Fever

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Fever Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Don Gilmore produced the third album for the Welsh heavy-metal band.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Fever is unlikely to win Bullet For My Valentine more respect amongst their peers, but this could be the album to persuade non-believers.
  2. Despite the lyrics failing to improve upon previous efforts, elsewhere Fever represents a significant step forward, and practically guarantees that BFMV will fulfil the expectations preceding its release.
  3. This isn't a pathbreaking album by a band with any chance at reshaping their genre in their image; it's a solid disc by a group that knows its own strengths.
  4. Q Magazine
    60
    This third album won't appease the doubters, the sound of their previous Billboard chart-crashing album now polished until it gleams like chrome. [Jun 2010, p.120]
  5. Fun, but noisy enough to make your parents worry about your ears.
  6. Alternative Press
    60
    On Fever, it's all about the harmonized riffs and the high-flying melodies interlocking with the type of rhythmic thud that feels like it could move the earth--and the pop charts. [May 2010, p.104]
  7. Gilmore has merely rendered Fever more American market-friendly and given it a strong flavor of stateside nu-metal. It's a pattern that is just too repetitious, too anodyne and just plain insipid.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    A move away from their previous albums, Fever adds a more melodic touch to Bullet's sound. With some of the best individual tracks in yearsA move away from their previous albums, Fever adds a more melodic touch to Bullet's sound. With some of the best individual tracks in years and a generally cohesive album format, this is up there as one of my favourite albums of all time. Expand
  2. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Best Album ever. .
  3. Sep 2, 2010
    9
    This was my first full Bullet album. I had classics such as Tears Don't Fall and Scream, Aim, Fire via download, so I was slightly curious asThis was my first full Bullet album. I had classics such as Tears Don't Fall and Scream, Aim, Fire via download, so I was slightly curious as to whether or not buying their CD would make me a full-time fan. And it has! Nine out of the eleven songs are classic Bullet: Some belting anthems that would seem at home during any festival, mixed with some metal widdle-melodies to make any music lover shiver down their spine. But because of the two tracks that are stuck between good and average, it loses a point from me. Yet as I said, I am now a full Bullet fan, and i'm seeing them in December in London! Expand
  4. Jul 16, 2013
    8
    I'm not narrow minded, but my favorite two Bullet For My Valentine albums were their first. The Poison and Scream Aim Fire. However thatI'm not narrow minded, but my favorite two Bullet For My Valentine albums were their first. The Poison and Scream Aim Fire. However that doesn't mean to say that Fever is bad. After all, Bullet are the biggest metal band to come out of England since Iron Maiden. (Even though they're Welsh)

    Fever was a new approach to Bullet. At this point they changed a few things and how they approached the album, and all in all I thought Fever was great. Some iconic songs and some fantastic riffs, all of which are fun to play too! The only reason I didn't vote this higher is because I only really listen to this album a few times, It's not one of those I could listen to constantly as it does get a little boring. But they're all great songs, and seeing them live is just fantastic too!
    Expand
  5. Apr 15, 2011
    7
    This isnt their best album but its one of their best.Fever is my favorite song from this album and its not that great.They make good songs butThis isnt their best album but its one of their best.Fever is my favorite song from this album and its not that great.They make good songs but they should add more guitar. Expand
  6. Aug 22, 2013
    5
    I'll start this off by saying I used to like this band. The Poison and Scream Aim Fire are still in my catalog of music, and I still listen toI'll start this off by saying I used to like this band. The Poison and Scream Aim Fire are still in my catalog of music, and I still listen to them on occasion for nostalgia. However, this album was Bullet for my Valentine's sound going full on mainstream.

    Sure, Scream Aim Fire was the beginning of this trend, but it still retained traits of their earliest work. The furious vocals, guitar riffing and tolerable lyrical themes. Fever...has little of those traits left. The guitar work is still decent, and Matt Tuck's vocals are still good. However, this album in general is a big step backwards for the band. None of these songs, to me, are memorable. The only songs off of this album that I actually enjoyed were 'Your Betrayal' and 'Begging for Mercy'. The former for its melody, and the second for its hard hitting sound.

    The rest of the album, not a chance. For any big fan of the band that loves everything they ever release, this will be another keeper. For those who aren't fanatics for this band's sound, this will not be one you'll want to own. Listen to on rare occasions, sure. But own? Nah.
    Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2010
    2
    An issue with this album seems to be, that nothing changes. there is no advance through the album, and the only song that stands out as theirAn issue with this album seems to be, that nothing changes. there is no advance through the album, and the only song that stands out as their own and doesn't look like it would belong with another band is sadly Your Betrayal. Songs like Fever, while still being a well written song, seem to not lie in the realms of Bullet For My Valentine. This is a shame, because the same fate lies with Scream Aim Fire. The only album that appears to be anything over a 5 would be The Poison, but even that had its moments where you were left thinking "surely not".

    If Bullet are to carry on, and bring out a fourth album, then they need to review it themselves before deciding if it's right. If they can imagine another band, or singer, making a better job of the song, then they need to trash it and rewrite.

    Overall, Fever is a letdown to many, and it's just another BFMV album.
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews