• Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Mar 29, 2011
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 566 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 81 out of 566
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 19, 2012
    7
    To me, Femme Fatale is Britney's best album. Of course it could be that now that I listen to her older albums, they sound a bit stale and out of date, whereas Femme Fatale has a more current vibe (obviously, being her latest). The single choice of Criminal threw me a little, though, as I think there are far better songs on this album than that one.
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    Femme Fatale is a great pop album. An that's much about it. We can't see in this album much input from the artist herself, which was exactly what built Britney's early career. In the past years, after her "dark" period, Britney hasn't been able to produce or even write tracks, which has a direct result in what comes out as an artist product. There are a lot of "masterminds" behind theFemme Fatale is a great pop album. An that's much about it. We can't see in this album much input from the artist herself, which was exactly what built Britney's early career. In the past years, after her "dark" period, Britney hasn't been able to produce or even write tracks, which has a direct result in what comes out as an artist product. There are a lot of "masterminds" behind the production process and this reflects in non-reflexive and non-personal tracks. I'm not saying that I wish she wrote about war, ocidental thought or anything like that, but I hope for the next few years she and her team realise that what real fans are looking for is her, and not just success.
    Throughout the album, "Britney" delivers a clearer (not as edited as Blackout's) and upbeat sound. We can hear her voice (as far as we can call that) and "Inside Out" contains a small resemblance of what Britney used to be as a child: a great and potent singer.
    As far as it comes to lyrics, it follows the Circus' style of the nonexistence of patterns nor (much) sexual heat. The exception here is "Big Fat Bass", which has metaphors to male erection.
    The music style is more cohesive than her last album as well. Femme Fatale follows a motive (expressed in its title) and, even if is not as explored as in "In The Zone" or "Blackout", we cannot say that it doesn't exist.
    Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    I love this. I love this. I love this. "Femme Fatale" as a whole isn't perfect, I mean, I don't like 'How I Roll' or 'Criminal' as much as the rest of the other songs - they're a little bland. However, the remaining tracks range from good to perfect.
    I can understand why Britney released "Hold It Against Me", "Till The World Ends" and "I Wanna Go" as singles - all 3 are perfect dance-pop
    I love this. I love this. I love this. "Femme Fatale" as a whole isn't perfect, I mean, I don't like 'How I Roll' or 'Criminal' as much as the rest of the other songs - they're a little bland. However, the remaining tracks range from good to perfect.
    I can understand why Britney released "Hold It Against Me", "Till The World Ends" and "I Wanna Go" as singles - all 3 are perfect dance-pop tracks. I love the elements of dubstep that slither in songs like 'Seal It With A Kiss' and the album's lead single. And the deluxe tracks are well worth a listen as well.
    The best pop album of 2011? I think so.
    Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2016
    10
    Femme Fatale is Really a Great album she should worked harder on her vocals on this album she is really an amazing artist but she nailed it with this album the album highlights were Till The World Ends and Hold it against me.
  5. Jul 26, 2017
    10
    Obsesión Obsesión Obsesión Obsesión Obsesión Obsesión Obsesión Obsesión Obsesión Obsesión Obsesión Obsesión Obsesión Obsesión Obsesión Obsesión Obsesión Obsesión
  6. Apr 4, 2011
    9
    Femme Fatale, in my opinion, is possibly the best album Britney Spears has released. Now granted In the Zone gave us "Toxic" and Circus, well it gave us "Womanizer" and "Circus"! But Femme Fatale is definitely up-to-date with the latest genres of music including, techno, electropop, synthpop, and even a touch of dubstep, which is new to the States (thankfully its Britney who is introducingFemme Fatale, in my opinion, is possibly the best album Britney Spears has released. Now granted In the Zone gave us "Toxic" and Circus, well it gave us "Womanizer" and "Circus"! But Femme Fatale is definitely up-to-date with the latest genres of music including, techno, electropop, synthpop, and even a touch of dubstep, which is new to the States (thankfully its Britney who is introducing dubstep to us!). Some of the hallmarks of the albums has to be:
    I Wanna Go: a very upbeat, catchy tune with lots of autotune and bounce! This song is definitely radio worthy and I feel it has potential to be the popular song of Summer 2011! When the song starts it just makes you want to get up and dance and sing along to it! It's a great song and is probably the best song on the album!

    Trip To Your Heart: Very dancy tune, with lots of catchy beats and an awesome chorus melody! Trip to Your Heart is probably one of the sweetest songs on "Femme Fatale" and, in my opinion, sounds like something that Britney would've sung on "...Baby One More Time" or "Oops I Did It Again" if both of the albums were released in 2011! How I Roll: When you first hear this, you'll immediately think that this song is sexy (heavy breathing at the beginning of the song)! Like most of the songs on "Femme Fatale" it has a catchy chorus ("Because I got 9 lives like a kitty cat!") which makes it very sexy and alluring for Britney to sing! Gasoline: This song is shockingly perfect for the age in which we live in (ahem! gas prices). Gasoline is a very sexy song that fits perfectly for Spears and might I add, make gasoline sexy again!

    Criminal: This song is a more ballad like song which features Britney falling in love with a criminal. Definitely, puts you in the shoes of Britney's mama! And how she would feel if Britney really were in love with a criminal. Although slow, it's a great addition to "Femme Fatale"'s lineup of nightclub dance worthy tracks

    Up N Down (only available on the deluxe version): I love this song! The beats are perfect, vocals are perfect, melody is perfect, everything in this song is perfect! Definitely a song you would hum in your head! Some of the other songs with honors would include:
    Inside Out,
    Drop Dead (Beautiful),
    Seal It With A Kiss,

    Now I can say the whole album is great, but there is one song that I don't particularly like, and most people can agree with me on this one, Big Fat Bass! It sounds... OK... but too much autotune and heavy beats. Will.I.Am is not at his best in this song and doesn't do a great job as he did in "The E.N.D." but despite it all, Britney's vocal are outstanding and fills the void of the not-so-great beats and "vocals" (if you would like to call them that) of Will.I.Am! Overall the album is fantastic, but leaves a lot to be desired when it comes to Big Fat Bass. Other than that, well worth every single penny. Great addition to any Britney fan's collection!
    I also suggest the Deluxe version, all of the bonus tracks are awesome, even though I didn't mention them, they're great!
    Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2012
    7
    Not as good as "Circus", "Blackout" and "In The Zone" ( in my opinion ) but however this is a good album, with an interesting dub-step that now the biggest part of pop artists uses! The best songs for me are Criminal, Seal It With A Kiss, Gasoline, Inside Out and Hold It Against Me.
  8. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Britney's Best Album! Till The World Ends, I Wanna Go, Drop Dead (Beautiful), And How I Roll Are My Favorite Songs!
  9. Mar 29, 2011
    7
    Pop princess, Britney Spears came back with energy and entertaining album "Femme Fatale." Instead of defending her throne as Pop princess, she is more determined to take K$'s Queen of Clubland throne. Her voice is processed and sounds similar or much robotic than K$ or her alter-ego Blackout (2007). It's fun, danceable but it lacks Spears real persona and it relies more on her producers.Pop princess, Britney Spears came back with energy and entertaining album "Femme Fatale." Instead of defending her throne as Pop princess, she is more determined to take K$'s Queen of Clubland throne. Her voice is processed and sounds similar or much robotic than K$ or her alter-ego Blackout (2007). It's fun, danceable but it lacks Spears real persona and it relies more on her producers. The musical structure and composition is almost the same. She tries to re-invent Blackout to make it more better but I still think Blackout sounds better. Expand
  10. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    This is Pop Gold. Pop music in its finest forms. Britney Spears may not have got involved much in this album (being the first album, including the "Chaotic" EP and even the compilations and remix album, since "...Baby One More Time" that she shared no writing credits at all, and not even being the producer this time, and that this obviously is going to a very distinct direction that "InThis is Pop Gold. Pop music in its finest forms. Britney Spears may not have got involved much in this album (being the first album, including the "Chaotic" EP and even the compilations and remix album, since "...Baby One More Time" that she shared no writing credits at all, and not even being the producer this time, and that this obviously is going to a very distinct direction that "In The Zone" and "Blackout" took. But, the album "Femme Fatale" combined catchy tunes and experienmental music under a candy-coated package. This is not pure bright like "Circus", but this is a 'bright' album indeed.

    My favorites: "Till The World Ends", "Hold It Against Me", "inside Out", "I Wanna Go", "Seal It With A Kiss". Out of the bonus tracks, I like "Don't Keep Me Waiting" (although it doesn't musically fit very well with the rest of the album IMO) the most but "He About To Lose Me" is also great.

    BUY IT!!!
    Expand
  11. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    Yes, Britney Spears. Maybe her voice wasn't her at all. But, dance upbeats is still full of elements that is a club banger. She is still at her style from 1998-present. TOO BAD! This album was so great. Hands up for Britney, the only musician that sticks to her music all the time. Britney was so believable at the album. No doubt! No one can replace her title: "Queen of Pop". It is soYes, Britney Spears. Maybe her voice wasn't her at all. But, dance upbeats is still full of elements that is a club banger. She is still at her style from 1998-present. TOO BAD! This album was so great. Hands up for Britney, the only musician that sticks to her music all the time. Britney was so believable at the album. No doubt! No one can replace her title: "Queen of Pop". It is so powerful and majestic, full of energy. Slip slack hits. GET READY! GAGA!!! Expand
  12. Mar 30, 2011
    8
    If we look at any trending pop star right now, including Ke$ha, Rihanna, Lady Gaga, etc. all of their hit songs are geared towards club plays. It only makes sense that Britney would do the same thing right now. She's still building back up and I think trying to build her fan base with club-goers who wouldn't normally listen to her music. Overall, I think it's a good, dance-filled album. IsIf we look at any trending pop star right now, including Ke$ha, Rihanna, Lady Gaga, etc. all of their hit songs are geared towards club plays. It only makes sense that Britney would do the same thing right now. She's still building back up and I think trying to build her fan base with club-goers who wouldn't normally listen to her music. Overall, I think it's a good, dance-filled album. Is it her best and most creative - no. But it's still good to listen to, and I'm sure it will be even better blaring in the clubs. Expand
  13. Apr 7, 2011
    9
    "Femme Fatale" is perfect! It's the new testament of POP music (The old testament is Blackout). Its melodys are amazing. This CD is full of vocal processing. And it is genious because Britney has the best processed voice in the world. Her voice mingles whit the perfect beat and it makes us want to hear more and more.
  14. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    THE LEGENDARY MS. BRITNEY SPEARS PROVES SHE'S STRONGER THAN EVER AND SHE'S THE NEW QUEEN OF POP!!!!!!! FAVORITE TRACKS ARE: HIAM, INSIDE OUT, HOW I ROLL, I WANNA GO, DROP DEAD BEAUTIFUL, CRIMINAL AND GASOLINE, i love them all but these are my favs
  15. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    Britney returns to the pop spectrum right where she left off with Blackout, continuing to be an advocate for Electro Pop's continual explosion. With hard hitting dubstep beats and an exploration of European dance music, we are treated with one excellent Dance album in Femme Fatale that is sure to leave listeners begging for more. Dare we say, the bar has been elevated? Bravo Ms. Spears, BRAVO!!!
  16. Mar 29, 2011
    7
    Britney's contribution to this album is minimal. On most of the songs she does not sing at all but rather chants and recites the lyrics. It is interesting that you can actually hear her sing on the songs which were NOT produced by Dr. Luke and his team, one of which is the Darkchild-produced bonus track "Don't Keep Me Waiting." Why that song, as well as "Selfish" (produced by Stargate) didBritney's contribution to this album is minimal. On most of the songs she does not sing at all but rather chants and recites the lyrics. It is interesting that you can actually hear her sing on the songs which were NOT produced by Dr. Luke and his team, one of which is the Darkchild-produced bonus track "Don't Keep Me Waiting." Why that song, as well as "Selfish" (produced by Stargate) did not make the standard edition is beyond me. Nevertheless, the album is a non-stop dance party filled with many potential Britney classics, but the lack of her involvement should not go unnoticed. Should we blame Dr. Luke for making her sound like almost like Ke$ha, or Spears herself for not "feeling it" or her management team for not letting her have her own say? This album is hardly her best but at the end of the day, it is good. Top track: Inside Out. Expand
  17. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    The Queen of Pop is Back and better than ever! This album is her strangest yet the best album she's ever recorded. The production is amazing and the vocals are much better than circus. I wish though she wrote some of the songs but other than that the album is a masterpiece. The highlights of the album include "Till The World Ends", "Trouble Fore Me", "Criminal" and "Selfish" which isThe Queen of Pop is Back and better than ever! This album is her strangest yet the best album she's ever recorded. The production is amazing and the vocals are much better than circus. I wish though she wrote some of the songs but other than that the album is a masterpiece. The highlights of the album include "Till The World Ends", "Trouble Fore Me", "Criminal" and "Selfish" which is included on the deluxe edition. Expand
  18. Apr 2, 2011
    8
    This is not Britney's masterpiece (that is Blackout), but this is one of the greatest pop albums in a long time. I mean, at first, as a Britney Spears fan, I though that it was a mess with some good song and some annoying songs. But as I listened to the album 2154212354 times and it's a grower.. I only think "why does they choose 'Till the World Ends' as a single? It's the worst song ofThis is not Britney's masterpiece (that is Blackout), but this is one of the greatest pop albums in a long time. I mean, at first, as a Britney Spears fan, I though that it was a mess with some good song and some annoying songs. But as I listened to the album 2154212354 times and it's a grower.. I only think "why does they choose 'Till the World Ends' as a single? It's the worst song of the album (including the bonus songs). I mean, I really like the 'oh-oh-oh', but what the hell? The best one is 'Trip to Your Heart', a dreamy euro pop ballad, with full of emotion. 'How I Roll' is something I never though I'd heard from Britney. 'I Wanna Go' and 'Inside Out'' are cool songs, screaming for single, although I think that those songs is like the same pop thing that we are listening these days. There is some good dubstep featured in 'Seal With a Kiss' and at first I though that 'Big Fat Bass' was such a terrible song -but now I can't stop listening to it. 'Criminal' is Britney's best ballad since 'Everytime'. There is no songs written by her and her voice is not that good, but man! There is no voice like hers. Expand
  19. Apr 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The pop princess is back with this wonderful job, one of her best albums, for sure, Femme Fatale doesn't has a 'filler song', each song has your charm, each song is great. Thank you Britney. Expand
  20. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    Finally, the most anticipated Britney album since Blackout has arrived.In Femme Fatale you'll find some masterpiece dance-pop gems along with some mid-tempo tracks.The fact that Spears' vocals may be a little ''over-autotuned'' cannot alter the album's amazing production.With producers like Dr.Luke, Martin, Smith & Stargate , no wonder it became Britney's 6th No. 1 album.''It's an albumFinally, the most anticipated Britney album since Blackout has arrived.In Femme Fatale you'll find some masterpiece dance-pop gems along with some mid-tempo tracks.The fact that Spears' vocals may be a little ''over-autotuned'' cannot alter the album's amazing production.With producers like Dr.Luke, Martin, Smith & Stargate , no wonder it became Britney's 6th No. 1 album.''It's an album for the clubs'' said Spears, and i totally get what she meant.The album can be placed next to some classic Britney albums and is, for sure, a great way to thank her billions of fans..

    Standout tracks:Till the world ends, Inside Out, Scary
    Expand
  21. Apr 2, 2011
    10
    I honestly think the bonus tracks do the whole album a favor.. It makes it better... I'm happy with the whole album in general but I feel some of the bonus tracks should swap with one or two maybe even 3 songs.. But I guess even if you swapped the tracks Britney is the Queen of making awesome bonus tracks and pure pop dance genius.. Don't get me wrong I would LOVE her to get back to herI honestly think the bonus tracks do the whole album a favor.. It makes it better... I'm happy with the whole album in general but I feel some of the bonus tracks should swap with one or two maybe even 3 songs.. But I guess even if you swapped the tracks Britney is the Queen of making awesome bonus tracks and pure pop dance genius.. Don't get me wrong I would LOVE her to get back to her in the zone era and get in the studio and get some personal songs from her heart on the album and write some of them too... But this album(despite what few critics say) is AWESOME!! If the album didn't leak 3 weeks early this would sell even more.. In my opinion this album has atleast 8 or 9 single worthy tracks.. I also believed Blackout could have spawned 6 or more singles but her label wanted to focus on a circus"personal life" comeback instead. This is a big improvement from previous album circus and on par with the genius album Blackout.. I Have bought the album and I suggest not as a fan but as someone who loves music and beats to songs to BUY this album.. My personal Faves: Seal it with a kiss, Gasoline, Trouble for me, Up n Down, He's about to lose me, Don't keep me waiting, Till the World ends, I wanna go.. The rest of the album is wonderful.. My least favorite(but still liked) Trip to your heart and selfish.. Big Fat Bass is good if you can get over the length of the song and repetetive lyrics and of course will i am.. I still love the album and give it an A... Expand
  22. Apr 6, 2011
    10
    This album is very dancy and catchy at the same time. Britney Spears may have not contributed (writing at least) to this album and is very autotuned, but the music is very catchy and i enjoy every song! keep it up! (and please dance instead of standing like a robot during live performances!)
  23. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    This album is amazing. The beats are brilliant and Britney is so mature right now, she's playing around with her owns songs and showing us she can do this we never expected. How I Roll is amazing, so as the incredible Inside Out and also the catchy songs like I Wanna Go and Till The World Ends. Congrats, miss Spears, you did a wonderfull job!
  24. May 23, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Britney Spears came back with all the energy she has! She officially is the Queen of Hardcore Dance! Femme Fatale delivers in what it's meant to do: Get listeners to get up and dance and get loose! If there were any doubts if Britney could possibly continue her majesty of "Pop Princess"... FORGET IT! She's here to stay....
    Best songs? "I Wanna Go", "He about to loose me", "Big Fat Bass" feat. Will.i.am & "How I Roll"
    Songs that are not so good? None
    Femme Fatale is the best album of Britney's career!
    Congats Britney!
    Expand
  25. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    This was absolutely the best album of 2011. I didnt listened and liked Britney too much before this one, but this, totally changed my mind. Maybe her voice is not that good, but her music is totally worth listening a thousand times. She proved that She is one Queen of Pop Music!
  26. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    ALBUM OF THE YEAR!!! This is Britney Spears better than you've ever seen her. Every song is amazing. And mixing britney with more electronic dance/club beats is amazing
  27. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    Hands down Britney's best work since Blackout (which still remains her masterpiece and perfection in album form if ever there was one). Femme Fatale delivers in what it's meant to do: Get listeners to get up and dance and let loose. This is a great, fun record to listen to for various occasions. Driving in your car, getting ready for a nite out, lounging around the house. The list goes onHands down Britney's best work since Blackout (which still remains her masterpiece and perfection in album form if ever there was one). Femme Fatale delivers in what it's meant to do: Get listeners to get up and dance and let loose. This is a great, fun record to listen to for various occasions. Driving in your car, getting ready for a nite out, lounging around the house. The list goes on and on. Haters can hate and say what they want, but they are only kidding themselves. Its Godney, **** Expand
  28. Apr 2, 2011
    10
    Its amazing. I love all the crazy melodies and the beats. Even Big Fat Bass isnt THAT bad. My only problem is the lyrics.

    'You're so bright, like a dream' 'Seen you out tonight smiling and talking' 'Steaming like a pot full of vegetables' Also people need to stop talking about her not writing any of it. Rihanna didnt write ANY of loud. Frank Sinatra, Elvis Presley didnt write
    Its amazing. I love all the crazy melodies and the beats. Even Big Fat Bass isnt THAT bad. My only problem is the lyrics.

    'You're so bright, like a dream'
    'Seen you out tonight smiling and talking'
    'Steaming like a pot full of vegetables'

    Also people need to stop talking about her not writing any of it. Rihanna didnt write ANY of loud. Frank Sinatra, Elvis Presley didnt write and even Pavarotti lip sync's!
    Expand
  29. May 24, 2011
    10
    This album is the perfect reflection on modern pop music. Britney provides dance music that is not only traditionally catchy, but at some points taking some risks. Her voice is playfully constructed throughout the album to fit each song, and she does it well. Her voice ranges from playful, to light, to serious, to seductive. Great balance of songs that are cohesive. Good job, Britney.
  30. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    This could possibly be Britney's most fresh and innovative album. She tried different music elements that she hasn't tried before and made these songs chart toppers. Although she has been bashed for her little input on the record, to be truthful hardly any pop artists write their songs these days. I think her vocals sound fresh and up to date with what is happening these days. StandoutThis could possibly be Britney's most fresh and innovative album. She tried different music elements that she hasn't tried before and made these songs chart toppers. Although she has been bashed for her little input on the record, to be truthful hardly any pop artists write their songs these days. I think her vocals sound fresh and up to date with what is happening these days. Standout tracks on the album are "Till the World Ends", "I Wanna Go" "Up n' Down"(On Deluxe Edition) and "Criminal". A very underrated album in my opinion Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. May 24, 2011
    80
    Despite a slew of hit singles and eye-popping sales figures, Britney Spears has never released an album as coherent from start to finish as her latest, Femme Fatale.
  2. The poppers keep on coming right through the bonus tracks of porn-lite funk-lite that's quirky and clever front to back.
  3. Apr 5, 2011
    70
    Femme Fatale equips Britney with material which is strong enough to enable the original all-American Pop Princess to hold her own in such an overcrowded context.