Final Straw

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 48
  3. Negative: 3 out of 48

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DuncanE
    May 8, 2004
    10
    A hugely impressive third album. The lyrics, mainly about a love that can ruin your life are superb and mixing them with well put together aggressive melodies make this album one to cherish. Run is sure to become an epic song for the ages with the other singles; Chocolate and (hopefully) Spitting games are equally good.
  2. honzau
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!!
  3. PhilD
    May 7, 2006
    9
    Snow Patrol have managed to maintain their originality, whilst successfully engaging the "mainstream" pop/rock crowd. A fantastic album, with all the right words and all the right sounds. It's what anyone with a beating heart would love to hear.
  4. [Anonymous]
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    Beautiful album, especially considering it was one of those "it's only £7.99, why not?" accidents! Superb lyrics and at least a few hit singles on there... Worth checking the Reindeer Section albums too.
  5. JamesH
    Apr 6, 2004
    9
    Great live band & a brilliant album - also check 'Songs for Polarbears' and 'When its all over we still have to clear up'...
  6. Sami
    May 1, 2004
    10
    I fell in love with this album the first time I heard it, and that doesn't happen often! Brilliant lyrics and melodies. Overall it's a very beautiful album full of songs that I'm sure everyone can relate to at some point or another.
  7. JJJ
    Sep 14, 2004
    9
    This is a gorgeous CD, I just can't stop listening to it. I don't understand the coldplay comparisons though!
  8. ElizabethP
    Oct 13, 2005
    9
    This is definitely an acquired taste. But once you give this album a second or third listen then you fall in love with it. Terrific and a much better band than Coldplay.
  9. DavidA
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    Who needs still Coldplay and Radiohead when you have them!
  10. Chrystal
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    Great album. Can they get any better? Final straw has to be one of the best albums ever. Every song is perfect in its own way. All I have to say is that these are very talented singers.
  11. AaronG
    Oct 1, 2006
    9
    Very good, some awesome songs, but all in all very listenable.
  12. MichaelK
    Mar 15, 2004
    8
    Catchy melodies, decent lyrics and guitars. What else do you want? If you like bands like Coldplay, Travis and U2 you won't go wrong with this.
  13. DavidM
    Apr 27, 2004
    9
    Don't compare to Coldplay, this is about pop/rock feeling secure with addictive hooks, zappy electronic noodling and heart-on-the-sleeve ballads. Discovered these guys from the kitschy Fame-like flick CAMP. Bound from my best of 04 list.
  14. stevel
    Jan 24, 2005
    10
    Their first two albums were great,experimental indie try outs for what becomes 'Final Straws' great leap into the credible and obviously well thought out direction into which Gary Lightbody and the gang wanted all along.Its a triumph of oozing,rocking,pulsating and heartfelt cool...without the trying to be so. Just how cool is that ! !
  15. BrendenB
    Feb 27, 2005
    8
    Slightly underdeveloped but the general concept shines through. A very clear vision of an album that catches on more after each listen.
  16. ChrisY.
    May 1, 2005
    9
    Great album with nice kickback music to listen to while doing work or just relaxing.
  17. Kitty
    May 14, 2005
    10
    Amazing, a mixture of great songs, from upbeat to great ballads like run. the vocals are excellent and make this band one of the best around.
  18. ScottY
    Jul 9, 2005
    9
    Wow! Where has this band been all my life. This is a really solid effort, with a fantastic middle, especially the song Chocolate. I'm going to dig up their other albums based on this one.
  19. AngelaH
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    fantastic!
  20. StefanH
    Jun 13, 2006
    9
    Well, what a wonderful discovery this was. After being pretty much disappointed by Coldplay
  21. peter
    Dec 30, 2004
    9
    awesome album
  22. Rubberchicken
    Mar 13, 2004
    10
    my second favourite CD of 2003 after 'phaser - sway'. final straw is a well crafted album from start to finish - amazing lyrics, singing even amazing backing vocals layed with captivating and innovative guitar parts, very indie rock but with amazing production as well. a must have CD.
  23. NolanS
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    Great Playthough Album! The decent songs are good, and the good songs are amazing. A must have in every collection.
  24. nicnic
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    Greatest. CD. Ever. Not kidding. This is the only CD I can remeber purchasing were all of the track are not only good, but phenomenal! A must have for any fan of Indie Rock.
  25. May 24, 2012
    8
    After 2 averagely good Indie albums it was do or die time for the Northern Irish outfit when they were releasing their 3rd record Final Straw. This is the record that introduced the vast majority of people to Snow Patrol and along with Eyes Open I think it's their best work. Unlike their more recent work, it's not just the singles that are sharp on Final Straw. It has some mega hits on itAfter 2 averagely good Indie albums it was do or die time for the Northern Irish outfit when they were releasing their 3rd record Final Straw. This is the record that introduced the vast majority of people to Snow Patrol and along with Eyes Open I think it's their best work. Unlike their more recent work, it's not just the singles that are sharp on Final Straw. It has some mega hits on it but some of the albums tracks are just as engaging. The tunes are rocking and up tempo, the lyrics refrain from sopiness and the production is just right - not too raw and not over cooked. Chocolate, How to Be Dead and Spitting Games still all sound great today. Overplay has kind of ruined Run for me. When it's all over... was a huge progression from Songs for Polar Bears. Final Straw is an equally huge progression from it's predecessor. Eyes Open was a successfull attempt to consolidate the success of Final Straw but since then the bands albums have been disappointing overall, especially when you listen to this Expand
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. The fact that the music, vocals and melodies are stunning is just icing on the cake - a cake that is crumbling before your eyes.
  2. Snow Patrol sound terribly awkward when they play loud and fast.
  3. Uncut
    80
    A remarkable return. [Oct 2003, p.130]