Femme Fatale

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Mar 29, 2011
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 389 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 65 out of 389
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 16, 2014
    5
    Britney excuse me but this album is not good, you have the potential to make (at least compose) best songs, there are few that can be enjoyed this album.
    Highlights: Drop Dead and Till The World Ends
    Lows: Gasoline and Do not Keep Me Waiting
  2. Jun 11, 2011
    4
    In my opinion, Femme Fatale's strikes are innovative, Britney's voice is better and the record hasn't a bad song. The only thing I was kind of disappointed are the lyrics of songs that aren't that creative... for me the best lyrics are from "Trip To Your Heart" and "Criminal".

    Femme Fatale can't be compared to the previous, because if we really consider it her best work: doesn't have
    In my opinion, Femme Fatale's strikes are innovative, Britney's voice is better and the record hasn't a bad song. The only thing I was kind of disappointed are the lyrics of songs that aren't that creative... for me the best lyrics are from "Trip To Your Heart" and "Criminal".

    Femme Fatale can't be compared to the previous, because if we really consider it her best work: doesn't have annoying music or bad. The change in style for trance-pop may not please everyone, however it will please the majority. It will bring more fans to Miss. Spears, because we have one of the most mature records of her career. The album wasn't meant to be heard, but felt.

    Generally, I face Femme Fatale as a unique album. I can't compare this work with no other from Britney. I think everything Britney has done so far is unique. And she nailed it on this album. This is what Pop is. Britney knows how to pop, this is fact. The record didn't disappoint me in any aspect. As each and every album has its ups and downs. I really hope she doesn't ignore "How I Roll", "I Wanna Go" and especially "Criminal" because in my opinion are the best of the album along with "Trip To Your Heart". And not being fanatic, but I think Femme Fatale has imperceptible lows. Now it's time to enjoy this record, wait for the bonus tracks and the performance on Good Morning America, the video of Till The World Ends, and something about the new tour.

    Britney proves once again that doesn't need to follow trend's music to be fashionable... she creates a different vision of pop music, which few or many, will be happy to savor every melody, production stage, choruses, bridges, etc...
    The album's name does justice to the content. More mature, provocative and daring to the ears of fans and listeners.

    It may not have sounded so good at first, but once I heard the album on the iPod, I was loving every song. In it we can see an evolution in relation to the last two albums because it presents a great diversity of sounds, lyrics a little more elaborated and somewhat with census, the most important thing is the fact that hasn't such a weakness noted in the recent musical works. The album in general can be very generic but it is this type of rhythm it is essential these days because the music is changing every time that passes. Overall I loved the album, however it won't be my favorite though. It has been noticed that she gave her heart for working through this fantastic album which I am very thankful and she deserves to be congratulated for this. Even though I really loved the record I feel a little disappointed for the fact that the album doesn't have any ballad.
    Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2011
    6
    Where is the voice of Britney? This is the first question that comes to mind when listening to this album. In a full summary of the work, it seems that Britney forgot her good old pop and electronica trend adhered to today.
  4. May 26, 2011
    6
    The album is nice but nothing more than that. Although meaningless, "Hold It Against Me", "Inside Out", "I Wanna Go", "Gasoline" and "Criminal" are catchy and fun. However, the other tracks are forgettable.
  5. Apr 30, 2011
    6
    Femme Fatale is far from being Spears's best album. In fact, it is so overly produced and heavily auto tuned that it could've been the latest Ke$ha album, and no one would care at all. However, it is a ballad free-club ready album that'll make plenty of fans scream, "Britney's back, **** The two latest singles, "Hold It Against Me" and "Till The World Ends", are its highlighted tracks.
  6. May 25, 2011
    4
    Dear Britney: I miss you in Toxic . This Album is repetitive, no creativity since the electro beast is the same... Put together her two latest singles "Till The World Ends" and "I Wanna Go" is the exact SAME background. Is energic yes... but is so repetitive and some lyrics make no sense. Britney's voice is auto-tuned that sounds like a remixed album. Is catchy but you can't be consideredDear Britney: I miss you in Toxic . This Album is repetitive, no creativity since the electro beast is the same... Put together her two latest singles "Till The World Ends" and "I Wanna Go" is the exact SAME background. Is energic yes... but is so repetitive and some lyrics make no sense. Britney's voice is auto-tuned that sounds like a remixed album. Is catchy but you can't be considered a "Pop Princess" with just a "catchy" album. Expand
  7. Mar 29, 2011
    4
    So disappointed. There's barely anything in this album that remotely tells me that this is Britney's best album like she said it was. Now, I love Britney as much as anyone else could, but I love her for a totally different reason than most. I loved her for her innovation and originality that she brought to pop music; she seemed like the first person to bring in different elements ofSo disappointed. There's barely anything in this album that remotely tells me that this is Britney's best album like she said it was. Now, I love Britney as much as anyone else could, but I love her for a totally different reason than most. I loved her for her innovation and originality that she brought to pop music; she seemed like the first person to bring in different elements of different genres into her music and that what drew me to her during her "Britney" and "In the Zone" era, but now it seems like she's settled on a sound and isn't giving it up.

    The writing seems lackluster; there's definitely a theme, but it's so transparent that it doesn't pop like before. I know 12-year-olds that could write better songs than Till the World Ends or Hold It Against Me, but there is no way they could've done the production. The composition on most of these songs are top-notch and that's what really sells the album, which, on its own merits, is an accomplishment but a vague one at the least. This album is definitely "POP GOLD", but whose pop, because it's not Britney's? Actually, it sounds like the pop album of twelve different artists' rejects fused together.

    The only highlights I can find are "Inside Out", the dubstep-influenced monster it is, and "I Wanna Go", the disco/electro, Kylie Minogue-esque hit that was obviously skipped as a single choice. I'm not saying that this doesn't reek of Britney or pop fantasy, it's just disappointing.
    Expand
  8. May 20, 2011
    5
    The whole album is not the best album of Britney. There are some good and catchy songs like Hold It Against Me, Till the World Ends and I Wanna Go. However, I think Britney Spears should start write some songs and produce her own material and not leave the songwriting to others (for example I Wanna Go a song about her life isn't written by her, neither). The lyrics are catchy but lack ofThe whole album is not the best album of Britney. There are some good and catchy songs like Hold It Against Me, Till the World Ends and I Wanna Go. However, I think Britney Spears should start write some songs and produce her own material and not leave the songwriting to others (for example I Wanna Go a song about her life isn't written by her, neither). The lyrics are catchy but lack of Britney's involvement and something new. Her voice is so much robotic and has so much auto-tune and the listener doesn't enjoy the album. All in all, the album isn't interesting and lacks of new lyrics yet good choice for clubs only and nothing else. Expand
  9. Jun 30, 2011
    4
    Femme Fatale is exactly what I expected in an album from Britney Spears: a few standout tracks: HIAM, TTWE, and Up N Down; a few mediocre tracks: Inside Out, I Wanna Go; and filler. This is Britney's best album after Blackout and Baby One More Time respectively. This is a solid release for Miss Spears, fun to have drinks to while getting ready for a night out but not a serious contenderFemme Fatale is exactly what I expected in an album from Britney Spears: a few standout tracks: HIAM, TTWE, and Up N Down; a few mediocre tracks: Inside Out, I Wanna Go; and filler. This is Britney's best album after Blackout and Baby One More Time respectively. This is a solid release for Miss Spears, fun to have drinks to while getting ready for a night out but not a serious contender for any best of lists and hopefully no one deludes themselves with the idea that it is. Expand
  10. Apr 7, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An album with no lyrics, no production and no human voice - Femme Fatale This is the seventh album from Britney Spears! It is personal, the princess returned to playback everything. Britney Spears makes this time a trip to the insane electro-disco-pop. I must say that she was drunk all the way and driving a VW color pink. For patients Spears fans will be a recipe for long hair beats, voiceovers in front of the mirror and abuse at nightclubs. Expand
  11. May 19, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dança, sexo, amores caidos, auto-tunes! Tudo isso é possivel encontrar no novo album da Princesa do POP Britney Spears. A sonoridade é contagiante, com musicas chicletes e com capacidade de se tornarem grandes HITs. O album lembra os grandes sucessos de Kesha, e construido na mesma base dos HITs da cantora: Letras banais, agitado, uma dança sem fim. Porém, com a canção Criminal, Britney foi além, mesmo que não muito longe. 6,0! Expand
  12. Feb 5, 2012
    6
    A good album with catchy beats. No innovation at all. Gottwald has the ability to turn all the artists her works with into mainstream pop stars. Extremely auto-tuned and Ke$ha-like. It sure makes us all miss the days when Britney used to sing. Definitely, not her best album at all.
  13. Aug 9, 2013
    5
    One of the worst Britney Spears CD's. Her highly autotuned voice gets annoying, and the songs are horribly written. Definitely not a good album, only four or five good songs.
  14. Oct 25, 2013
    6
    Femme fatale is a good album, but is too predictable. There is no innovation, it is always the same eletronic music with a bit of auto-tune, definitely not one of the best works made my pop princess Britney Spears. There is no comparison with her previous works, such as blackout and circus, but it has good songs like "criminal", "he about to lose me" and "hold it against me".
  15. Jan 30, 2016
    6
    Album assez inégal, ancré dans son temps avec des sons électro dance qui ont assez mal vieilli.

    Coup de coeur: Inside Out et les pistes bonus de la version deluxe.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. May 24, 2011
    80
    Despite a slew of hit singles and eye-popping sales figures, Britney Spears has never released an album as coherent from start to finish as her latest, Femme Fatale.
  2. The poppers keep on coming right through the bonus tracks of porn-lite funk-lite that's quirky and clever front to back.
  3. Apr 5, 2011
    70
    Femme Fatale equips Britney with material which is strong enough to enable the original all-American Pop Princess to hold her own in such an overcrowded context.