Field of Reeds - These New Puritans
Field of Reeds Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length release for the British art rock band experiments with avant garde and classical music elements arranged with conductor André de Ridder and featuring guest appearances by Henry Lowther, Adrian Peacock, Elisa Rodrigues, and Michel van der Aa.
  • Record Label: PIAS
  • Genre(s): Electronic, Electronica, Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, New Wave/Post-Punk Revival
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    100
    Give yourself over to what’s not only a 21st-century masterpiece, but also something timeless that will resonate whenever you find it.
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    90
    Perhaps the great achievement is that, in delivering an album that invites close scrutiny, These New Puritans create an aural haven from the very lifestyle Field of Reeds challenges.
  3. Jun 14, 2013
    84
    While Field of Reeds is a mysterious album in many ways, what it makes clear is Barnett’s faith in the purity of sound, rather than words, to communicate.
  4. Jun 10, 2013
    80
    Ambition often manifests itself into self-indulgence, and from the off you're convinced Field Of Reed could slip into said territory. But it's an exceptional case, where its makers hit the jackpot, where imagination runs riot and gets away with every daring feat, each one more foolish than the previous.
  5. Jun 10, 2013
    80
    A tough one to make but astonishingly realised, Fields of Reeds is further evidence that they're out there, on their own. [Jul 2013, p.65]
  6. Pinned up and thoroughly artistic, Field of Reeds is affecting, but it’s also hard to get genuinely excited about.
  7. Jun 10, 2013
    60
    Another challenging but ultimately rewarding listen.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    I have enjoyed this album as much as it is possible to enjoy an album. With every listen it gets better, I don't know how they do it, but it's incredible. So F**king moving, but also so f**king confounding This should not be, but it is. 10/10 Expand
  2. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Britain's best band One of the worlds most interesting bands .One of the greatest albums of the decade so far .

    The title track closer is
    my favourite part of the whole thing. Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    Unapologetically high-minded and serious this album isn't populist, you won't be hearing any Field of Reeds ringtones or guest appearances on Britains Got Talent anytime soon, it's a channel where the glamour and clamour of pop music is barred and instead you can hear the music flow and grow, this is the hidden sound of contemporary England. Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    It took me awhile to get into the mood of this album. At first, it sounded all the same, and then I began to notice the different subtlety's in the musical tones - some quiet, some louder - and I liked it. (I made my first assessment of this album on what I heard on iTunes, but I realized you can't make a decision on iTunes sampling. There is so much more when I heard the whole thing.) This is an accomplished record. A step up from what this band has been progressing towards over the last 6 years. These New Puritans do so many understated yet wonderful things on this one. It's hard for me to describe. What will they come up with next? Expand
  5. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    Expectations are only a burden if you allow them to be. When I initially listened to "Hidden" in 2010, I was immediately hypnotized by "Time-Xone". I was unsure of what I was hearing, which made it enticing. Of course, all of the hype was instigating my curiosity. I wish I would have discovered Hidden unexpectedly. I was astonished by the music, the meaning of the lyrics came later. "Hidden" blew my mind. It was the music I dreamed of creating. My anticipation for "Field of Reeds" has been unbearable, but I can honestly say that TNP have constructed something that I cannot even begin to understand.

    I Listened to the album for the first time last night. Start to finish, on a high-quality tube amp sound system.
    My heart raced, my eyes watered, and my mind quenched for more when it was through. Every song has a deep purpose. There are subtle similarities found within each track that references the others which leads me to believe that there is a possibility of syncing tracks simultaneously. The explanation of the lyrics will come later when the Vinyl is delivered to my house. I have difficulty hearing some of the lyrics, I will need the lyrics that come with the Vinyl to help me follow along track by track. With "Hidden", each layer of lyrics unveiled itself at a very lethargic pace. While the music was furious, and eccentric, the lyrics were a mere whisper. Truth is, the lyrics are the most pro-founding aspect of "Hidden". There were no wasted words, and every phrase down to the syllable count vicariously echoed the meaning of the songs. I was floored by the level of Genius.
    "Field of Reeds" is eloquent, patient, and transcending. "there is something there" The flow of the songs free falls from your brain to your spine. You can feel the music. Body trembling bass notes, unique time signatures, and chill tingling trumpets fill your head, until the album ends and you are left, confused, baffled even. I would recommend this album to none, for discovery of a gem is much more satisfying than another's opinion leading you to it.

    I have now listened to "Field of Reeds" two times through. I have noticed that when the album finishes its course, the faint piano of "The Way I Do" begins to play in my head, almost as if it is beckoning me to listen again. While I can understand that few people have probably experienced this same revelation, the music on this album sticks with you. The quality of this music, is found in the person behind it.
    Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2014
    7
    Field of Reeds is one of the more unusual and inventive records of the year. While These New Puritans have very much crafted their own style and sound, Field of Reeds often brings to mind a cross between Sigur Ros and latter day Radiohead. This is a very intricate record with a sinister undertone that sucks you in and leaves you slightly disconcerted but always looking for more. Its an album that requires repeated listening in order to get a proper taste of it and I've enjoyed more and more with each listen. On the negative, I do feel the album never really lifts off and several of the tracks, despite being quite good, outstay their welcome as they never really progress into anything. An interesting and enjoyable listen that could have been even better. Expand
  7. Oct 5, 2014
    7
    Field of Reeds is a great album.
    It has orchestral arrangements, strange unique melodies and a well done mix. It also has the useless voice
    of the singer of the band, often ruining the songs (in their previous record the spoken vocals were appropriate and great for it).
    The album tend to be boring, and too difficult to listen to from start to finish, but in the end it's not a bad record and it has moments of pure bliss.
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews