Fever Ray

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Fever Ray Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Knife's Karin Dreijer Andersson releases her solo album under the name Fever Ray.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. As unlikely a step as Fever Ray may seem for one of electronic music's most enigmatic figures, the results are triumphant.
  2. It may not be as enigmatic as Silent Shout but if nothing else, it is a fantastic album on its own accord.
  3. Fever Ray dips into the uncanny valley from time to time, enough to be terrifying, but Andersson lends a more human touch to the album. [Spring 2009, p.71]
  4. It’s this feverishness that’s key to this magnetic and rewarding album.
  5. This is an odd gem of a record that should be cherished in a class of its own.
  6. She’s at her best when sticking to a palette of steel, indigo and black.
  7. 60
    This is an exercise in extravagant claustrophobia, not nostagia. [Apr 2009, p.86]

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Absolutely fantastic.
  2. Jan 15, 2015
    10
    This is just an all around fantastic album. Fever Ray is closest sonically to Silent Shout era The Knife, but the dance-like techno isThis is just an all around fantastic album. Fever Ray is closest sonically to Silent Shout era The Knife, but the dance-like techno is stripped out, leaving things a little slower and even ominous.
    Karen Andersson has a beautiful voice, but she almost always drags it through a slew of effects until it's unrecognizable, but it's always done masterfully.
    I make friends listen to this all the time, and so far, everyone I've introduced to it has loved it. There's not a weak track on here, but If I Had a Heart, Triangle Walks, Coconut, and When I Grow Up are the absolute standouts.
    Expand
  3. FredR
    Mar 26, 2009
    9
    Very pleasant and relaxing. I didn't listen to the lyrics. I just got swept up in the music.
  4. JeremyF
    Mar 27, 2009
    9
    Brilliant.
  5. Sep 28, 2014
    9
    It can be a weird album. The tone ranges from relaxing to dark or haunting throughout. One thing's for sure though is that this a unique andIt can be a weird album. The tone ranges from relaxing to dark or haunting throughout. One thing's for sure though is that this a unique and atmospheric piece of work that can be downright mesmerizing at times. The vocal work shows such range that it's often hard to believe that all of the tracks are sung by the same person. It's unlike anything I've ever listened to before, and shows an incredible high-level of quality. It's often a masterpiece that has an interesting theme dealing with children. This is an album that simply must be experienced at least once, just to take in it's creative and odd atmosphere and to experience something new. Even if it doesn't hook you I'm sure you'll at least be able to appreciate how good it sounds. My total score for the album is a 9.4/10. Expand
  6. JoeyT.
    Dec 27, 2009
    8
    For me, this is good goth music. I love the background music. Her voice is reminiscent of the 90's goth all-girl band "Switchblade For me, this is good goth music. I love the background music. Her voice is reminiscent of the 90's goth all-girl band "Switchblade Symphony" which those who like "Fever Ray" might also revel in. This album sent me to the record store as soon as I heard the first part of the first song!!! I hope we hear more good music from "Fever Ray", and I'm sorry I missed them when they came through Chicago. I hope I get a second chance. Expand
  7. DanielP
    Apr 23, 2009
    7
    Let's not get too overexcited by this band.....having listened to it at least 10 times I would only nominate 3 songs as worth repeated Let's not get too overexcited by this band.....having listened to it at least 10 times I would only nominate 3 songs as worth repeated listenings: the first 2 tracks and "Keep the Streets Empty". Concrete Walls is merely OK, the rest is B-side filler. Would have been an excellent EP though! Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2009

    The Best Albums of 2009 Image
    Published: December 29, 2009
    We recap the best-reviewed albums of 2009 and collect dozens of music critic top ten lists to determine the best album of the year. While the results point to a clear winner, you can listen to songs from the top 50 albums to help you find your own favorites.