Fijacion Oral Vol. 1

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Jun 7, 2005
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Just knowing Shakira is still in the world and capable of making albums as inspired and assured as "Fijacion Oral Vol 1" is like finding out ABBA are reforming or that the real Michael Jackson was kidnapped and replaced with an evil imposter shortly after making "Thriller".
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Shakira's finest work to date. [17 June 2005, p.79]
  3. Given the strength of this album, it's hard to wait for the second part to arrive.
  4. Shakira's bleating, biting voice is in fine form, and it gives the material an electric urgency.
  5. Shakira, of course, is unmistakable. But the coup is that each track is absolutely distinctive, even on several songs with no clear-cut choruses or hooks.
  6. The New York Times
    80
    She's a pop songwriter above all; the songs are catchy, with melodies good enough to tempt non-Spanish speakers to sing along. [13 Jun 2005]
  7. Blender
    80
    It's more consistent than Laundry Service, and maybe even more irresistible. [Jul 2005, p.120]
  8. So if you approach FijaciĆ³n Oral expecting it to be Laundry Service Revisited you will not be happy. If, on the other hand, you can just listen to it without holding a lot of preconceived "this is not what Shakira is supposed to sound like" ideas, you will have one hell of a good time.
  9. Tunes such as "Escondite Ingles" work in any language, mixing mad Latin percussion with big rock riffs and Carribbean rhythms.
  10. There's a light touch to ballads like "En Tus Pupilas" that's a world away from the Ricky Martinizing of Latin pop.
  11. Los Angeles Times
    63
    By inviting us to fixate on the words her mouth emits, Shakira puts a spotlight on the work's weakest link -- its lyrics. [26 Jun 2005]
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 189 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 95
  2. Negative: 4 out of 95
  1. DarrenR
    Aug 26, 2008
    10
    I think it's interesting how the average score given to this album by critics is over 10% lower than the user score . . . in my opinion I think it's interesting how the average score given to this album by critics is over 10% lower than the user score . . . in my opinion this is evidence that critics don't always know what they're talking about. This album is destined to be a classic in every sense, more than can be said about just about every album released in the last several years. There are other artists who may be more popular (though that's hard to imagine in this case, at least internationally), or more critically acclaimed, but most of them get dull after repeated listenings. This album gets better every time I hear it, something that I can say about very few albums at all (and something that surprises me greatly given the way Shakira's music is packaged to American audiences like it's no different from any other pop singer like [insert random female pop singer here]). Such a classification of her music might make sense if you're talking about her English-language stuff, but her voice really works much better speaking her native language and combined with her songwriting abilities puts this album on an entirely different level. Full Review »
  2. NickM.
    Jun 3, 2007
    10
    I don't speak much spanish, so i really have no clue what the lyrics mean, but Shakira's voice is so amazing that it doesn't I don't speak much spanish, so i really have no clue what the lyrics mean, but Shakira's voice is so amazing that it doesn't really matter, i can still feel the emotion thats in every lyric without knowing what they mean......the songs also have a very catchy and exciting beat, its awesome. Full Review »
  3. AndrewR
    Feb 15, 2006
    10
    Absolutely stunning. I don't speak Spanish, but this connected with me hard; I can only imagine how much more it would impact me if I Absolutely stunning. I don't speak Spanish, but this connected with me hard; I can only imagine how much more it would impact me if I knew the language. Full Review »