Fever

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Apr 27, 2010
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 67
  2. Negative: 8 out of 67

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 31, 2015
    8
    Fever is a great album, one of the best in the metalcore genre. It accomplishes enjoyment to the listener, and that's what an album is supposed to do, right?
  2. Aug 1, 2014
    10
    This album is what we call "Perfection". From previous album this is a great step ahead. It sound really amazing and Bullet is the most underrated band in the world.
  3. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    Fever is one of my Favorite Bullet For My Valentine albums to date. With Tracks like Your Betrayal and Fever it really stands out in it's sound and it's lyrics. I'll be listening to this album for years to come.
  4. Jul 16, 2013
    8
    I'm not narrow minded, but my favorite two Bullet For My Valentine albums were their first. The Poison and Scream Aim Fire. However that doesn't mean to say that Fever is bad. After all, Bullet are the biggest metal band to come out of England since Iron Maiden. (Even though they're Welsh)

    Fever was a new approach to Bullet. At this point they changed a few things and how they
    I'm not narrow minded, but my favorite two Bullet For My Valentine albums were their first. The Poison and Scream Aim Fire. However that doesn't mean to say that Fever is bad. After all, Bullet are the biggest metal band to come out of England since Iron Maiden. (Even though they're Welsh)

    Fever was a new approach to Bullet. At this point they changed a few things and how they approached the album, and all in all I thought Fever was great. Some iconic songs and some fantastic riffs, all of which are fun to play too! The only reason I didn't vote this higher is because I only really listen to this album a few times, It's not one of those I could listen to constantly as it does get a little boring. But they're all great songs, and seeing them live is just fantastic too!
    Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    A move away from their previous albums, Fever adds a more melodic touch to Bullet's sound. With some of the best individual tracks in years and a generally cohesive album format, this is up there as one of my favourite albums of all time.
  6. Oct 28, 2011
    8
    'Fever' is an album that conjures up mixed reviews from users and critics alike. The premise is simple enough, broken relationships and revenge. All that is all an fine, but at times, 'Fever' feels cliche and over-the-top in the whole "hatred" mindset. The album is great, though, clocking in around 50 minutes and never dragging or becoming repetitive. The songs are varied, and they'Fever' is an album that conjures up mixed reviews from users and critics alike. The premise is simple enough, broken relationships and revenge. All that is all an fine, but at times, 'Fever' feels cliche and over-the-top in the whole "hatred" mindset. The album is great, though, clocking in around 50 minutes and never dragging or becoming repetitive. The songs are varied, and they feel as fresh as ever. There is something I would like to point out, this album isn't as heavy as their previous release 'Scream Aim Fire.' Nor is it as heavy as their first full-length 'The Poison', but the album is right up there in terms of enjoyable listening. Like I said, the premise is simple, and it has been done before; which makes the songs seem recycled and reused. But, only in their subject matter. The tracks themselves, are fresh and feel like they fit the songs very well. This album starts off with a fast-and-furious song 'Your Betrayal', but the follow-up doesn't seem as bright. The middle of the album (tracks 4-8) is where the album picks up most of its steam, but it dissipates before the last track. All-in-all, 'Fever' is a solid album from a band that keeps hitting its stride. The issues are minute, and they won't deter any fan of the genre. Expand
  7. Apr 15, 2011
    7
    This isnt their best album but its one of their best.Fever is my favorite song from this album and its not that great.They make good songs but they should add more guitar.
  8. Sep 2, 2010
    9
    This was my first full Bullet album. I had classics such as Tears Don't Fall and Scream, Aim, Fire via download, so I was slightly curious as to whether or not buying their CD would make me a full-time fan. And it has! Nine out of the eleven songs are classic Bullet: Some belting anthems that would seem at home during any festival, mixed with some metal widdle-melodies to make any musicThis was my first full Bullet album. I had classics such as Tears Don't Fall and Scream, Aim, Fire via download, so I was slightly curious as to whether or not buying their CD would make me a full-time fan. And it has! Nine out of the eleven songs are classic Bullet: Some belting anthems that would seem at home during any festival, mixed with some metal widdle-melodies to make any music lover shiver down their spine. But because of the two tracks that are stuck between good and average, it loses a point from me. Yet as I said, I am now a full Bullet fan, and i'm seeing them in December in London! Expand
  9. EannaB.
    May 2, 2010
    10
    An excellent attempt by a brilliant band.
  10. JesseM.
    Apr 29, 2010
    9
    An amazing album by standards of a fan of their music in the past. Bullet has once again modified their style, this time staying away from screaming and focusing much more on singing. Fever is an album for all rock and metal fans alike, and should definitely be up on the top of the charts (at least in the genre it is in).
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. As a whole, Bullet show absolutely no progression on Fever, despite this being their third album.
  2. This isn't a pathbreaking album by a band with any chance at reshaping their genre in their image; it's a solid disc by a group that knows its own strengths.
  3. Despite the lyrics failing to improve upon previous efforts, elsewhere Fever represents a significant step forward, and practically guarantees that BFMV will fulfil the expectations preceding its release.