Finally Famous

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Jun 28, 2011
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 75
  2. Negative: 17 out of 75
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 2, 2011
    5
    For a first album this is Ok at best. This album is way to commercial, it sounds like he tried to be creative like Kanye but failed to meet Kanye's great productivity and lyrics. The album has its good songs but also has a few terrible ones. His lyrics are ok, what really makes this album an ok album is his fun word play. In songs like "dance a$$" "I do it" he shows that greatly. OverallFor a first album this is Ok at best. This album is way to commercial, it sounds like he tried to be creative like Kanye but failed to meet Kanye's great productivity and lyrics. The album has its good songs but also has a few terrible ones. His lyrics are ok, what really makes this album an ok album is his fun word play. In songs like "dance a$$" "I do it" he shows that greatly. Overall the album was just Ok but a good start to an artist who will be in the rap scene for a minute. Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    6
    I do really like this album don't get me wrong, I gave it a 6 only because I like his mixtapes better. But I do it, Marvin & Chardonnay, and Dance (A$$) are the sh*t!!!
  3. Feb 7, 2012
    4
    Imma big fan Of Big Sean. But this debut really wasnt good only good songs were, I Do It, 100 Keys, & High. His finally famous mixtapes are better than this album. If Big Sean wants to be up top as one of the greatest Rappers then he should hit the studio and write the lyrics as if it was a mixtape
  4. Jan 5, 2012
    4
    Big Sean is fun and energetic at his very best, but he is easily outclassed by his guest stars and is to quick to use the commonplace rap subjects. And the less I say about "Dance", the better.
  5. Mar 26, 2015
    6
    6.4/10................................................................................................................................................
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    50
    Finally Famous is sporadically fun but adds nothing to the ongoing evolution of hip hop, in the mainstream down.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    Aug 10, 2011
    83
    His debut is a charming start, chronicling his journey from pauper to hip-hop prince. [1 Jul 2011, p.74]
  3. Aug 4, 2011
    80
    No doubt about it, Finally Famous is full of good music.