Finally Famous - Big Sean
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 53
  2. Negative: 8 out of 53

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 8, 2011
    7
    Review: Finally Famous - Big Sean Big Sean goes for it all to show everyone that he is a serious contender in the rap scene with his 2011 album Finally Famous. The young MC from Detroit has the radio in a buzz over the bouncing beats and catchy hooks. It is easy to say that his career has only began and that will definitely last.  I first gave in to the hype and observantlyReview: Finally Famous - Big Sean Big Sean goes for it all to show everyone that he is a serious contender in the rap scene with his 2011 album Finally Famous. The young MC from Detroit has the radio in a buzz over the bouncing beats and catchy hooks. It is easy to say that his career has only began and that will definitely last.  I first gave in to the hype and observantly listed to his cameos in Kanye's Good Friday weekly singles. After listening carefully I could truly admitting that he has truly talented flow. That convinced me to listen to his  Finally Famous Vol. 3  mix tape. It had its moments, so that led me to finally listen to for the first time on his long-awaited and fully hyped  Finally Famous album.

    The albums starts of with â
    Expand
  2. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    This is album is a great debut album for this young emcee, it has lyricism (Much More), wordplay (I Do It), mainstream songs (My Last), Party Songs (Marvin Gaye & Chardonnay) and surreal songs (Memories). This album is definitely for the summer and he was nowhere to go but up
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    This was a great album Sean displays strong verses the beats are incredible and you can really hear the joy of the artist's in his songs. The album is about him overcoming hardships and finally getting to what he claims to be as the utmost success of his life. Almost every song is good except Dance (A$$) but overall great debut album.
  4. Jul 8, 2011
    0
    Awful, commercialized, played out. Not sure how a song like Marvin Gaye and Chardonnay could be inspired by the aforementioned artist, but that pretty much sums up the motives of the album; created for the masses, cold, and not heartfelt by any means. For all the talking Sean does about being grateful and representing for Detroit, the only thing this album really reflects is his unabashedAwful, commercialized, played out. Not sure how a song like Marvin Gaye and Chardonnay could be inspired by the aforementioned artist, but that pretty much sums up the motives of the album; created for the masses, cold, and not heartfelt by any means. For all the talking Sean does about being grateful and representing for Detroit, the only thing this album really reflects is his unabashed craving for the limelight and his desire to achieve that by the easiest and most soul-less means necessary. A couple songs try to give that heartfelt vibe (Memories, So Much More), but those tracks are quickly demolished by trash like Dance (one of the worst and most degrading songs of the year) and 100 keys (which actually features a guy less sincere than Sean, officer Ricky). In the end even the heartfelt tracks have a cold and removed vibe to them, it seems fake, there's no real soul in the music. One thing I can say for sure, Marvin Gaye would not be impressed, and clearly neither was I. Expand
  5. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    OMG, I loved this album!!! Big sean is great!!! The songs are so catchy and his voice is amazing. He is definitely not just a cute face. I'm officially a Big Sean fan.
  6. Feb 6, 2014
    0
    Genre: Rap
    I'm not exactly a fan of this music genre but I can appreciate certain artists. Finally Famous however is just a terrible album and features possibly the worst song I've ever had the misfortune to listen to in Dance A$$ (not only is it painful to listen to but the lyrics are simply embarrassing).

    If this is what rap scene is offering nowadays then I'll pass thank you.
  7. Jun 29, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. http://cviewsonmusic.wordpress.com/
    About two weeks ago, Big Seans debut album Finally Famous: The Album leaked online and like many in the music community who donâ
    Expand
  8. Jun 30, 2011
    8
    This is one of the best mainstream-sounding albums to come out this year. At the very minimum, make sure you download "Wait For Me"--definitely one of the best tracks I've heard in a while.
  9. Jul 2, 2011
    8
    Some expected better of Big Sean's debut on his newest and first album, Finally Famous, but in my opinion... it's great. While some of the songs on the album sound like typical rap songs, the majority maintain solid beats. Actually, some of the best beats to fill and album I've seen to date. To put it simply, Big Sean has just started, and he already has a great future ahead of him.
  10. Jul 10, 2011
    8
    This album is definitely a mainstream success fit for summer. The overall mood is very happy and thankfull. I think the greatest thing about Big Sean is how humble he is, he truly loves his fans as much as they love him and on this album he basks in the moment. Not a perfect debut, very feature heavy, on many songs the mixing/mastering is off, and lyrically this is just average for SeanThis album is definitely a mainstream success fit for summer. The overall mood is very happy and thankfull. I think the greatest thing about Big Sean is how humble he is, he truly loves his fans as much as they love him and on this album he basks in the moment. Not a perfect debut, very feature heavy, on many songs the mixing/mastering is off, and lyrically this is just average for Sean compared to his mixtapes, but you can't deny the fun and happiness this album creates. And hey that's what life is about right? Expand
  11. Sep 2, 2011
    5
    For a first album this is Ok at best. This album is way to commercial, it sounds like he tried to be creative like Kanye but failed to meet Kanye's great productivity and lyrics. The album has its good songs but also has a few terrible ones. His lyrics are ok, what really makes this album an ok album is his fun word play. In songs like "dance a$$" "I do it" he shows that greatly. OverallFor a first album this is Ok at best. This album is way to commercial, it sounds like he tried to be creative like Kanye but failed to meet Kanye's great productivity and lyrics. The album has its good songs but also has a few terrible ones. His lyrics are ok, what really makes this album an ok album is his fun word play. In songs like "dance a$$" "I do it" he shows that greatly. Overall the album was just Ok but a good start to an artist who will be in the rap scene for a minute. Expand
  12. Feb 8, 2012
    6
    I do really like this album don't get me wrong, I gave it a 6 only because I like his mixtapes better. But I do it, Marvin & Chardonnay, and Dance (A$$) are the sh*t!!!
  13. Feb 7, 2012
    4
    Imma big fan Of Big Sean. But this debut really wasnt good only good songs were, I Do It, 100 Keys, & High. His finally famous mixtapes are better than this album. If Big Sean wants to be up top as one of the greatest Rappers then he should hit the studio and write the lyrics as if it was a mixtape
  14. Jan 5, 2012
    4
    Big Sean is fun and energetic at his very best, but he is easily outclassed by his guest stars and is to quick to use the commonplace rap subjects. And the less I say about "Dance", the better.
  15. Feb 7, 2012
    7
    Big Sean definitely started his career on the right note with this album. It may not be the best ever made, but it definitely put everyone on alert and made us realize this guy's for real!
  16. Jul 23, 2014
    7
    Finally Famous is a thoroughly enjoyable album to listen to, despite many imperfections. The production was upbeat and high quality throughout, however the features are hit-or-miss. Also, the lyrics hold Big Sean back from being a more exciting young rapper. He's more talented than the radio-friendly hooks and self-absorbed lyrics would suggest.. After listening to this album, I'd view BigFinally Famous is a thoroughly enjoyable album to listen to, despite many imperfections. The production was upbeat and high quality throughout, however the features are hit-or-miss. Also, the lyrics hold Big Sean back from being a more exciting young rapper. He's more talented than the radio-friendly hooks and self-absorbed lyrics would suggest.. After listening to this album, I'd view Big Sean's ceiling as an upper-echelon pop rapper along the lines of Wiz Khalifa or Drake. ~ 6.5/10 ~ with deluxe tracks: 6.3/10

    Best track: "Wait For Me" ft. Lupe Fiasco: The production, the flow, the emotion, and a Lupe Fiasco verse adds up to the only elite song on this album.
    Expand
  17. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    All songs were great. Solid classical beats. Good rhymes. Amazing freshman album. Expect a lot out of Big Sean on Hall of Fame. He'll be one of the greatest when it's all said and done.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    50
    Finally Famous is sporadically fun but adds nothing to the ongoing evolution of hip hop, in the mainstream down.
  2. 83
    His debut is a charming start, chronicling his journey from pauper to hip-hop prince. [1 Jul 2011, p.74]
  3. Aug 4, 2011
    80
    No doubt about it, Finally Famous is full of good music.