Fin

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
Buy On
  1. Feb 28, 2012
    60
    The album as a whole abounds with effective, intriguing atmospherics. It's just that, for all its potential, Fin is merely fine.
  2. Feb 27, 2012
    60
    There's no distinct personality to be heard, or the kind of dynamic ideas that could give it the ability to totally dominate a room.
  3. Q Magazine
    Feb 22, 2012
    60
    He likes to temper the euphoria with a much darker undertow. [Mar 2012, p.112]
  4. Uncut
    Feb 8, 2012
    60
    His blend of house and Eurodisco soon settles into a bland formula of bittersweet Balearic fare. [Mar 2011, p.98]
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    I've never been a huge fan of house, but John Talabot has made an album that completely breaks down the barriers that I felt restricted houseI've never been a huge fan of house, but John Talabot has made an album that completely breaks down the barriers that I felt restricted house to begin with. This is much more than just a dance record. Fin has a dark undertone to the album, and every song has plenty of shifts and surprises. The songs blend together beautifully, and every track is unique in it's own way without sacrificing the cohesiveness of the album. I am a fan of electronic music, and there are certainly plenty of electronic elements to this album. It's dance music with an emotional punch, which is very hard to find. This album could be played at a club OR late night/after work when you just want to relax and chill out at home. Fin (and John Talabot for that matter) came out of nowhere, but I am instantly a fan. Frontrunner for album of the year so far, and the bar is set pretty high. Full Review »
  2. May 26, 2013
    10
    Unlike anything I have listened too, Talabot combines tribal nuances into a mysterious and dark electronic sound scape. Talabots sound isUnlike anything I have listened too, Talabot combines tribal nuances into a mysterious and dark electronic sound scape. Talabots sound is unique, and l the control which he exerts over his progressive rhythms and synthesizers is masterful. My favorite album of the year so far. Full Review »
  3. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    This album is great, it's the kind of record that makes you wish there were more of it's kind. It's immersive, seductive and chill, but youThis album is great, it's the kind of record that makes you wish there were more of it's kind. It's immersive, seductive and chill, but you can also dance to it. Full Review »