User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 3 out of 19

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PeterF.
    Sep 21, 2009
    9
    Feed the Animals is Mashup taken to the next level. Gill's has the amazing talent to combine obscure or polar opposite tracks and make them sound good together. It makes you think what made him think that those two songs would go good together... Such as Black Street's "No Diggity" on the beat of "Flashing Lights" sounds better than Kanye could do it himself. Overall a great Feed the Animals is Mashup taken to the next level. Gill's has the amazing talent to combine obscure or polar opposite tracks and make them sound good together. It makes you think what made him think that those two songs would go good together... Such as Black Street's "No Diggity" on the beat of "Flashing Lights" sounds better than Kanye could do it himself. Overall a great album to put on at a party; it'll turn a dull party into quite the lively one! Collapse
  2. JahW.
    Aug 18, 2009
    10
    Immaculate blend. The term mash-up does this genre a disservice - nothing is mashed at all. One of my all-time faves - and SO ACCESSIBLE.
  3. PaulH.
    Oct 24, 2008
    8
    Gills' first couple albums were terribly schizophrenic and often far to abrasive to dance to. With this album, Girl Talk takes that slapdash hodgepodge and give's it character and identity. For music lovers who grew up in the 80's 90's and 00's love this album. If you are looking for IDM go elsewhere...this is strictly laptronica for people with short attention Gills' first couple albums were terribly schizophrenic and often far to abrasive to dance to. With this album, Girl Talk takes that slapdash hodgepodge and give's it character and identity. For music lovers who grew up in the 80's 90's and 00's love this album. If you are looking for IDM go elsewhere...this is strictly laptronica for people with short attention spans, like me! Go gillis. Expand
  4. ScottW.
    Oct 16, 2008
    10
    If this sounds like something you might like, snap it up right away. It's an endlessly entertaining party starter of an album. It's hard to explain how well this stuff works, you have to hear it for yourself.
  5. NickP.
    Sep 10, 2008
    10
    I can appreciate why people don't like this album, but I can tell you now, that nothing that's been released in recent time has made me smile and be as nostalgic as this album has. The combination of old and new, mixed over with such care, love an attention is awesome. In fact, this makes me want to listen to it again :)
  6. Stu
    Sep 4, 2008
    3
    If rapping over "come on Eileen" and other errr 'poppy' tunes is your thing, then this is the album for you. Not for me though, I think it's plain rubbish.
  7. BrightE.
    Aug 28, 2008
    9
    Takes genuine art to produce something which should be so cheesy, into something which goes alongside bon iver on my year's best albums list. great stuff. high volume. the lack of a 10 is only because they didn't mix .... oh I'm boring myself.
  8. Nick
    Jul 3, 2008
    9
    Such a great album. Right up there with Night Ripper. I hope the next album will be yet more diverse. Maybe mix around with some different time sigs? Is that too much to ask?
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. His latest musical highlight reel is dense with rib-nudging gags and indelible moments.
  2. Feed the Animals is a wonderful achievement, but don’t take my pseudo-intellectual pontification as proof of anything, go listen to it yourself.
  3. Rarely is postmodern art such bloody good fun.