Fever - Bullet For My Valentine
Fever Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Don Gilmore produced the third album for the Welsh heavy-metal band.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Fever is unlikely to win Bullet For My Valentine more respect amongst their peers, but this could be the album to persuade non-believers.
  2. Despite the lyrics failing to improve upon previous efforts, elsewhere Fever represents a significant step forward, and practically guarantees that BFMV will fulfil the expectations preceding its release.
  3. It's their confident leaning on heritage-metal in particular that sets Bullet For My Valentine apart from local contemporaries Funeral For A Friend and Lost Prophets, but it's also that strength that holds them back.
  4. Fun, but noisy enough to make your parents worry about your ears.
  5. This third album won't appease the doubters, the sound of their previous Billboard chart-crashing album now polished until it gleams like chrome. [Jun 2010, p.120]
  6. On Fever, it's all about the harmonized riffs and the high-flying melodies interlocking with the type of rhythmic thud that feels like it could move the earth--and the pop charts. [May 2010, p.104]
  7. Gilmore has merely rendered Fever more American market-friendly and given it a strong flavor of stateside nu-metal. It's a pattern that is just too repetitious, too anodyne and just plain insipid.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    A move away from their previous albums, Fever adds a more melodic touch to Bullet's sound. With some of the best individual tracks in years and a generally cohesive album format, this is up there as one of my favourite albums of all time. Collapse
  2. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Best Album ever. .
  3. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    Fever is one of my Favorite Bullet For My Valentine albums to date. With Tracks like Your Betrayal and Fever it really stands out in it's sound and it's lyrics. I'll be listening to this album for years to come. Expand
  4. Apr 15, 2011
    7
    This isnt their best album but its one of their best.Fever is my favorite song from this album and its not that great.They make good songs but they should add more guitar. Expand
  5. Aug 21, 2010
    6
    This album should come with a simple disclaimer. "Put on your seatbelt and turn up the volume"

    This beginning of this album is an absolute
    blitzkrieg of sound from track 1-4. After track four the band tries to be a little experimental and while that should come with some credit it just doesn't work.

    Any album that should be bought in singles only will take a hit but this band has the potential to be big.
    Expand
  6. Aug 22, 2013
    5
    I'll start this off by saying I used to like this band. The Poison and Scream Aim Fire are still in my catalog of music, and I still listen to them on occasion for nostalgia. However, this album was Bullet for my Valentine's sound going full on mainstream.

    Sure, Scream Aim Fire was the beginning of this trend, but it still retained traits of their earliest work. The furious vocals, guitar riffing and tolerable lyrical themes. Fever...has little of those traits left. The guitar work is still decent, and Matt Tuck's vocals are still good. However, this album in general is a big step backwards for the band. None of these songs, to me, are memorable. The only songs off of this album that I actually enjoyed were 'Your Betrayal' and 'Begging for Mercy'. The former for its melody, and the second for its hard hitting sound.

    The rest of the album, not a chance. For any big fan of the band that loves everything they ever release, this will be another keeper. For those who aren't fanatics for this band's sound, this will not be one you'll want to own. Listen to on rare occasions, sure. But own? Nah.
    Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2010
    2
    An issue with this album seems to be, that nothing changes. there is no advance through the album, and the only song that stands out as their own and doesn't look like it would belong with another band is sadly Your Betrayal. Songs like Fever, while still being a well written song, seem to not lie in the realms of Bullet For My Valentine. This is a shame, because the same fate lies with Scream Aim Fire. The only album that appears to be anything over a 5 would be The Poison, but even that had its moments where you were left thinking "surely not".

    If Bullet are to carry on, and bring out a fourth album, then they need to review it themselves before deciding if it's right. If they can imagine another band, or singer, making a better job of the song, then they need to trash it and rewrite.

    Overall, Fever is a letdown to many, and it's just another BFMV album.
    Expand

See all 14 User Reviews