Fijacion Oral Vol. 1

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Jun 7, 2005
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 176 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 176

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DarrenR
    Aug 26, 2008
    10
    I think it's interesting how the average score given to this album by critics is over 10% lower than the user score . . . in my opinion this is evidence that critics don't always know what they're talking about. This album is destined to be a classic in every sense, more than can be said about just about every album released in the last several years. There are other I think it's interesting how the average score given to this album by critics is over 10% lower than the user score . . . in my opinion this is evidence that critics don't always know what they're talking about. This album is destined to be a classic in every sense, more than can be said about just about every album released in the last several years. There are other artists who may be more popular (though that's hard to imagine in this case, at least internationally), or more critically acclaimed, but most of them get dull after repeated listenings. This album gets better every time I hear it, something that I can say about very few albums at all (and something that surprises me greatly given the way Shakira's music is packaged to American audiences like it's no different from any other pop singer like [insert random female pop singer here]). Such a classification of her music might make sense if you're talking about her English-language stuff, but her voice really works much better speaking her native language and combined with her songwriting abilities puts this album on an entirely different level. Expand
  2. johnm
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    her best work until now. every song helps you in a specific period of time in your life cause every song has its own rithm and its lirics, even if you don`t understand them, give a new point of view of life. wonderful work. the waiting for listening a new shakira`s spanish album was worth it.
  3. SergeyS
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    One of the two strongest works to date (the second one being Donde Estan Los Ladrones) from quite easily the most talented pop musician that's ever existed. And I mean "pop" in a good way, as a characteristic of extreme versatility and exquisite taste for beautiful melody. Her level of involvement in the music she makes is astonishing. More than anyone else these days, she can be One of the two strongest works to date (the second one being Donde Estan Los Ladrones) from quite easily the most talented pop musician that's ever existed. And I mean "pop" in a good way, as a characteristic of extreme versatility and exquisite taste for beautiful melody. Her level of involvement in the music she makes is astonishing. More than anyone else these days, she can be called the one and only author of her albums, and this yet increases my fascination with this latest work of hers. The melodies are unearthly, her unbelievably mature, amazing vocal stretches from whisper to unreachible hights in one phrase, the production is first-class, the lyrics (if you care reading translations on DualDisk or on the web) could be published as a book in their own right... And all of this is under her control, even the CD sleeves. Simply stunning. Expand
  4. DavidB
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    GREATTTTT
  5. sedwards
    Jul 21, 2005
    10
    In a world where most artists are media-created,shakira proves that talent exists.Very often,follow-up albums sound similar.Am happy to see that each song is individual and original,just like shakira.....
  6. basilior
    Nov 1, 2005
    9
    it was not groundbreaking, but every song was distinctly different and well-crafted, while letting the album be just of beauty. yes, definitely a beautiful ablbum
  7. PaulV
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    This is definetly Shakira's best album to date. The diversity is overwhelming and her striking, powerfull voice sounds better than ever. From the 60s bossa nova in Obtener un si to theSpanish punk in Escondite Ingles and from the South American accordeon in LA Tortura to the 80s pop beat in LAs de la intuicion. This album is just brilliant! To me the best any artist has ever made!
  8. DavidC.
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    This will become a classic spanish album, no doubt. No spanish album collection can be complete without it. It is so different from what we're usually accustomed to in latin music. Shakira is a great lyricist and this is very evident on this album. She is very ecclectic and succeeds in every genre she tackles in these songs. The best tracks are En tus pupilas, La pared (both This will become a classic spanish album, no doubt. No spanish album collection can be complete without it. It is so different from what we're usually accustomed to in latin music. Shakira is a great lyricist and this is very evident on this album. She is very ecclectic and succeeds in every genre she tackles in these songs. The best tracks are En tus pupilas, La pared (both versions), La tortura, No, Dia especial and Dia de enero. Although these are my favs, I must stress that every song is a good listen and that it's impossible to want to skip any of them. Even if you don't understand spanish, the music in itself is enough to want the album and the emotion she expresses is unlike no other pop music artist. If you absolutely need to know what she's saying, there are translations on her official website and DualDisc version of the album. You will not regret buying this album... I promise!!!! Expand
  9. RandyB
    Jun 26, 2005
    10
    The beauty of this record is staggering. Shakira's poetry is amazing, as is her uniquely incredible voice, which hovers and croons on every song, making them drip with emotional believability. Although most of the tracks here have something to do with love or the loss of it, they are intelligent and (again) beautiful instead of being boring and sappy. Moving and exquisite, Fijacion The beauty of this record is staggering. Shakira's poetry is amazing, as is her uniquely incredible voice, which hovers and croons on every song, making them drip with emotional believability. Although most of the tracks here have something to do with love or the loss of it, they are intelligent and (again) beautiful instead of being boring and sappy. Moving and exquisite, Fijacion Oral vol. 1 is undeniably one of the best albums of 2005, and leaves you thristing for its counterpart, Oral Fixation vol 2, due in November. The wait is almost unbearable. Expand
  10. NickM.
    Jun 3, 2007
    10
    I don't speak much spanish, so i really have no clue what the lyrics mean, but Shakira's voice is so amazing that it doesn't really matter, i can still feel the emotion thats in every lyric without knowing what they mean......the songs also have a very catchy and exciting beat, its awesome.
  11. brianc.
    Aug 15, 2005
    10
    she's beautiful and have a beatiful voice too.
  12. AndrewR
    Feb 15, 2006
    10
    Absolutely stunning. I don't speak Spanish, but this connected with me hard; I can only imagine how much more it would impact me if I knew the language.
  13. carolineb
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    is one of the best spanish record in some many times , i love her music
  14. JohnU
    Jun 24, 2005
    10
    wow, nice work, great songs!!!
  15. HéctorR
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    an excellent album
  16. EduardoQ
    Jun 25, 2005
    10
    I love this Cd.
  17. Carlos
    Jun 26, 2005
    10
    Sensational!
  18. JoseC
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    Amazing, complete album. Shakira shows her talent as a producer, musician, writer, singer, dancer...anything. This girl is for sure multi-talented, what a gift, huh? so young ans so talented. *claps* deserves 10 even more if I could.
  19. andresa
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    It is an amazin album, im waiting for oral fixation vol. 2
  20. ArelisM
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    I love this CD the songs are beautiful and her voice is just incredible, I think is her best musical work.
  21. RamonG
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    This album in one off the best albums of Shakiras career. i really love it.
  22. richardr
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    real poetry, excelent music, dance like no other, and beauty. cant'n ask for more!!!
  23. jhonp
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    she shows versatility and the power of her voice in every song. I'd never bought a spanish cd up until now.
  24. JESSICAB
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    lovely
  25. RimasM
    Jun 19, 2005
    10
    It's a wonderful album!!! Go girl!!!
  26. elsya
    Jun 19, 2005
    10
    shakira is great, as her name full of grace.
  27. JorgeS
    Jun 19, 2005
    10
    She's pretty, her music is nice and this C.D is diferent and special, this is good.
  28. SergioG
    Jul 2, 2005
    10
    Another great one by Shakira!
  29. miker
    Jul 21, 2005
    10
    F.O.1. shows the evolution Shakira made in past four years. Always including the traditional rhythems of Colombia (andinan music), Argentina (tango), Brazil (Bosa Nova) etc. Obtener Un Si in my opinion, is the best balad since (Pies Descalzos) Antologia.
  30. KariR.
    Jul 29, 2005
    10
    this is by far the best CD she has done in her career. My favorite song is "Tus Pupilas," so roomantic and of course I can't forget "No," beautiful video, I almost cried. ahh! Recommend this CD for sure!!!
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Given the strength of this album, it's hard to wait for the second part to arrive.
  2. Shakira's bleating, biting voice is in fine form, and it gives the material an electric urgency.
  3. Shakira, of course, is unmistakable. But the coup is that each track is absolutely distinctive, even on several songs with no clear-cut choruses or hooks.