Fever To Tell

Fever To Tell Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the highly-anticipated debut LP for the New York art-punk trio, who have developed a fanbase and generated a great deal of publicity (not to mention a major-label deal) through a series of EPs and live performances.

Top Track

Maps
Pack up I'm strayed Enough Oh say say say Oh say say say Oh say say say Oh say say say Oh say say say Wait, they don't love you like I love... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Occasionally, it feels like there’s a manipulation going on somewhere, a cloud of hype that obscures both the band’s actual virtues and its shortcomings.
  2. Urb
    90
    Easily one of the best albums of 2003. [Jul 2003, p.94]
  3. Mojo
    90
    This record is full of surprises, roping in all manner of esoteria for a sweaty, beer-splattered and tune-drenched rock'n'roll party that rivals even Nevermind for balancing the pop sugar with the twisted underbelly and subtle smarts. [May 2003, p.90]
  4. Q Magazine
    80
    An impressive pop artefact, propelling its creators clear of the current garage-rock morass.... It's the sound, if not the smell, of teen spirit. [May 2003, p.111]
  5. Magnet
    80
    Credit sludgemeister Alan Moulder's mixing with fashioning this trio's graceless clamor into a pop blasterpiece (though the high-gloss context occasionally suggests a randier, more cacophonous No Doubt). [#59, p.111]
  6. Combine the intense vocals and thin lyrics with the speed and exuberance of the songs (most are well under three minutes) and ''Fever to Tell'' feels a lot like a series of quickies -- exhausting, fun, but a bit empty.
  7. All bluster and noise and no substance.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 4 out of 25
  1. KleftonA
    Jun 6, 2003
    10
    Truly a classic. This CD is awesome. I love. It is soft and loud and I even hear something slightly reminiscent to the Chili Peppers. "Rich" Truly a classic. This CD is awesome. I love. It is soft and loud and I even hear something slightly reminiscent to the Chili Peppers. "Rich" and "No, No, No" are great songs. Every minute is good, and it is all around great. Expand
  2. ColleenC
    Apr 21, 2004
    10
    This album was the best I've ever had
  3. Oct 8, 2016
    10
    Their best album to date. A masterpiece. Ugh, I miss them so much, Maps stills beating in my heart. Karen O is a genius, and Yeah Yeah YeahsTheir best album to date. A masterpiece. Ugh, I miss them so much, Maps stills beating in my heart. Karen O is a genius, and Yeah Yeah Yeahs needs to release new music soon. Expand
  4. OliverI
    May 11, 2003
    9
    E! Online isn't for shit. "Fever to Tell" is, alongside the Libertines' "Up the Bracket," one of the most stunning debut albums of E! Online isn't for shit. "Fever to Tell" is, alongside the Libertines' "Up the Bracket," one of the most stunning debut albums of the year. "Black Tongue" and "Man" ooze with energy, but the real showstopper is closer "Modern Romance," all mournful lyrics and beautifully eerie backward guitars. Expand
  5. [Anonymous]
    Apr 14, 2004
    8
    i wasn't crazy about them, but my friend brought me to a concert of theirs and it was amazing. They are NOT a whitestripes knockoff. i wasn't crazy about them, but my friend brought me to a concert of theirs and it was amazing. They are NOT a whitestripes knockoff. Maybe you have to see them live to appreciate them, but you can tell that there is something special here. Expand
  6. j30
    Aug 15, 2011
    7
    Karen O and Co. created one of the most important albums of the decade with Fever To Tell. It wasn't until It's Blitz that they won me over. IKaren O and Co. created one of the most important albums of the decade with Fever To Tell. It wasn't until It's Blitz that they won me over. I love the energy of Fever To Tell, it has this raw, punk vibe. "Maps" is one of the most beautiful songs I've ever heard and "Y Control" was the template of where they'd go next. Expand
  7. Apr 25, 2012
    2
    "Maps" is a great love song, but the rest of this album is just a noise rock album striving to fit into the hipster sense of cool. Do not buy"Maps" is a great love song, but the rest of this album is just a noise rock album striving to fit into the hipster sense of cool. Do not buy this record. Collapse

See all 25 User Reviews