• Record Label: Fat Cat
  • Release Date: Oct 18, 2005
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 123

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MirrorMoon
    Jun 21, 2006
    10
    This album really makes me feel feelings I have never felt before. No, it has not been done by mercury rev and the flaming lips before, this is more avant garde instrumentation and the lyrics differ extremely much. A modern day masterpiece.
  2. AndyJ
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    album of the year!
  3. ChrisJ.
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    Simply amazing.
  4. Henry
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    Every album this band makes is amazing. Saying that is almost unecessary. What makes this one so great is that once again they are going in a new direction, while still keeping aspects of their sound that make them truly unique. The chanting and pounding rythym of Here Comes the Indian is still here, as is the drifting almost ambient middle section of Sung Tongs. Feels puts all of this Every album this band makes is amazing. Saying that is almost unecessary. What makes this one so great is that once again they are going in a new direction, while still keeping aspects of their sound that make them truly unique. The chanting and pounding rythym of Here Comes the Indian is still here, as is the drifting almost ambient middle section of Sung Tongs. Feels puts all of this together wonderfully and adds upbeat and impressively written rock music to the mix. A perfect album. Expand
  5. Charles
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    This is the best cd to come out this year ahead of CYHSY and Sufjan. This is probably their most accessible cd (not saying much) and they sound more like Spirit Theyve Vanished than Sung Tongs but with tighter songs. The Purple Bottle is the best song all year and Banshee Beat is up there as well. Great Cd.
  6. erict
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    Amazing album
  7. biggendoggen
    Oct 19, 2005
    10
    The best record this year , without a doubt!
  8. ugabooga
    Dec 27, 2005
    10
    almost as good as sung tongs, but enjoyable for those who found that one too noisy.
  9. BenG
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    Great album that will burrow its hooks into your head for weeks.
  10. FletcherB
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    This, along with the EP, is the best collection of songs releasd all year. Hands down, the most innovative and awe inspiring artists of recent memory
  11. JMcC
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Amazing album!! One of the best of the decade, at first the catchy pop tunes of the first half stand-out and its hard to believe there could ever be anything to top it. But, with further listening the beauty of the second half of the album slowly seeps into your mind and you'll find yourself listening to Banshee Beat over and over again. Once fully understood, Feels plays out Amazing album!! One of the best of the decade, at first the catchy pop tunes of the first half stand-out and its hard to believe there could ever be anything to top it. But, with further listening the beauty of the second half of the album slowly seeps into your mind and you'll find yourself listening to Banshee Beat over and over again. Once fully understood, Feels plays out beautifully with every track contributing to the overall experience. Expand
  12. [Anonymous]
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    Yes, there are three total standouts: Grass, Purple bottle, and Did You See The Words, but the whole album is great. Always interesting, and always completely engaging. I never thought I'd like Animal Collective, but this album sold me. Buy it, you won't regret it.
  13. PatriceT
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    This album is amazing. I'm amazed at how many emotions and feelings this album taps into. They have so much talent and while their music may take some getting used to, it's worth the reward.
  14. KierF
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    This group has tapped into the collective unconsciousness of this American Society and bears the truth! God bless them, and I'm not even a Godhist!
  15. Nick
    Oct 17, 2005
    10
    Their best to date.
  16. MattP
    Oct 17, 2005
    10
    This is a perfect album. If you didn't like sung tongs you won't get it, but it's there, and perfect. All the songs, ranging from beautiful slow stoner-ish songs to super happy pop upbeat pop songs to cathartic, building rock songs are breathtaking. Every time I listen to it I find something new I like. It is concise, yet full of material of all kinds. The arrangement of This is a perfect album. If you didn't like sung tongs you won't get it, but it's there, and perfect. All the songs, ranging from beautiful slow stoner-ish songs to super happy pop upbeat pop songs to cathartic, building rock songs are breathtaking. Every time I listen to it I find something new I like. It is concise, yet full of material of all kinds. The arrangement of the songs, the order, is perfect, just like everything else about the album. Expand
  17. JosephM
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    This is simply a stunning album. Some people will compare it to the Flaming Lips or Mercury Rev, but Animal Collective simply are more exciting at this point in there career then either of those bands are now. These songs are addictive and highly rewarding when given the chance. Animal Collective are full of creativity and I can't wait to hear what will be next. Highly Recommended.
  18. Aaron
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    What an amazing album. For Animal Collective, this is a pretty accessible disc. Although if you never liked this band before, I'm certain this won't make a convert of you. Having said that, those who found their adventurous music off putting may like this one. The songs here are just that, full fledged songs rather than soundscapes. But why bother describing this album, What an amazing album. For Animal Collective, this is a pretty accessible disc. Although if you never liked this band before, I'm certain this won't make a convert of you. Having said that, those who found their adventurous music off putting may like this one. The songs here are just that, full fledged songs rather than soundscapes. But why bother describing this album, it's fruitless. If you're a bit daring in your music tastes, I highly recommend this electrifying album. Expand
  19. jj
    Dec 4, 2005
    10
    the best album of the year.
  20. taphead
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    hey have you guys heard of this band animal collective? they're pretty good.
  21. disco13
    Feb 26, 2006
    10
    i can't believe how many reviews make such a big deal about this album (or band) being so bizarre. it's not really that bizarre at all. I mean, i could see why someone weened on nothing but britney spears-ish pop would think that was overwhelmingly bizarre, but, otherwise, what do you expect from music that doesn't suck? i mean, okay, it's not safe and typical like i can't believe how many reviews make such a big deal about this album (or band) being so bizarre. it's not really that bizarre at all. I mean, i could see why someone weened on nothing but britney spears-ish pop would think that was overwhelmingly bizarre, but, otherwise, what do you expect from music that doesn't suck? i mean, okay, it's not safe and typical like decemberists and arcade fire, but whatever. i mean, shoot, you can sing-a-long to it--what more do you want? anyway, i can't properly describe how much of an affect this album and animal collective's music in general has had on me. this is seriously some of the best music i have ever heard. during the first couple months of listening to this album, i kept finding myself saying aloud while listening to it, almost involuntarily, "Goddamnit this is so @#$-ing good." jaw-droppingly beautiful harmonies, profoundly joyful and innocent, a radically new way of looking at the role of "melody" in pop, at times brimming with enthusiasm, at times deeply tender. there's so much here. and i'm not even sure this is their best album. i'm not sure it isn't either. Expand
  22. TonyF
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    great album, i like sung tongs more but this one's fantastic, every track has its own feel to it, and i love how the album was named feels and is all about romance.
  23. tonyR
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    Wow.......Banshee beats is such a good little tune my question is how can you give it a one. "scared for where music is heading" HA go listen to Nickelback more thanks and I will say it you have very poor taste my friend, think before you speak.
  24. EricC.
    Sep 14, 2007
    10
    Though Avey Tare and Panda Bear are the most prominent members, you can really notice the presence of Geographer and Deakin, the more "electronic" members. They were absent from Sung Tongs, and I can't help but love having them back. They add even more layers to the already thick sounds of Animal Collective. It's funny, though, how the album starts off. Did You See the Words Though Avey Tare and Panda Bear are the most prominent members, you can really notice the presence of Geographer and Deakin, the more "electronic" members. They were absent from Sung Tongs, and I can't help but love having them back. They add even more layers to the already thick sounds of Animal Collective. It's funny, though, how the album starts off. Did You See the Words sounds like a by-the-books indie song (though a spectacular one). Luckily, though, the album soon goes back to what gained AC such a devoted following. An easier listen than anything they ever made, though still obviously experimental, this cd gives proof as to why they are widely considered an elite indie band, up there with The Shins, Arcade Fire, and Spoon. Expand
  25. BrandonS.
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    Loch Raven is worth the price. Equally as great as Sung Tongs.
  26. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    All of their albums have their own unique sound, it takes a trained ear to notice these but once you do it's amazing how they can create this sound that is so particular to the album. I love this album and I use it to study a lot because I don't know why but the music makes me feel good.
  27. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    Another perfect album from one of the greatest bands in the game right now. Without a doubt one of my favorite albums by then and among my favorite of all time. If you like any of the music these guys have made before, and certain after this album, you will enjoy this. Lyrical content is unparalleled, especially if you are in the proper frame of mind. Amazing vocal arrangements, upliftingAnother perfect album from one of the greatest bands in the game right now. Without a doubt one of my favorite albums by then and among my favorite of all time. If you like any of the music these guys have made before, and certain after this album, you will enjoy this. Lyrical content is unparalleled, especially if you are in the proper frame of mind. Amazing vocal arrangements, uplifting lyrical content, unique and fresh songwriting approach. Highest recommendation. Expand
  28. Ben
    Oct 9, 2006
    9
    Fantastic album
  29. Gman
    Oct 21, 2005
    9
    Animal Collective are without as important now as bands like My Bloody valentine and Can were in their day. Although they sometimes get lumped together with other acts such as the new folk artists like Devendra Banhart or fellow New York experimentalists Black Dice and Gang Gang Dance, Animal Collective are far too innovative to be contained in any little box. Each album they've made Animal Collective are without as important now as bands like My Bloody valentine and Can were in their day. Although they sometimes get lumped together with other acts such as the new folk artists like Devendra Banhart or fellow New York experimentalists Black Dice and Gang Gang Dance, Animal Collective are far too innovative to be contained in any little box. Each album they've made has been unique and despite drawing on the past (folk, Beach Boys, Tyrannosurus Rex, early Mercury Rev) they sound unlike anything that has gone before and their use of electronics and production has more in common with cutting edge electronic artists like Christian Fennesz than anything in the 'rock' genre. The presence of extra members Deaken and Geologist has meant that Feels has a meatier, less accoustic feel than Sung Tongs (although calling that album accoustic is about as daft as calling Four Tet accoustic). Although some of the more quirky 'sing-a-long' tracks maintain elements of that album's Dionysian folk vibe, as the album progresses and becomes more blissed out, it has moments that are reminiscent of AR Kane's classic '69' album. An astonishing record from an astonishing band. Anyone who doesn't recognise their genius really should bother listening to music because they clearly have no idea whotsoever what makes music great. Expand
  30. manos
    Jan 14, 2006
    9
    Pop music gets re-invented
  31. BenU
    Dec 21, 2005
    9
    A fantastic Album by one of the best groups out there today. They actually rock ono this one!
  32. Matt
    May 24, 2006
    9
    It seems like they took us to grandma's house through the trippy woods on Sung Tongs, now they wanna float downstream to get back. Each song seems to flow on waves of reverb and gently strummed acoustic, not to mention the trademark animal mating calls and "wtf" noises that could be coming from anywhere. And of course you'll find yourself humming bits from it later on after its It seems like they took us to grandma's house through the trippy woods on Sung Tongs, now they wanna float downstream to get back. Each song seems to flow on waves of reverb and gently strummed acoustic, not to mention the trademark animal mating calls and "wtf" noises that could be coming from anywhere. And of course you'll find yourself humming bits from it later on after its over... and you'll never be sure why. Expand
  33. bizmarke.
    Jan 25, 2007
    9
    Yay!
  34. Desmond
    Apr 19, 2007
    9
    A very odd and mysterious collection of songs. It is catchy yet distant. It is pop but with an ambient, dreamy feel to it. Definitely reccomended if you want to try some thing new.
  35. JustinB.
    Sep 25, 2007
    9
    Writing a song like 'purple bottle' is reason enough to give this album a 9.
  36. brenom
    Nov 12, 2005
    9
    it's a dawn hot good album!
  37. mk
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    Did You See the Words, Grass, Purple Bottle, and Turn into Something are no doubt stand alone tracks, but songs like Flesh Canoe and Banshee Beat are the ones that will really send shivers down your spine. You have to listen the whole way through because context is everything. You'll even learn to love all seven and a half minutes of Daffy Duck. The album climaxes with Banshee Beat Did You See the Words, Grass, Purple Bottle, and Turn into Something are no doubt stand alone tracks, but songs like Flesh Canoe and Banshee Beat are the ones that will really send shivers down your spine. You have to listen the whole way through because context is everything. You'll even learn to love all seven and a half minutes of Daffy Duck. The album climaxes with Banshee Beat and the wait is worth it. Feels definitely shows improvements in cohesiveness and songwriting from Sung Tongs, but still has a few flaws. I can't help but miss the back and forth panning so perfectly done on tracks like Who Could Win a Rabbit. The barrage of sound, while beautiful and perfect at times, starts to get a little too muddy for me at moments. However, a nearly perfect album Expand
  38. HollisG.
    Aug 16, 2007
    9
    While I miss the acoustic vibe on "Sung Tongs", I understand that AC is going for a different thing on this album, and judging it on its own merits, this is a pretty wild ride. While I haven't gotten to the point where I will really sit down and listen to all of "Daffy Duck" like some people on here, it's obvious to me that there is more to this album than just "Grass" & "Purple While I miss the acoustic vibe on "Sung Tongs", I understand that AC is going for a different thing on this album, and judging it on its own merits, this is a pretty wild ride. While I haven't gotten to the point where I will really sit down and listen to all of "Daffy Duck" like some people on here, it's obvious to me that there is more to this album than just "Grass" & "Purple Bottle" (both of which I love). When I saw AC in Tokyo this past March, "Banshee Beat" was the stand-out by far, and re-listening to the album opened my eyes again to the beauty of "the rest of the album", esp. "Loch Raven" & "Banshee Beat". Expand
  39. Aug 28, 2012
    9
    The vocal arrangements are beautiful, free-wheeling, and fun. The instrumentation consists of gorgeous piano, guitars plugged into some very odd effects, autoharps. It's a near-perfect album that only drags with the song "Daffy Duck."
  40. daxr
    Oct 18, 2005
    8
    in some ways this album is so accessible that it's sort of jarring. it's a very different record from sung tongs, but not entirely different. in its sound it's closer to pre-sung tongs A.C., but it's more cohesive than those albums. it's more of a step forward than a fusion of past sounds that the collective have created. which is decidedly good. the melodies here in some ways this album is so accessible that it's sort of jarring. it's a very different record from sung tongs, but not entirely different. in its sound it's closer to pre-sung tongs A.C., but it's more cohesive than those albums. it's more of a step forward than a fusion of past sounds that the collective have created. which is decidedly good. the melodies here are the kind that don't really bother getting in your head right away. the just grab onto you and eventually drill their way in. Expand
  41. PeteF
    Jan 10, 2006
    8
    This is my first encounter with Animal Collective and after a slow start i am getting to know the album quite well and i like what im hearing. Although the bizar sound does put off casual listeners it does have something captivating about it right from the start and draws you into another place for a while. This is useful because once there the melodies become oh so much clearer and This is my first encounter with Animal Collective and after a slow start i am getting to know the album quite well and i like what im hearing. Although the bizar sound does put off casual listeners it does have something captivating about it right from the start and draws you into another place for a while. This is useful because once there the melodies become oh so much clearer and beutiful. Im dropping two points because there are some less interesting songs on the album. Plus this album would be difficult to share with many people as the listener does require a very open mind to apreciate it. Expand
  42. JonasY
    Jan 16, 2006
    8
    This record sounds like christmas music made by psychotics. It is simultaniously horrifying and beautiful. For the vast majority of people it will be on par with torture; but a very, very select few will be able to savor this music like the nectar of the gods. Personally, I am blown away by the boldness of the AC's artistic vision, but sometimes I find the demands this music makes This record sounds like christmas music made by psychotics. It is simultaniously horrifying and beautiful. For the vast majority of people it will be on par with torture; but a very, very select few will be able to savor this music like the nectar of the gods. Personally, I am blown away by the boldness of the AC's artistic vision, but sometimes I find the demands this music makes too taxing. Expand
  43. GuyH
    Apr 12, 2007
    8
    Solid album. For me the standout tracks are Banshee Beat, Loch Raven and Purple Bottle but most would seem to diagree on that!
  44. JerryS
    Dec 11, 2005
    8
    With a handful of delectable tracks and slew of snoozers, this album does not hold up very well as a complete body. However, "Did You See the Words", "Grass", and "The Purple Bottle" will absolutely thrill you. I would definitely give this album a listen but certainly wouldn't purchase it without a taste test.
  45. rob
    Dec 23, 2005
    6
    Claiming that the Flaming Lips and Mercury Rev (might as well throw in Polyphonic Spree, Hopewell, Flotation Toy Warning, and a handful of others) have "done this" many times before is ridiculous. A.C. is in a world of their own and Feels deserves to be heard by anyone who wants to hear something different. That said, I haven't found the album as rewarding as sung tongs. "Did You See Claiming that the Flaming Lips and Mercury Rev (might as well throw in Polyphonic Spree, Hopewell, Flotation Toy Warning, and a handful of others) have "done this" many times before is ridiculous. A.C. is in a world of their own and Feels deserves to be heard by anyone who wants to hear something different. That said, I haven't found the album as rewarding as sung tongs. "Did You See the Words," "Grass," and "The Purple Bottle" are the most accessible tracks and, like a previous reviewer, I would recommend starting there. Then, if you still desire to do so, move on from there. Most people won't give this album a chance, many will try and fail to fully appreciate it (myself included), and a handful will love it. Expand
  46. TimIsHott...andSpicey
    Aug 8, 2006
    6
    Feels isnt really all that good of an album. I would recommend downloading Did You See The Words, Grass, and The Purple Bottle. But otherwise Animal Collecitve has yet to put together a completely fufilling album. A 6.
  47. HeywoodJablowme
    Oct 18, 2005
    5
    so pitifully average in every way. Mercury Rev and the Flaming Lips have done this kind of thing so many times before, it's kind of shocking that anyone finds it novel.
  48. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    3
    Pretentious and chaotic noise. They have a ton of potential, but no pay-off on this record.
  49. JoeP
    Nov 11, 2007
    1
    This band makes me scared for where music is heading...
  50. Lam2Nature
    Dec 15, 2005
    0
    Bullshit Music!!!
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. The group sounds freer than ever before, almost as though they've never bothered with rock in their lives, and have only happened upon a bare few LPs before beginning their recording career.
  2. So refined at times it borders on the insipid.
  3. Breathlessly giddy and shamelessly trippy. [21 Oct 2005, p.75]