Finding Forever

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 65
  2. Negative: 2 out of 65

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PaulK
    Aug 1, 2007
    8
    Absolutely brilliant album by Common. Almost up there with Resurrection and Electric Circus. Although I overall enjoyed Be, some of the production sounded a bit off to me, and a couple songs weren't to my liking... This time around, there isn't a sleeper on the entire album, and Kanye (who I've always thought was a bit overrated) is actually starting to live up to the hype. Absolutely brilliant album by Common. Almost up there with Resurrection and Electric Circus. Although I overall enjoyed Be, some of the production sounded a bit off to me, and a couple songs weren't to my liking... This time around, there isn't a sleeper on the entire album, and Kanye (who I've always thought was a bit overrated) is actually starting to live up to the hype. Definitely the best hip hop album so far this year. Expand
  2. pepel.
    Aug 1, 2007
    9
    Perfect productions, good lyrics, nice atmosphere on the whole album and a magic outro (forever begins): best hip hop LP 2007!!! But kanye is still coming...
  3. AlvinD
    Aug 2, 2007
    7
    So Common is trying to "find forever" -- to make an album that stands the test of time. Yet he loads his rhymes up with cheesy current pop culture references? Astronaut lady, Whitney & Bobby, Jennifer Aniston, Finding Nemo... Am I the only one who cringes at these lines? Like it or not, Common's sold out. It wasn't too long ago that this same guy stated, "Don't fuck with So Common is trying to "find forever" -- to make an album that stands the test of time. Yet he loads his rhymes up with cheesy current pop culture references? Astronaut lady, Whitney & Bobby, Jennifer Aniston, Finding Nemo... Am I the only one who cringes at these lines? Like it or not, Common's sold out. It wasn't too long ago that this same guy stated, "Don't fuck with radio, ignoring the charts. I could give a FUCK what you made in a year, nigga, you wack". And now he's crowning Kanye the new Premo? Ugh. Electric Circus will stand the test of time. It will be remembered as the high point of Common's career, when he decided "fuck the industry" and took risks. He made the music he wanted to make. He pushed hip hop to its boundaries. Expand
  4. TonyC.
    Aug 2, 2007
    10
    TIGHT
  5. Andrew
    Aug 3, 2007
    9
    this cd is great, not as good as "Be" but still suprisingly good to my ears. It may take a few listens to get used to and grow on you, but nevertheless the best hip-hop album released in 07 so far. Go get it ASAP!
  6. ChaquitaKid
    Aug 7, 2007
    9
    Perhaps I purchased a different copy of this album than half the listeners and reviewers, but this is in no way a bad album...not even close. If you're a fan of the genre and are tired of most of the garbage in rap/hip hop (a-baby?!) then this will be a breath of fresh air for you.
  7. JermaineR
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    If you know real hip hop, this is hip hop at its best! Forever is better than BE and reminds me of a mature Resurrection. A refreshing sound for the summer, fall, winter and spring...
  8. JosephH.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    I totally enjoyed the cd. The beats are proper for songs such as Southside, For the People, and driving me crazy and that just to name a few.
  9. TrellT.
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    Nearly perfect...it really is. Saved hip-hop for the year in my opinion.
  10. NadumF.
    Jul 31, 2007
    10
    A classic album, not one weak song. Amazing work by Common and Kanye.
  11. BenT.
    Aug 11, 2007
    10
    This is a great album, I can't wait to get copy of an album. I've listened to the whole album.
  12. galp.
    Aug 11, 2007
    9
    Great. I could of lived without the Will I am procuced track, but the other ones are great. Common giving his true fans what they want, and staying tru to himself. A Breath of fresh air, the game needed this.
  13. JayZ.
    Aug 1, 2007
    10
    Common brings another good album into his everlasting legacy he brought into the game.
  14. RachaelW.
    Aug 17, 2007
    9
    Good beats, mostly good lyrics, good samples (Nina Simone!), good hooks, good messages ... I can't be mad about much. It's nice to hear D'Angelo again (been too long). Bilal (yeah Philly soul!) sounds as great as he did on Clipse's "Nightmares". Is Finding Forever better than Be??? I don't know. I still love Be. I think Finding Forever is probably more Good beats, mostly good lyrics, good samples (Nina Simone!), good hooks, good messages ... I can't be mad about much. It's nice to hear D'Angelo again (been too long). Bilal (yeah Philly soul!) sounds as great as he did on Clipse's "Nightmares". Is Finding Forever better than Be??? I don't know. I still love Be. I think Finding Forever is probably more radio/single-friendly - Kanye's mark seems a little bit stronger on this one. Still, it's clearly another Common album (not Kanye's beats/samples or guest artists featuring Common). Expand
  15. MikeD.
    Aug 4, 2007
    9
    While similar to Be at times, overall it is much harder/agressive and overall just as strong as Be was...they are the perfect companion pieces to each other....best hip hop album of the year thus far...pick it up
  16. BrandonR.
    Aug 5, 2007
    9
    There's nothing like it. Soulful, deep, powerful hip hop that only Common can spit and Kanye can produce.
  17. NiyiM
    Aug 5, 2007
    8
    This is a good album. It is actually the hiphop album of the year so far. Best tracks: black maybe, The people. Flaws: It actualy has 11 tracks (I paid $18!). It goes from very fast (drivin me wild, The game) to very slow (Black maybe, forever begins).
  18. AC
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    Its funny how common can say so much using the least of words. King of RAP!...Hiphop's a joke..Finding forever is a neo soul rap album, people who loved resurrection will love this album even if it's not as lyrical. Even progressing to a more commercial sound common still packs a punch with his lyrics. All hail
  19. PeterO.
    Sep 17, 2007
    8
    A solid send out from common
  20. TONYB.
    Dec 31, 2007
    10
    HEAT
  21. iano
    Oct 5, 2007
    8
    pure quality, nothing epic its a bit more poppy than prev. abms but he stays true to his own style
  22. ikee
    Jul 30, 2007
    8
    A brilliant album from common....personally at par with 'Be'.
  23. TONYB.
    Jul 31, 2007
    10
    HEAT
  24. PK.
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    Common does it again...AMAZING content..all the tracks are amazing...misunderstood, i want you, black maybe and my favourite the people...buy the cd...its worth it!!
  25. MostH.
    Aug 14, 2007
    9
    A notch below Be. Common is on point as usual, bringing substance that is diminishing in Hip Hop. Kanye tries to outdo himself, but doesn't always come through very convincingly. Apart fom The Game, the best beats are provided by the guest producers.
  26. DanA
    Sep 23, 2007
    8
    Not as good as Be, but still a great album. Some would say Finding Forever is flawed in that Common has been delivering this same soulful concept with self-conscious and love based lyrics. But Common does it with such unique of an approach and different means of getting to his point each time.
  27. BrendanD
    Jul 31, 2007
    9
    Common is far and away the best MC in the game, and not even overproduction by Kanye West can drag "Finding Forever" down. It's not as good as "Be" or "Resurrection," but it still beats out almost any hip-hop being produced right now.
  28. MycroftW.
    Aug 12, 2007
    7
    Would have been an 8 if not for the unfavourable comparison to his impressive backcatalogue. But seeing as hiphop is in the state it is, this could still be one of the best rap albums of the year. Bring back 1994!
  29. Aug 5, 2014
    8
    Common occasionally comes across as a featuring artist on a string of instrumentals on Finding Forever, which is particularly disappointing because of his significant lyrical and vocal ability. Despite this, much of the album is composed of grandiose production with intelligent lyrics. ~ 7.7/10

    Best tracks: "I Want You", "The Game" & "Break My Heart"
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. 80
    Finding Forever, Common’s spectacular seventh full-length, isn’t 'The Bitch in Yoo,' but it is his hardest release since.
  2. Blender
    60
    Kayne West once again saves his friend from the NAACP lecture circuit with soul-snapping beats that effectively turn the headliner into a guest star on his own album. [Aug 2007, p. 110]
  3. West produces the bulk again on Finding Forever, and it's his skill in embellishing a sample and his unerring eye for a soulful hook that is consistently bringing the best out of his mentor-turned-protege.