• Record Label: Wind-Up
  • Release Date: Oct 23, 2007
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 92 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 92
  2. Negative: 22 out of 92

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. H.
    Nov 13, 2007
    0
    This is an awful album. It is time that Seether retired and called it a day.
  2. Aug 2, 2011
    9
    These negative reviews are ridiculous. This is Seether's best overall album. It's FULL of GREAT tracks. These people need to stop disliking music because they think it's played out or they think that it's not underground enough or it's too commercial. You posers have tone deaf ears and you can't HEAR right. A bunch of delusional wanna-bes, I swear. Here's my thoughts on each song: 6 GunThese negative reviews are ridiculous. This is Seether's best overall album. It's FULL of GREAT tracks. These people need to stop disliking music because they think it's played out or they think that it's not underground enough or it's too commercial. You posers have tone deaf ears and you can't HEAR right. A bunch of delusional wanna-bes, I swear. Here's my thoughts on each song: 6 Gun Quota - 9 / Breakdown - 10 / Don't Believe - 6 / Eyes of the Devil - 9 / Fake It - 8 / Fallen - 7 / FMLYHM - 8 / Like Suicice - 10 / No Jesus Christ - 7 / Rise Above This - 9 / Walk Away From The Sun - 10 / Waste - 7 Expand
  3. Oct 27, 2011
    9
    I'm surprised with such a low score of this album. Ignore the negative reviews, and check out "FMLYHM", "Don't Believe", "Like Suicide" or "Six Gun Quota". If you'll enjoy them, you'll love the whole album.
  4. BradP.
    Nov 17, 2007
    0
    There is no beauty to be found here.
  5. SteveB
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    This album is AWESOME. I bought it the day it came out and haven't stopped listening to it yet!
  6. AbrahamL.
    Jan 10, 2009
    0
    If General McClellan was a music album, this would be it.
  7. JP
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    This album is the best album of 2007. Every song has a bit of a different feel to it and every one of the songs are excellent. Need proof? How many albums that came out over a year ago, (that are any good), are still having songs chart very well. This album has also been recently certified as their best selling album. This album is great at first, but requires you to listen to it several This album is the best album of 2007. Every song has a bit of a different feel to it and every one of the songs are excellent. Need proof? How many albums that came out over a year ago, (that are any good), are still having songs chart very well. This album has also been recently certified as their best selling album. This album is great at first, but requires you to listen to it several times to really get it. This album could not get enough praise for it's greatness, and sadly will never get the sells it deserves (even though it has sold well compared to their other CD's). If you like Seether or even just a single song from them you must pick this up. Expand
  8. GeeHoneyBee
    Feb 19, 2008
    4
    This album is very disappointing, commercialized and over-produced. I expected more from this band.
  9. SteveW
    Jan 2, 2008
    1
    I'm bored and disappointed in them. Nothing but a stupid attempt at catchy, poppy tunes from a band who I used to love for their emotional connection with any audience who would listen. Turns out you can't be a happy musician...
  10. TylerC
    Nov 30, 2007
    9
    Seether has managed to keep their old style sounding as original as ever. if you enjoyed the old albums, you will not be disappointed with this one.
  11. DudeMan
    Jan 6, 2009
    0
    Pile of rubbish. There's nothing that sets this album apart from other "pop-rock" albums, because that's all it is. The musicianship is poor and the lyrics are uninspired.Yet people will all think it means something, yeah it does, it means more money into the pockets of this rubbish band.
  12. JamieA
    Jan 19, 2010
    7
    Good album, but no way near there best. try there 1st 2 albums disclaimer and karma and effect, there both BRILLIANT!!!
  13. GregT
    Jan 8, 2008
    0
    Brandon M: you have terrible grammar. ever heard of a period? this just proves that only idiots like seether. also, the same people that work tirelessly to make crap like hannah montana listenable do the same thing to make seether sound decent. they are the worst band of all time, and you should tie your bondage pants to the back of a car if you like them.
  14. DJ
    Mar 28, 2010
    10
    Almost as good as their first (2004). Best band since Alice In Chains. Morgan is best rock vocalist since Cobain. Even Canada's Matthew Good can't sustain this passion.
  15. AndrewD.
    Jan 23, 2009
    8
    May not be their best album but this band has sooo much potential to do great things as long as they stop giving in to their labels demands. I love how all shaun's lyrics actually mean something and reportedly he created 60 songs that didn't make it to the album and he's making a new album set to be released in 2010 all of unreleased songs!! (I hope let me go, blister, and May not be their best album but this band has sooo much potential to do great things as long as they stop giving in to their labels demands. I love how all shaun's lyrics actually mean something and reportedly he created 60 songs that didn't make it to the album and he's making a new album set to be released in 2010 all of unreleased songs!! (I hope let me go, blister, and innocence makes it). Expand
  16. what?what?
    Dec 28, 2007
    0
    This is a response to that "Hannah Montana" comment. Are you insinuating that only prepubescent pop girls wouldn't like this? Because FYI, the same overpaid intern-fucking executives that tell Hannah Montana what to do do the same thing to Seether while they turn the knobs to make this half-assed attempt at noise sound even remotely listenable. It's all produced by the same This is a response to that "Hannah Montana" comment. Are you insinuating that only prepubescent pop girls wouldn't like this? Because FYI, the same overpaid intern-fucking executives that tell Hannah Montana what to do do the same thing to Seether while they turn the knobs to make this half-assed attempt at noise sound even remotely listenable. It's all produced by the same people, on the same immense editing equipment. You don't know anything and this is the worst album of the year. Go tie your bondage pants to the back of a car. Expand
  17. Oct 4, 2013
    0
    I find this to be a brutal, inflamatory, presumptuous album, with enough innuendo and venom to eat through solid steel. Threatening, venomous, and vicious lyrics leave little to the imagination. It feels less like a rebellious rock album, and is more akin to a musical callout. The poor person, or type of person, in seethers crosshairs should seriously consider moving to a safe house.I find this to be a brutal, inflamatory, presumptuous album, with enough innuendo and venom to eat through solid steel. Threatening, venomous, and vicious lyrics leave little to the imagination. It feels less like a rebellious rock album, and is more akin to a musical callout. The poor person, or type of person, in seethers crosshairs should seriously consider moving to a safe house. I am tempted to wonder about the mental health and stability of these band member/s, and would suggest perhaps getting them some type of mental health checkup. This is music with a purpose, and the message seems to be directed at someone in particular. Steer clear of this album if you care about maintaining any type of a peaceful lifestyle. Nothing but raw anger cranked up to crystal meth level of intensity. Just ouch!! Expand
  18. Feb 26, 2016
    6
    If I were to compare most of the songs on Finding Beauty In Negative Spaces to tracks off of either Disclaimer II; Karma and Effect; or their latest album Isolate and Medicate, then Finding Beauty in Negative Spaces would not work out too well for FBINS. However, despite it being one of my least favorite Seether albums, it had some very good songs. For example, Fake It was very catchy; theIf I were to compare most of the songs on Finding Beauty In Negative Spaces to tracks off of either Disclaimer II; Karma and Effect; or their latest album Isolate and Medicate, then Finding Beauty in Negative Spaces would not work out too well for FBINS. However, despite it being one of my least favorite Seether albums, it had some very good songs. For example, Fake It was very catchy; the message of Rise Above This was great; and FMLYHM was weird but surprisingly one of my favorite tracks off this record.

    So as a final verdict:

    Get Fake It, Breakdown, FMLYHM, Fallen, Rise Above This, Don't Believe, and Waste.

    If you have spare money get Like Suicide and No Jesus Christ

    Stay away from Six Gun Quota, Walk Away From The Sun, Eyes of the Devil, and Careless Whisper (despite the good video)
    Expand
  19. RogueH
    Jan 29, 2008
    7
    Be fair Brandon - Brad and H are entitled to their opinion - even if others of us disagree. In general, this is a pretty good album, with solid guitar work, and some decent lyrics. If that's what you're looking for, you could do a lot worse than this!
  20. JohnB
    Apr 20, 2008
    9
    Excellent album,Fake it is a very good song..rolling stone are no good at reviewing albums,making lists of best songs ever etc...
  21. joelW.
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    AWESOME! this album is maybe their best yet. they are heavy but do ellow out in a few songs. i really think(as always) that their lyrics are so much more mature than 90 percent of bands out there. my personal favorite song on the album is fallen.
  22. DaleK.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    Whole album's a hit maker. I didn't realize a "LIVE RECORDE" voice meant filtered. Go back to listening to Akon and 50 cent, and calling that "real vocal work". A soulful album with a deeper meaning as well as some satire to modern society. Hey Brad P., and H. - I heard that Hannah Montana was touring. Maybe you should both pillow fight over tickets and give rave reviews about a Whole album's a hit maker. I didn't realize a "LIVE RECORDE" voice meant filtered. Go back to listening to Akon and 50 cent, and calling that "real vocal work". A soulful album with a deeper meaning as well as some satire to modern society. Hey Brad P., and H. - I heard that Hannah Montana was touring. Maybe you should both pillow fight over tickets and give rave reviews about a 14 year old. Stop reviewing if you don't have a clue what you're talking about. Expand
  23. NickW.
    Sep 8, 2008
    10
    I would have NEVER called myself a Seether fan before this album, but I would have to pick this album as my pick for best album of 2007.
  24. jamesb.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    awesome album
  25. ImaW
    Feb 1, 2008
    6
    the album has its high points and low points, listen to "Fake It" "FMLYHM", "Like Suicide", and "Waste". and skip "6 Gun Quota", "Eyes of a Devil", "Walk Away From The Sun" and "Rise Against This". half the album is the best Seether has ever done, half is some of there worst shit ever.
  26. derekt
    May 20, 2008
    10
    in this album seether display just how good they can be. this is thier best album yet and has HUGE replay value it has every thing from the softer seether to the head-banging mania that is the bands unique style and take on the music genre it really makes me want to see seethers next golden hit!
  27. Jacob
    Apr 21, 2009
    10
    How is this ranked so low it's had 3 singles go to number one. All the songs are good and it was one of the top selling albums of 2007.
  28. TreyN
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    Once again, I have to listen to a bunch of ignorant people bashing an album. And once again, people bashing the cd w/o offering an artist they think is worth listening to, because their fragile and callow selves cannot take the barrage of criticism they so readily are able to dispense and the drop of a dime! To the people praising this album, don't try to convince listeners that it Once again, I have to listen to a bunch of ignorant people bashing an album. And once again, people bashing the cd w/o offering an artist they think is worth listening to, because their fragile and callow selves cannot take the barrage of criticism they so readily are able to dispense and the drop of a dime! To the people praising this album, don't try to convince listeners that it is a good album based on the radio played it.....these people hate anything played on the radio! If it were up to them, they would hope the artist starves to death and makes cd's for them and a couple hundred other people so they can feel "original". So I salute all you that gave it a "0".....damn the MAN, down with Corporate America, and go get another tat to make yourself feel more original (nevermind the fact that 1 out of 2 people your age has a tattoo, so you're not that original)! Expand
  29. BrandonM.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    AWESOME I love this album Seether is not retired and is the greatest unless you are like Brad P. and H. and like hanna montanna thank you and good night.
  30. jamesb.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    awesome album
  31. Ade
    Nov 22, 2007
    9
    Contrary to what others are saying this is far from an awful album. After hearing 'Fake it' I was expecting more of the album to sound like it but it definately grew on me quickly. Everyone's entitled to their own opinion though. Those others probably rate 50Cent and Kylie as the best artists ever!
  32. JacoM
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Took some time to grow on me, but love it! The best one yet!
  33. GerryB
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Some reviewers out there are giving very negative reviews of this album. However I find that I just cannot agree with them. I really love this album and the more I listen to it the more it grows on me.
  34. JonathanG
    Nov 27, 2007
    8
    Some slower songs bog down the adrenaline fix found throughout this and their other albums.
  35. TheMaestro
    Jan 11, 2008
    9
    This album rocks. Rolling Stone almost always gets it wrong so them giving it a poor mark doesn't suprise me. One of the better rock albums of the year. It's that good.
  36. BethM
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    Great album. Musically a better demonstration of Shaun's voice. Nice versitility between songs. I think this is one of their overall best efforts to date.
  37. KristineB
    Apr 22, 2008
    9
    I really like this album. I recently saw seether in concert and they played songs from this album. Like suicide, Fake it, and FMLYHM are just a few songs that make this CD awesome.
  38. CalebB
    Sep 29, 2008
    9
    Seether has a way of grabbing your attention and keeping in for all the rocking tunes such as Fake It and the more thoughtful, meaningful and and encouraging songs such as Rise Above This. Good Album.
  39. phil
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    Great album that has a wide range of songs filling that you can not only sing along with but also understand why they were written!
  40. Cara
    Nov 26, 2007
    7
    Not their best, but still a good album.
  41. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    I agree with TheChaser1985! My thoughts are: six gun quota - 7 / breakdown - 10 / don't believe - 8 / eyes of the devil - 9 / fake it - 8 / fallen - 7 / fmlyhm - 8 / like a suicide - 10 / no jesus christ - 7 / rise above this - 9 / walk away from the sun - 8 / waste 8 .... I believe its their best album and my favorite album too. ZCritic you obviously don't know anything about music andI agree with TheChaser1985! My thoughts are: six gun quota - 7 / breakdown - 10 / don't believe - 8 / eyes of the devil - 9 / fake it - 8 / fallen - 7 / fmlyhm - 8 / like a suicide - 10 / no jesus christ - 7 / rise above this - 9 / walk away from the sun - 8 / waste 8 .... I believe its their best album and my favorite album too. ZCritic you obviously don't know anything about music and voting. You can't judge an album by this psychological crap you wrote. I find ''Finding beauty in negative spaces'' one of the most heart-wrenching albums ever made! Its full of passion,depression,anger and real feelings. Not all songs are happy and talk about having sex and drugs. You voted ''0'' cause you believe they need some type of mental health checkup. Way too wrong to let people like you vote. Buys this album! you won't regret it. Expand
  42. Jun 17, 2016
    9
    This album is amazing. One of the best works of the band . Shaun Dale and John were able to show the fans all their musical ability . This amazing work.
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 3 out of 5
  1. Morgan simply lets his rage rock, infusing the album with the same kind of active/ alt-rock straddling approach that's vaulted Seether's previous releases to gold status.
  2. With hardly a distraction or ballad in sight, it is their most direct and focused record yet, and quite possibly their most consistent.
  3. On this South African band's third album, the guitar tones are a teeth-grinding, digitized-sounding nightmare, and a series of I'm-singing-through-a-cell-phone vocal filters can't disguise how played out Morgan's style is.