Favourite Worst Nightmare

  • Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Apr 24, 2007
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 398 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 398

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. john
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    Best band alive.
  2. RobD.
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    wow! i thought the first album was brilliant, this one is twice as good. Its a brilliant album, listen to it for what it is, dont be like this dude below me and give it a 0 just cuz you dont like how they were hyped so much.
  3. Sep 1, 2010
    9
    A good, solid album with as much lasting value as their debut, if not more. Having broken many records with their first album, Arctic Monkeys were hard pushed to create an album that at least lived up to their amazing "Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not", and they have produced a work of mainstream British alternative-punk art.
    While it doesn't bring too many "WOW" moments, it
    A good, solid album with as much lasting value as their debut, if not more. Having broken many records with their first album, Arctic Monkeys were hard pushed to create an album that at least lived up to their amazing "Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not", and they have produced a work of mainstream British alternative-punk art.
    While it doesn't bring too many "WOW" moments, it is a piece of solid modern rock that provides a wider range of emotion that its predecessor; instead of happier, more joyous and playful music that seems to point towards having a good time, it has its slower songs, its more in-depth and deep essentially, love songs, plus its angry and succulent feel-good music that is reminiscent of their first album. It is an album that one can sink your teeth into, and listen to it multiple times with its long lasting vibes and effectively simple beats and chord sequences.
    Expand
  4. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    8
    Great follow-up to their debut. Musically they've improved as well.
  5. FeD
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    Simply the bast band at the moment.
  6. Kasper
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    This record made Arctic Monkeys my favorite band.
  7. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    Best Band Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  8. KarlC
    May 20, 2007
    9
    This album is more complex then the first one. It takes a little time, but you can easily see the Monkeys evolving.
  9. CaitlinS
    Apr 24, 2007
    8
    Just a month ago I despised this band calling them over-rated and unoriginal. After hearing this CD, I've changed my mind. 505 and Brianstorm are key tracks, and a CD well worth your listen.
  10. GigiL
    Apr 30, 2007
    9
    Probably the best lyrics to come out of a band in years... although you probably have to be a Brit between the ages of 18-25 to understand how wonderful it is that they used words like balaclava and teddy picker.
  11. BorisC.
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    Whatever people say I am, seriously discredited the hype, in my view. Favourite Worst Nightmare, au contraire, is perhaps the finest record I
  12. Gerber
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    A more chill album then the first, but it is just as good. Every track is strong and there is never a point that makes you feel like your time is being waisted. The album is like a beautiful dream.
  13. WillO
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    These guys just prove why they are the best new band. This album takes their music to a whole different level. They just kick ass. Plain and simple.
  14. BBGNL
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    Great follow up! More diverse and more mature!
  15. markc
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    Great to see the band continuing their success with another excellent album..
  16. DanS
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    Instant classic. Massive development, both lyrically and musically. the presence of nick o'malley on bass adds steel to an already stellar line-up. The first half is immediately recognisable, yet the ambitious second half of the album is an outrageously good evolution of their sound as they test themselves and push the boundaries of their sound. Buy it
  17. mikeyff
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    i don't get the hater-critics. this effort is as good as / better than any rock disc, ever. alex turner is chuck berry's successor - that's right - and nitwit doolittle scribblers dis what they should be taking a bath / put white gloves on before spinning. don't you be put off by the lukewarm reviews, if the first album was a joy, this one'll send you up to the i don't get the hater-critics. this effort is as good as / better than any rock disc, ever. alex turner is chuck berry's successor - that's right - and nitwit doolittle scribblers dis what they should be taking a bath / put white gloves on before spinning. don't you be put off by the lukewarm reviews, if the first album was a joy, this one'll send you up to the point you'll need to peel yourself from the ceiling. blazing good. Expand
  18. GraceL
    Apr 24, 2007
    9
    Their new record is a more intimate, emotional, heartfelt, and mature than their debut record. Turner's vocals have improved greatly and the rest of the band seems to have grown into their sound well.
  19. SeanP.
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    This album left me speechlessly in awe during only the first listen, which is rare for me. Even rarer though, is when an album that does that remains great to me after multiple listens. But i've heard this six times by now and I still love it end to end. Even Neon Bible didn't leave me in awe on first hearing; that one had to grow on me a bit.
  20. tobyjoyce
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    great album, shows how far the band has come
  21. alecW
    Apr 25, 2007
    9
    Absolutely massive, how refreshing that they didn't come back with a mixed bag of half-baked ideas and sloppy tunes, Top of the form, A+
  22. AndréP
    Apr 26, 2007
    10
    fantastic! whatever people say i am is a little better, but favourite proves that arctic monkeys are the best and most important band since oasis.
  23. JosephA
    Apr 26, 2007
    8
    Better than the first. Nice work, nice to see one of these megahyped bands not over or underestimating themselves. Straight forward growth and evolution with out loosing touch with what made them great the first time around. Kudos
  24. joeyl
    Apr 26, 2007
    9
    Much better than I expected. Not much like their debut, but just as good. Higlights for me are Fluorescent Adolescent, D is For Dangerous, and Teddy Picker. Its an easy listen and fun too. Overall a great follow up!
  25. QUAID
    Apr 27, 2007
    9
    It would have been a perfect album for me, but the album isn't even 40 minutes long. It goes way to fast. I think by extending the beats a little more, it would not have damaged the album. In any case, it is a wonderful album and this band is far from over-rated.
  26. AndreaP
    Apr 30, 2007
    9
    Great band!!! This second album is surely better than "Whatever". This boys have the future in their hands!
  27. TerronM
    May 1, 2007
    10
    Where "Whatever People Say I Am..." took place in and around a raving London Club, "Nightmare" is of another location, perhaps the alley behind it. It's darker, moodier, more adventurous, and therefore, that much more enjoyable than it's predecessor.
  28. chrisp
    May 1, 2007
    9
    just as good as the whatever
  29. yanivv
    May 14, 2007
    8
    excluding 2 songs this album is mind blowing. its a pure youth potion. hate or love it you just cant stay indeference to it
  30. TimF
    May 23, 2007
    9
    Don't listen to anyone who says that there are not enough 'tunes' on this record, FWN is an ambitious, clever and, most importantly, great album that sees Arctic Monkeys having much more depth to the sound than the somewhat samey Whatever.. 'Tis bo!
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Under The Radar
    60
    Favourite moves forward not one inch from Whatever, which is safe and reliable, but also repetitive. [#17, p.82]
  2. 60
    In the tradition of thorny newbie bands that get scarily too big (Nirvana, Radiohead, Weezer), they’ve followed their funny, catchy debut with a less funny, less catchy second record to prove how little they trust the good times their music obviously inspires.
  3. Uncut
    80
    Favourite Worst Nightmare is a near-triumph, a far superior Album #2 than Meat Is Murder, The Libertines, or Second Coming. Yet some doubts nag, partly because of the subject matter. [May 2007, p.84]