Femme Fatale

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Femme Fatale Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 526 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The famous pop artist's seventh album promises a sleekly produced, seductive sound, perfect for a disco party with her signature dance floor pop.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Mar 31, 2011
    88
    As long as Brit keeps the ballads to a minimum and plays to her strength as a willing pop renegade (which she does here more than on any of her previous albums), she will continue to make exciting, groundbreaking modern music.
  2. 83
    Judging by these songs, she's a childless man-eater who could drink Ke$ha under the table. That disconnect, added to the fact that Spears doesn't claim so much as a co-writing credit on a single track, can make the album feel like an autopilot affair.
  3. Mar 25, 2011
    80
    Less adventurous is her sex-on-the-dance-floor lyrical fixation, so it's those playful touches that set Femme Fatale apart from most cornball dance pop on the radio these days.
  4. Mar 21, 2011
    70
    Femme Fatale, after all, is a flawed album, with lyrics that barely clear the level of a Ke$ha and a maturity level to match. But it's a pop album that's supposed to make you dance, and when it comes to that, there's not a star out there that can match Ms. Spears.
  5. Mar 28, 2011
    70
    Sonically, it has everything except hooks, either in the rhythm or the melody; it's all surface style, driven by sound and given shape by hypersexual lyrics Britney sings listlessly.
  6. Mar 29, 2011
    50
    Good lyrics or no, we still know Femme Fatale will be a blockbuster regardless, which is perhaps why there still remains room for Spears to try a few different things musically, and when Spears' producers are given room to stretch, they manage to pull of a few pop music miracles.
  7. Max Martin, Mr "Baby One More Time", has been roped in again along with scores of interchangeable Scandinavians to create an album of autotuned landfill chartpop which you will scour in vain for anything on a par with "Womanizer".

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 128
  2. Negative: 26 out of 128
  1. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    Femme Fatale, in my opinion, is possibly the best album Britney Spears has released. Now granted In the Zone gave us "Toxic" and Circus, wellFemme Fatale, in my opinion, is possibly the best album Britney Spears has released. Now granted In the Zone gave us "Toxic" and Circus, well it gave us "Womanizer" and "Circus"! But Femme Fatale is definitely up-to-date with the latest genres of music including, techno, electropop, synthpop, and even a touch of dubstep, which is new to the States (thankfully its Britney who is introducing dubstep to us!). Some of the hallmarks of the albums has to be: I Wanna Go: a very upbeat, catchy tune with lots of autotune and bounce! This song is definitely radio worthy and I feel it has potential to be the popular song of Summer 2011! When the song starts it just makes you want to get up and dance and sing along to it! It's a great song and is probably the best song on the album! Trip To Your Heart: Very dancy tune, with lots of catchy beats and an awesome chorus melody! Trip to Your Heart is probably one of the sweetest songs on "Femme Fatale" and, in my opinion, sounds like something that Britney would've sung on "...Baby One More Time" or "Oops I Did It Again" if both of the albums were released in 2011! How I Roll: When you first hear this, you'll immediately think that this song is sexy (heavy breathing at the beginning of the song)! Like most of the songs on "Femme Fatale" it has a catchy chorus ("Because I got 9 lives like a kitty cat!") which makes it very sexy and alluring for Britney to sing! Gasoline: This song is shockingly perfect for the age in which we live in (ahem! gas prices). Gasoline is a very sexy song that fits perfectly for Spears and might I add, make gasoline sexy again! Criminal: This song is a more ballad like song which features Britney falling in love with a criminal. Definitely, puts you in the shoes of Britney's mama! And how she would feel if Britney really were in love with a criminal. Although slow, it's a great addition to "Femme Fatale"'s lineup of nightclub dance worthy tracks Up N Down (only available on the deluxe version): I love this song! The beats are perfect, vocals are perfect, melody is perfect, everything in this song is perfect! Definitely a song you would hum in your head! Some of the other songs with honors would include: Inside Out, Drop Dead (Beautiful), Seal It With A Kiss, Now I can say the whole album is great, but there is one song that I don't particularly like, and most people can agree with me on this one, Big Fat Bass! It sounds... OK... but too much autotune and heavy beats. Will.I.Am is not at his best in this song and doesn't do a great job as he did in "The E.N.D." but despite it all, Britney's vocal are outstanding and fills the void of the not-so-great beats and "vocals" (if you would like to call them that) of Will.I.Am! Overall the album is fantastic, but leaves a lot to be desired when it comes to Big Fat Bass. Other than that, well worth every single penny. Great addition to any Britney fan's collection! I also suggest the Deluxe version, all of the bonus tracks are awesome, even though I didn't mention them, they're great! Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    This could possibly be Britney's most fresh and innovative album. She tried different music elements that she hasn't tried before and madeThis could possibly be Britney's most fresh and innovative album. She tried different music elements that she hasn't tried before and made these songs chart toppers. Although she has been bashed for her little input on the record, to be truthful hardly any pop artists write their songs these days. I think her vocals sound fresh and up to date with what is happening these days. Standout tracks on the album are "Till the World Ends", "I Wanna Go" "Up n' Down"(On Deluxe Edition) and "Criminal". A very underrated album in my opinion Expand
  3. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    Britney returns to the pop spectrum right where she left off with Blackout, continuing to be an advocate for Electro Pop's continualBritney returns to the pop spectrum right where she left off with Blackout, continuing to be an advocate for Electro Pop's continual explosion. With hard hitting dubstep beats and an exploration of European dance music, we are treated with one excellent Dance album in Femme Fatale that is sure to leave listeners begging for more. Dare we say, the bar has been elevated? Bravo Ms. Spears, BRAVO!!! Expand
  4. Sep 10, 2016
    8
    Definitely better than Circus, Britney sounds more confident and upbeat. Despite not liking much this new electronic vibe, the album still hasDefinitely better than Circus, Britney sounds more confident and upbeat. Despite not liking much this new electronic vibe, the album still has great moments and some notably Britney characterization. Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2016
    7
    At first, I didn't like it. I thought it was overproduced and void of Britney herself. However, after several listens it suddenly sunk it.At first, I didn't like it. I thought it was overproduced and void of Britney herself. However, after several listens it suddenly sunk it. It's a bold and brilliant dance record. The production literally screams at you, but in the right way. Full of hooks, full of electronic goodness and full of sex appeal. An album designed with one goal on mind - to make the listener want to dance. Does it achieve this? Totally. Expand
  6. May 20, 2011
    5
    The whole album is not the best album of Britney. There are some good and catchy songs like Hold It Against Me, Till the World Ends and IThe whole album is not the best album of Britney. There are some good and catchy songs like Hold It Against Me, Till the World Ends and I Wanna Go. However, I think Britney Spears should start write some songs and produce her own material and not leave the songwriting to others (for example I Wanna Go a song about her life isn't written by her, neither). The lyrics are catchy but lack of Britney's involvement and something new. Her voice is so much robotic and has so much auto-tune and the listener doesn't enjoy the album. All in all, the album isn't interesting and lacks of new lyrics yet good choice for clubs only and nothing else. Expand
  7. Aug 30, 2016
    0
    One of the worst albums of the year thus far. It shows absolutely no artistic growth, the lyrics are elementary, and the vocals areOne of the worst albums of the year thus far. It shows absolutely no artistic growth, the lyrics are elementary, and the vocals are non-existent. All in all, a terrible album. Collapse Expand

See all 128 User Reviews