Finally Rich - Chief Keef
Finally Rich Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut full-length studio album for the Chicago rapper includes guest appearances from such artist as 50 Cent, French Montana, Lil Reese, Rick Ross, Wiz Khalifa, and Young Jeezy.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Feb 28, 2013
    80
    Keef [has] formidable talent for writing hooks (and tracks) that are both naggingly catchy and strangely joyless. [Feb 2013, p.61]
  2. Dec 18, 2012
    75
    Finally Rich benefits from some professional tweaks in the mix, but otherwise leaves Keef's sound untouched. And in addition to succeeding on its own terms, it proves that Keef has a lot of potential-- much more than his detractors might have hoped.
  3. Dec 18, 2012
    60
    On Finally Rich he continues to execute a his niche sound, and at a high level.
  4. Feb 21, 2013
    60
    Production from the likes of Young Chop, Mike Will Made It, and Lex Luger propel Finally Rich since it's evident that Chief Keef cares just as much about precise lyricism as he does about keeping the peace on the Southside of Chicago. [Feb-Mar 2013, p.91]
  5. Dec 18, 2012
    50
    When Finally Rich works (and it often does), it's thanks to everyone other than Chief Keef.
  6. Dec 19, 2012
    50
    No amount of street cred can make up for this mostly middling, only intermittently marvellous record.
  7. Jan 24, 2013
    40
    A hardened, firsthand account of the preordained dire straits of the American underclass, and Waka Flocka Flame-indebted boast talk minus the charisma.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 9 out of 17
  1. May 3, 2014
    8
    Chief Keef does what he does best: Riding incredible beat with exceptional flow.

    If you go into every hip-hop release anticipating Black
    Star-level social commentary you shouldn't listen to this.

    If you listen to this project expecting trap-bangers, you'll have a great time.

    The obvious star of this project is clearly the production (mostly handled by the incredibly talented Young Chop), but something about Chief Keef is special. Of course, the lyrics aren't really great in the usual sense, but Keef rides these trap-beats like no other. Catchy, melodic and at times hilarious.

    This project seems to be getting a lot of flak for it's brashness, by people who don't seem to be letting the record do what it does: bang. If you're not open minded you shouldn't visit this project.
    Expand
  2. Jan 24, 2013
    7
    Not nearly as bad as people are saying, or repeating. The positive professional reviews seem to explain it well enough, especially Pitchfork and the LA Times. Expand
  3. Dec 26, 2012
    6
    If youre looking for another GKMC or even F & L 2, youve already made your first mistake. Chief Keef knows his lane and isnt trying to step out of that by trying to be more complex/lyrical than what he already is(nt). With that being said, Finally Rich is a fun, solid album. Catchy song after catchy song. The album includes many of Keefs career highlights, such as "I Dont Like", "Understand Me", and "3Hunna". Songs somewhat sound the same, which may have something to do with Keefs tone and delivery throughout.
    Although "Citgo", the best song on the album, stands out. The soft, blissful beat is addicting. And Keef singing adlibs is quite hilarious. Speaking of hilarious, "Laughing To The Bank" is another one of the albums best songs. "Finally Rich" is just bad. The song sounds incomplete. Yea the rapping doest meet requirements, at all, but youll still find yourself singing along while blasting this in your car or headphones.
    Top Songs:
    "No Tomorrow"
    "Laughing To The Bank"
    "Understand Me"
    "Citgo"
    Collapse
  4. Dec 19, 2012
    3
    I thought this was going to be a much better album, but this album has turned out to be crap! He has like three songs on here that are decent and that laughing to the bank song is the worst, he ain't even making sense in it! Garbage Expand
  5. Dec 23, 2012
    1
    I picked this up because I bought a bit into the hype...but imagine my horror when my ears were exposed to weak ass raps and horrible beats. To be honest I am not surprised he didnt fill the album up with a few different remixes of I dont like....career over before you can say soldja boy Expand
  6. Jan 10, 2013
    0
    I'm sure everyone has trouble understanding Chief Keef. Production is trash, i wasn't looking for an incredible lyricist but dude just says more random **** than 2 Chainz, except without humour. even hooks are terrible. I 1st listened to this after i found out Love Sosa was supposed to be on GTAV and I was dissapointed with the album giving me 45 min of painful trap **** Expand
  7. Jan 4, 2013
    0
    It's sad what kind of music youth are being brought up to enjoy today. Chief Keef is one of the worst artists known to man and can barely rap, let alone create a song. No stars ever. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews