Feels Like Home - Sheryl Crow
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Feels Like Home is musically conservative, socially ingratiating, politically vulnerable. It is unmistakably a piece of product. But it is also brilliant.
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    92
    She may be changing direction, but that swagger is still intact.
  3. 91
    [The album] inlays modern Music City twang like turquoise in a belt buckle, while the lyrics funnel her cheery realism into finer-cut tales of staycations, sexually charged car talk, and how "Waterproof Mascara" won't "run like his daddy did." [13 Sep 2013, p.70]
  4. Feb 14, 2014
    80
    This daughter of Missouri has merely up-twanged her still-rockin' sound, and boosted the songs' mom, kids and downhome content and the gritty, often rub-tickling detail in the telling that keeps it real. [Mar 2014, p.111]
  5. Jan 30, 2014
    80
    She’s at her best channelling the mature, suburban melodrama of vintage Tammy Wynette on Stay at Home Mother and the all-out D.I.V.O.R.C.E.-style heartwrench of Waterproof Mascara, on which a little boy’s mother thanks God for a cosmetic that “won’t run like his daddy did”.
  6. Feb 3, 2014
    70
    A substantial return to form. [Mar 2014, p.73]
  7. Jan 24, 2014
    70
    In the space of an album, we discover the difference between contented coupon cutting and chronic coupon cutting. It’s a strong testament to Feels Like Home’s sheer quality that such balance is present throughout.
  8. Sep 10, 2013
    70
    So much of Feels Like Home indeed feels natural. When it doesn’t, it’s tough going, as on the obvious bids for radio play like formulaic first single “Easy” and “We Oughta Be Drinkin’.”
  9. Sep 10, 2013
    70
    The results are uneven, but never feel forced or faked. The ultimate stylistic diplomat, Crow makes every twang her own.
  10. Sep 9, 2013
    70
    Yes, on the surface Feels Like Home is a makeover aimed at the parents of every Taylor Swift fan, but the essence of Crow's sound remains intact, and irresistible.
  11. 70
    The album is at its best when it sticks to the timeless stuff about love and loss.
  12. Mar 21, 2014
    60
    Mostly she's clever, soulful, sexy, and only a gram of venturesomeness short of her early best. [Apr 2014, p.90]
  13. Feb 5, 2014
    60
    Everything is despatched with verve and attitude, respectful of country music traditions but filtered through a broader, more urbane worldview.
  14. 60
    Musically it’s standard rockin’ country fare, save for the poignant tints of accordion applied to “Homecoming Queen”.
  15. Sep 25, 2013
    60
    While a lot of Feels Like Home misses the mark in this capacity, enough of it rings with the ole’ Sheryl Crow charm to make it a worthy entry into her repertoire and a notable foray into Country-pop music territory.
  16. Sep 9, 2013
    60
    That her instincts are often right speaks to her skills; that she veers into accidental condescension suggests this country move may be motivated by finding a new audience, not satisfying her existing one.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Sep 15, 2013
    9
    It took me a listen or two to acclimatize to it, but when I did, did I ever. Once in a while an album comes along that as soon as it's overIt took me a listen or two to acclimatize to it, but when I did, did I ever. Once in a while an album comes along that as soon as it's over you want to play it again, and again. Feels Like Home is right, it fits like a comfy old glove. I could quibble and say I'd prefer something more alt-y and gritty, maybe produced by Jack White, but on its own terms, this album works a treat. Every song works strongest songwriting since Globe Sessions. Nothing sounds like an empty genre exercise, unlike some of her other material of the last 10 years. She sounds fully engaged and invested and it shows in her singing, she sings the hell out of these tracks. A warm and welcome place to be indeed. Full Review »