Fin - John Talabot
Fin Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut full-length release for the Barcelona-based house producer John Talabot.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    100
    Talabot has a knack for capturing the very specific kind of bliss associated with dancing on Mediterranean beaches at the height of summer.
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    90
    A remarkably assured and instinctive piece of work, one that speaks of good times on the dancefloor while not being afraid to throw in more poignant and affecting emotions, all wrapped up in clothing that falls nicely on an ambient blend of disco and house.
  3. Feb 10, 2012
    90
    Without a doubt an early contender for electronic album of the year.
  4. Feb 13, 2012
    80
    It is often difficult for dance producers to go from making one off tracks and remixes to producing a full coherent and lucid album, but it is a jump that John Talabot has made effortlessly.
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    80
    Modestly anthemic and quietly anthemic, ƒIN is worth the time of any music fan that considers themselves in the slightest bit interested in electronic music.
  6. Feb 17, 2012
    80
    Despite its patchier moments, fIN's effective command of light and shade make for an involving listen, and it's a sound that's pretty much Talabot's own.
  7. Feb 8, 2012
    60
    His blend of house and Eurodisco soon settles into a bland formula of bittersweet Balearic fare. [Mar 2011, p.98]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    Excellent. This album doesn't need to be broken in......instantly it grabs you. Smooth music with subtle shifts which make you keep coming back for more. Best so far for 2012 Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    I've never been a huge fan of house, but John Talabot has made an album that completely breaks down the barriers that I felt restricted house to begin with. This is much more than just a dance record. Fin has a dark undertone to the album, and every song has plenty of shifts and surprises. The songs blend together beautifully, and every track is unique in it's own way without sacrificing the cohesiveness of the album. I am a fan of electronic music, and there are certainly plenty of electronic elements to this album. It's dance music with an emotional punch, which is very hard to find. This album could be played at a club OR late night/after work when you just want to relax and chill out at home. Fin (and John Talabot for that matter) came out of nowhere, but I am instantly a fan. Frontrunner for album of the year so far, and the bar is set pretty high. Collapse
  3. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    this album is so far my favorite of 2012, so amazing, so great feelings when I hear this album, and very beautiful sounds,dark, mystery, sexiness, smooth tones.. and of course I wanna dance Expand
  4. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    This album is great, it's the kind of record that makes you wish there were more of it's kind. It's immersive, seductive and chill, but you can also dance to it. Expand
  5. May 26, 2013
    10
    Unlike anything I have listened too, Talabot combines tribal nuances into a mysterious and dark electronic sound scape. Talabots sound is unique, and l the control which he exerts over his progressive rhythms and synthesizers is masterful. My favorite album of the year so far. Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2012
    9
    A really catchy dance record that is both nostalgic and contemporary. Talabot is a master at maintaining rhythm and tone throughout the album. The lowpoint is 'journeys' but thats a small price to pay in exchange for gems like destiny and oro y sangre. Expand
  7. Apr 26, 2012
    8
    "Fin" is the debut album by John Talabot. From Barcelona. Hause one. Excellent. What else can we say about it? Climate - it has - no doubt, but any description of electronic music is wrong - because this record can be assessed only after hearing a whole material. Each song is an accumulation of sounds which carry all sorts of emotions - sometimes they are slightly galactic compositions ("El Oeste", "Depak Ine"), sometimes they derive from other styles: from hip hop "Last Land", through ethnic "HORSE" or "Journeys" created in cooperation with Ekhi. On LP we'll find, of course strictly house compositions: great "Destiny", or "Sun Will Be Now" - both featuring Pional. Very solid debut. Expand

Related Articles

  1. The Freshman 15: 2012's Best Debut Albums

    The Freshman 15: 2012's Best Debut Albums Image
    Published: December 18, 2012
    It's time for our annual list of the best debut albums of the year. This year's roster is led by UK singer-songwriter Jessie Ware, but features artists from across Europe and North America. Spotify users can even listen to most of the albums on the list.