Feels Like Home

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Seth?
    Feb 11, 2004
    9
    O.K., a little too much nashville for me to give this disc a 10, but Norah's lovely voice crosses all music boundaries. An excellent sophmore CD. That guy from 'The Guardian has ISSUES, but NO musical taste.
  2. KalyanS
    Feb 15, 2004
    9
    I'm rather surprised at some of the harsh criticism that Jones has been getting. It seems like nobody is allowed to make real soulful music anymore, music that gives a simple, unpretentious joy without the overtoned implications of 'inspiration'. If the critics can't hear a brilliant album in 'Feels Like Home', they must atleast refrain from trashing it. I'm rather surprised at some of the harsh criticism that Jones has been getting. It seems like nobody is allowed to make real soulful music anymore, music that gives a simple, unpretentious joy without the overtoned implications of 'inspiration'. If the critics can't hear a brilliant album in 'Feels Like Home', they must atleast refrain from trashing it. 'Feels Like Home' is kind of an extension to 'Come Away With Me'. It has the same feel and quality, a signature Jones. Expand
  3. colinl
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    Oh yes, a 10 from me. The purest voice on the planet. I have not purchased any CD's ever until I heard this voice. Keep those songs coming!
  4. SkyC
    Feb 11, 2004
    10
    For anyone who listened to Come Away With Me and wanted something even more soulful or upbeat, this album is it. If the bpm keeps picking up with her albums she's gonna make a country funk album. The fifth track off of the album titled In The Morning has a sedate, upbeat, boogie rhythm with some smooth soul piano solos between the silky voicings. The way the band just melts in after For anyone who listened to Come Away With Me and wanted something even more soulful or upbeat, this album is it. If the bpm keeps picking up with her albums she's gonna make a country funk album. The fifth track off of the album titled In The Morning has a sedate, upbeat, boogie rhythm with some smooth soul piano solos between the silky voicings. The way the band just melts in after she finishes off a verse is incredible. Case in point: Track 6 (Be Here To Love Me) is filled with light, sweet, air between every line. The guitar solo just simmers on through a couple licks before settling back down to its main purpose--being cool. The lyrics themselves are written for her voice. It's been this way with her for a while, actually, Norah Jones has this knack for picking the right words and nailing them to the vocals every single time. To me, it's impressive, and something that certain rock bands will never learn. Which reminds me of another thing--she's never angry or sappy. Never. Not once. In today's music market, I used to think that was a prerequisite for good music, but she proves me wrong on every track she sings. In some respects, this album is like the Southern Comfort edition of Bob Dylan's Love And Theft. It covers so many styles from straight jazz, to AOR, to soul, to country gospel, to new blues, if you like any of these styles you will be satisfied. It is a great followup to Come Away With Me and a wonderful companion to her pop blues collaboration with the Peter Malick Group New York City. I should add that the Guardian review is not indicative of the acutal music itself, and is unfairly biased. Expand
  5. NseE
    Feb 22, 2004
    10
    Norah Jones sophomore effort is a continuation of its predecessor. A loose blend of jazz, folk and country, coupled with her clear, almost breathy vocals. Right from the beautiful surreal cover art, you know you?re in for a treat. ?Sunrise?, the lead off single, opens the cd to good effect. It?s a light, breezy song. ?Carnival town? is an excellent cabaret style number, one of 6 songs Norah Jones sophomore effort is a continuation of its predecessor. A loose blend of jazz, folk and country, coupled with her clear, almost breathy vocals. Right from the beautiful surreal cover art, you know you?re in for a treat. ?Sunrise?, the lead off single, opens the cd to good effect. It?s a light, breezy song. ?Carnival town? is an excellent cabaret style number, one of 6 songs penned or co penned by Jones. ?In the morning? is another beauty, with some great bass playing. ?Humble me? is a beautiful song of contrition and forgiveness, almost Gospel like. ?Above ground?, The long way home? (with delightful guitar strumming), The prettiest thing? (very pretty song), and ?Don?t miss you at all? (a tender piano ballad which samples Duke Ellington to good effect), are other standouts from this stark, understated gem. This cd will do your collection no harm. Expand
  6. patrickd
    Apr 18, 2006
    9
    Norah's best CD, probably. I'd give it an 8 or 9, due to the different types of sounds with the familar Norah Jones voice. It has Above Ground, Creepin' In and many other good titles. It's better than Come Away With Me.
  7. Jun 29, 2012
    8
    Though its not as good as her debut cd, its still a solid album, well worth the listen. The best songs of the album are probably Toes and What Am I to You?
  8. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Another marvelous album from Norah Jones, who has, absolutely, the voice of an angel. The songs, especially Sunrise, my personal favorite, are wonderfully simple.
  9. Feb 17, 2015
    8
    Norah Jones: The beautiful, sweet and shy girl, winning five Grammy awards, proves to what came on their second album.
    A record that is not a revolution in the music industry or in Jones's career, but it is extremely satisfactory and better than Come Away with me.
    Feels Like homes still so sweet, as his previous album, exploring jazz-blues melodies and a big part of country, one
    Norah Jones: The beautiful, sweet and shy girl, winning five Grammy awards, proves to what came on their second album.
    A record that is not a revolution in the music industry or in Jones's career, but it is extremely satisfactory and better than Come Away with me.
    Feels Like homes still so sweet, as his previous album, exploring jazz-blues melodies and a big part of country, one basically sound and extremely quiet record. It will not offend old fans and new fans can captivate.
    The album reaches the pick already in the beginning, with the soft "Sunrise", the time to fall in love with Norah in "What Am i to You" and excess sugar in "Those sweet words" and "Be Here To Love Me "and the animation in " Creepin 'In ".
    The rest of the album does not appear so, but still very well organized and worked.
    Lyrically perhaps Fells Like Home does not offer much, making the sound more interesting.
    Completing Norah jones is a very talented girl, who certainly deserves the phenomenon of her second album.
    Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Mojo
    80
    It's similar to the debut.... But there's a more vivid light-and-shade to the textures and a craft and depth to the compositions that represent a welcome distillation of Jones' art. [Mar 2004, p.92]
  2. The most heartening thing about Feels Like Home is the utter absence of fussiness, or second-album overthink. It extends the Come Away With Me template while never echoing the earlier songs.
  3. If the choice of songs and beat and instrumentation were sometimes restrictive, still the piano and the voice endured.