once and dismissed it - listen to it 3 times and for sure you will start liking it. I know someone who said it wasn't as good as the first one but kept listening to it and now they agree. I only had to listen once and knew it was awesome - album of the year so far (tied with LCD Soundsystem). Expand
  72. Drewp
    May 18, 2007
    9
    Great! Somehow these guys are able to take something as stale as guitar rock and make it fresh and great again! Sharp lyrics, a ridiculously talented rhythm section, and interesting guitar angles. Fluorescent Adolescent is a clear stand-out. I just wonder why "Da Frame 2R" was relegated to a Japanese-only release. One of the best new songs, hands-down.
  73. DylanS
    May 28, 2007
    9
    Damn good album, the Arctic's best. More mature, better crafted, with songs that stick to you -- which was the key problem with "Whatever People Say I Am...". They keep their dance rock roots and weave that around 2 1/2 minute opuses that bend and move so much that you swear the Arctic's had you listening to a 60 min+ album. Check it out, the Monkeys fail to disappoint.
  74. Regan
    May 31, 2007
    9
    I would have given this a 7 on first play, but after a few weeks find I love it even more than their last. And I didn't think that would be possible. Lovely.
  75. JosephM
    May 30, 2007
    7
    Their debut was a 9, maybe a 10. This doesn't live up. Still a good album and I will come back to it in the future I am sure.
  76. LorenzoS
    May 7, 2007
    8
    personally i thin this cd isnt as good as the previous Arctic Mokeys cd. but if i had to rate it more specifically i would give it a 7.5, simply because it only has 2 really good songs...the last 2. i aslo feel like the band TRIED to make their cd sound like the 1st one too much, because they use alot of the same sound effects then they did in their previous album. i have to say thought personally i thin this cd isnt as good as the previous Arctic Mokeys cd. but if i had to rate it more specifically i would give it a 7.5, simply because it only has 2 really good songs...the last 2. i aslo feel like the band TRIED to make their cd sound like the 1st one too much, because they use alot of the same sound effects then they did in their previous album. i have to say thought that they really spread their wings in this cd, in the sense that they go from cool mellowy songs to rocking out songs. anyways its good, its def worth getting Expand
  77. BarryR
    Jun 18, 2007
    8
    On first listen some tracks may feel a bit samey but give it a bit of time and the brilliantly layeres hidden depths of this excellent album come to light...and I wasn't even a huge fan of the first one! "Do Me a Favour" may possibly be the best song written all year...
  78. WestonT
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    Fast, fun, and very British, Favorite Worst Nightmare delivers if you simply ignore the hype and listen. It's like driving a Mini Cooper... you lose style for buying the hype, but you're too busy having a fun time to give a hoot. Oh yeah, I drive one of those too...
  79. FredB
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    Great lyrics and a number of really good tunes ranging from the catchy and cleverly titled "Fluorescent Adolescent" to other great tracks like "Old Yellow Bricks" and the thumping "Brianstorm". After a few listens to the whole album, you'll be hooked. Alex Turner does it again!
  80. GustavoA
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    If "D is for Dangerous" , as presented on their sophomore hit, then "A" is for Amazing Arctic A-Monkeys! Great album!
  81. shes_soloose
    Aug 31, 2007
    9
    Not as immediate as the first one, it is darker and tighter. Very strong rythm. A very solid album. Favourite track: Do me a favour. I still prefer the first record, though.
  82. Sid
    Dec 1, 2008
    10
    Best Album of 2007 without a doubt. Lyrically and musically superior to their cracking debut. It's one of my most played albums on my ipod!
  83. SebastianF.
    Oct 16, 2007
    9
    It's a great album, the lyrics are the best, they represent society in a way no other band does, not too pessimistic nor optimistic. who needs catchy choruses!! go listen to Britney spears( if she still sings i don´t know) or Justin Timberlake and stuff like that.
  84. JosephO.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    So much fun. Rocks like early Supergrass.
  85. DanielF
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    Great album,great lyrics.
  86. wander
    Apr 18, 2007
    7
    so so. No so good, no so bad.
  87. JoshN
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    Just as good as their first album. Fantastic job at creating a rave rock album that should be just as ground breaking as the last album. Everyone can enjoy an album like this. Dance dance fools!
  88. sk
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    the best uk album since "whatever people say..." n sometimes i believe that its even better than their debut!
  89. ChrisM
    Apr 23, 2007
    9
    Couldn't imagine a better follow up to their last one. Its a slight evolution of their sound, and showcases how rhythmically tight they've become after touring. 505 and fluorescent adolescent are both killer tracks as good or better than anything on the debut. The rest is at least as good, and given their debut thats no small feat.
  90. TylerV
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    If I could give the album a 10.5-- I would. 'Whatever...' was and is an incredible album that hasn't left my ipod since I got it. I was glad to find that they only got faster-- harder-- heavier-- and yet maintained their unique groove as well as their exceptional production quality. This album is without a doubt-- Aces.
  91. RasmusS
    Apr 24, 2007
    9
    Really great album, it may not have the same amount of catchy tunes as their debut, but it is a much more complete album, if you follow me. Much bigger, more experimental and great sound.
  92. SeanC
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    This is better than the debut!
  93. SeanP
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    bammmmmmmmmmmmm so good
  94. knomi
    Apr 24, 2007
    7
    the arctic monkeys are hardly rock's new saviours (that title goes to the white stripes, at least ostensibly). they're about as "groundbreaking" as, say, the libertines or maybe franz ferdinand, and the three groups share the same distinctly british sense of humour. um, anyway, if you liked their first record, breath easy: this is everything you could've hope for. for the the arctic monkeys are hardly rock's new saviours (that title goes to the white stripes, at least ostensibly). they're about as "groundbreaking" as, say, the libertines or maybe franz ferdinand, and the three groups share the same distinctly british sense of humour. um, anyway, if you liked their first record, breath easy: this is everything you could've hope for. for the rest of us, it's still pretty good (if overhyped) britpop aping jarvis cocker, blur, and so on. if it "WOWs" you, maybe you should buy some pulp and smiths recordings. Expand
  95. CoryD
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    This is a great album! One of the best bands to come out of Britian today!
  96. MaddyH
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    Different from the 1st c.d but just as awesome. FREAKIN' FANTASTIC! BEST BAND AROUND
  97. MattW
    Apr 26, 2007
    9
    Really nice. They toned down the energy, but the sound is still there. Its better than most sophmore albums, in the fact thats its a great album altogether, but if you had to buy a album which would introduce to Artic Monkeys, it would still be "Whatever". End point: I love it and I wasn't dissapointed.
  98. JohnH
    Apr 27, 2007
    9
    Better than I thought! maybe even better than the first!?! check it out strongly recommended...
  99. ShawnH
    Apr 28, 2007
    9
    I think this is a fantastic CD that really shows off the strength of the Arctic Monkeys. It's faster, stronger, and more upbeat (i.e. Brianstorm, The Bad Thing, etc.) but they retain those wonderfully deep lyrics from their first CD (i.e. Florescent Adolescent, etc.) showing that they can have the best of both worlds. I highly recommend this CD. This shows the true potential of the I think this is a fantastic CD that really shows off the strength of the Arctic Monkeys. It's faster, stronger, and more upbeat (i.e. Brianstorm, The Bad Thing, etc.) but they retain those wonderfully deep lyrics from their first CD (i.e. Florescent Adolescent, etc.) showing that they can have the best of both worlds. I highly recommend this CD. This shows the true potential of the Arctic Monkeys and validates their success around the world. [Score: 9/10] Expand
  100. IlyaR
    May 16, 2007
    8
    Great album, even superior to their (terrific) debut. "Fluorescent Adolescent" shows that ska infusion can still be fun, and "If You Were There, Beware" has one of the shortest great guitar solos I have ever heard. These guys build atmosphere and tell stories like few of their contemporaries.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Under The Radar
    60
    Favourite moves forward not one inch from Whatever, which is safe and reliable, but also repetitive. [#17, p.82]
  2. 60
    In the tradition of thorny newbie bands that get scarily too big (Nirvana, Radiohead, Weezer), they’ve followed their funny, catchy debut with a less funny, less catchy second record to prove how little they trust the good times their music obviously inspires.
  3. Uncut
    80
    Favourite Worst Nightmare is a near-triumph, a far superior Album #2 than Meat Is Murder, The Libertines, or Second Coming. Yet some doubts nag, partly because of the subject matter. [May 2007, p.84]