Finisterre

Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Q Magazine
    80
    Finisterre distills their Mellotrons, strummed guitars and electronic beats to a fine essence. [Oct 2002, p.114]
  2. Urb
    80
    It's clear Saint Etienne have returned from their pastoral hiatus, ready to do what they do best: distill and riff on music history's catalog with inimitable style and substance. [Nov 2002, p.98]
  3. Blender
    80
    Literate and heartfelt, the album's also a sonic riot, with gutsy electro, dream-pop and feminist rap jostling for attention beneath Sarah Cracknell's creamy vocals. [#11, p.142]
  4. Uncut
    80
    Saint Etienne's most far-reaching album since Fox Base Alpha. [Nov 2002, p.124]
  5. It may not be the best album of their career, but it's certainly the most interesting -- and a reliable cure for your indifference.
  6. Saint Etienne have been "back" before, but this time-- this time it sounds like they're really back.
  7. Saint Etienne have regained their touch.
  8. Mojo
    70
    Cracknell's straight '60s pop ballads sit oddly, but a clubbable Shower Scene and well-electroclash Amateur and New Thing suggest more than a fiar outlook for the weathering well threesome. [Oct 2002, p.110]
  9. Rolling Stone
    60
    A gem for the highly sensitive. [17 Oct 2002, p.72]
  10. While individual songs work on their own, the album seldom succeeds as a whole.
  11. Mixer
    60
    The disc comes across like the best B-sides compliation you've never heard. [Nov 2002, p.77]
  12. At its best, Finisterre finds Saint Etienne exploring new moods within their familiar formula of '60s acoustic sounds meet '90s electronica rhythms; at its worst, which is far more often, it clumsily grafts hip-hop and electro-synth on to the group's increasingly shopworn pop hooks.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. DanT
    Jan 7, 2004
    9
    Though I can't say I appreciate all their songs, the up tempo jams have been installed in my mix sessions to add much needed class and Though I can't say I appreciate all their songs, the up tempo jams have been installed in my mix sessions to add much needed class and flavor for the ignorant masses that "dance" in my face. Full Review »
  2. robert
    Dec 4, 2003
    9
    their best since "so tough". the title track has to be one of their best ever.