First Impressions Of Earth

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jan 3, 2006
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 411 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 411

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 7, 2017
    7
    Many people say that this is a let down of an album. But i don't see that at all, The Lyrics get deeper and dark. The Drumming in this album is just weird and awesome. The Guitars are a beauty. I will admit on this album they're a ton of tracks that are not very good. Even though this album does have some weak spots i still think its a great album

    Favorite Tracks: You Only Live Once,
    Many people say that this is a let down of an album. But i don't see that at all, The Lyrics get deeper and dark. The Drumming in this album is just weird and awesome. The Guitars are a beauty. I will admit on this album they're a ton of tracks that are not very good. Even though this album does have some weak spots i still think its a great album

    Favorite Tracks: You Only Live Once, Razorblade, On The Other Side, Ask Me Anything, Red Light

    Least Favorite Tracks, Juice Box, Heart in A Cage,
    Expand
  2. May 19, 2016
    6
    This album is easily the third best Strokes album to date after the directionless Angles and the completely half-hearted, half-assed Comedown Machine. There is quite a bit of filler on this album, however and the claims of the Strokes trying to sound like every other band ring half true with tracks like On the Other Side, Killing Lies, Ask Me Anything, and Vision of Division. TheThis album is easily the third best Strokes album to date after the directionless Angles and the completely half-hearted, half-assed Comedown Machine. There is quite a bit of filler on this album, however and the claims of the Strokes trying to sound like every other band ring half true with tracks like On the Other Side, Killing Lies, Ask Me Anything, and Vision of Division. The shallowness and seamless-- yawning even-- cool of the first two records is seemingly replaced with a hangover-ish mistrust and tired aggravation. But also, great songs. Juicebox and Razorblade take the Strokes classic sound and evolve it with highly inspired rhythm section performances from drummer Fab Moretti and bassist Nikolai Fraiture, who put out their A game on this record, while guitarists Albern Hammond Jr. and Nick Valensi make a heavy duty armory out of two guitars creating memorable licks on songs like You Only Live Once, Heart In a Cage, Razorblade (second time being mentioned, huh) and Ize of the World. The album easily has some of the best melodies on a Strokes record hidden between some of the greater and lesser tracks. However one of the biggest pitfalls the Strokes seemed to fall into while making this record is not choosing their best work and not editing the 15 songs they had into a concise statement. One of the best songs of the recording sessions, "Hawaii", is relegated to B-side status. It is breezy and carefree in a way that could almost be used as a breather on the otherwise tense and not very cheerful album. On Ask Me Anything Julian Casablancas admits to not having a thing to say, while the album itself begs to differ. However when Red Light echoes this sentiment while declaring no one else does, it takes all the lyricism about not trusting anything-- including sleep, a motif heavily used on this album (with songs like 15 Minutes, Ize of the World, Evening Sun, and Fear of Sleep describing dreams, mistrust of people, industry, and even said dreams) that if set up correctly could have been lauded as brilliant-- and essentially throws it in the trash. Great songs are placed next to not great tracks (Electricityscape is easily the best song on this album, yet it does not get any play or respect despite being melodically superior and evolving the Strokes sound into the mood and tone of the album best). While many would argue replacing Gordon Raphael with David Kahne was a bad move (it more or less was), his production is not terrible for the time, aside from the audio clipping characteristic of this era of music, and fits the cold, robotic, clockwork mode the band were in at the time. The overall problem, however is merely the Strokes inability to properly self edit. Sacrifice derailing or ridiculous songs like On the Other Side, Ask Me Anything, Killing Lies, and Vision of Division, add fan favorite Hawaii back into the track list and rearrange the songs into a cohesive tale and we'd have a great album. Putting the three singles at the beginning does nothing to make people want to hear the rest of the album, especially with total duds in the fray. Lead single Juicebox is a harder rocking song than most of the Strokes back catalog and even most of the record prior. Why wouldn't it be track 9 of an 11 track album? Why would Red Light get honor of being last track when it could easily serve as a late beginning track right before the middle? Why not take the commentary of the trilogy of 15 Minutes, Ize of the World and Evening Sun and put it dead center, instead of last? With those three sitting center of the album, a buildup song like Fear of Sleep could end the album and the repetitive nature would only solidify the fear of dreaming motif 15 Minutes, Ize of the World and Evening Sun set up better. With that, I give an alternate tracklisting for the album, that I call "Last Impressions of Earth":
    1. You Only Live Once
    2. Hawaii (B-side to Juicebox, a really good track that balances out the mopey tone)
    3. Razorblade
    4. Red Light (another very Stroke-y song that does not work as a closer, but rather the warm up for the middle of the album which would be an improper shift in tone without this gem to toe the line)
    5. 15 Minutes (the beginning of the more emotionally appealing middle)
    6. Ize of the World
    7. Evening Sun (underrated; a beautiful companion piece to the feaster paced Hawaii)
    8. Electricityscape
    9. Juicebox (see? Isn't there more pay off when it is led up to a-la New York City Cops & The Way It Is??)
    10. Heart in a Cage
    11. Fear of Sleep (does not work where it was originally placed, too repetitive and too much build up; works well as a closer)
    Give this rearranged version a try. I find it is more cohesive, less mopey or "evil" and has better peaks, valleys and payoff as both a Strokes album and even just an album on its own. However, the original work could not be said the same of, like a lump of coal showing some diamond beneath, but never fully compressed to reach its shiniest, or best, form
    Expand
  3. May 15, 2015
    8
    Definetly not The Strokes are their best, but still a really cool album with many excellent tunes (You Only Live Once, Juicebox, Heart in a Cage, Razorblade), some great songs (Ize of the World, Vision of Division, Electricityscape) and to nice little tracks (Ask me Anything, Red Light). The rest of the album suffers for having some filler moments and a songs that feel a bit too stretchedDefinetly not The Strokes are their best, but still a really cool album with many excellent tunes (You Only Live Once, Juicebox, Heart in a Cage, Razorblade), some great songs (Ize of the World, Vision of Division, Electricityscape) and to nice little tracks (Ask me Anything, Red Light). The rest of the album suffers for having some filler moments and a songs that feel a bit too stretched out and uninspired. Still, The Strokes here where great nonetheless. Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    I don't understand why Is This It got so much hype. This is my favorite album by them. Apart from one okay song, every song on this album was incredible. It was a great blend of rock and alternative, with some bluesy elements to it as well.
  5. May 25, 2012
    6
    After an excellent debut album and a very solid follow up the Strokes came back with record number 3 - First Impressions of Earth. Despite a very strong opening section of the album, the bands limits are there for all to see this time out. At 14 tracks it's got far too many filler tracks and has a couple of really terrible songs as well. The album is completely front loaded with theAfter an excellent debut album and a very solid follow up the Strokes came back with record number 3 - First Impressions of Earth. Despite a very strong opening section of the album, the bands limits are there for all to see this time out. At 14 tracks it's got far too many filler tracks and has a couple of really terrible songs as well. The album is completely front loaded with the records 3 singles the first 3 tracks on it. Noteworthy moments are few and far between after these. Fans might say they tried out new things here and thats fair enough but the quality just isn't there consistently. Saved by it's singles. Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This is how electric guitars should be played!
  7. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Like a lot of other fans of The Strokes, I really don't know why this album gets a lot of hate. FIOE has to be one of their best, maybe even on the same level as Is This It. There might be a few forgettable tracks on First Impressions, but the rest of this album is fantastic. Get it and give it multiple listens, and I promise that it will sink in and you will love it.
  8. Oct 20, 2011
    7
    Very good album. It verges on getting dull in the final few tracks but the calmness of those last few are a great aftermath of sorts from the heavy first tracks. Great guitar and drum work and two unbelievable tracks (Vision of Division & Heart In A Cage).
  9. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Never understood why so many people didn't like it. My favorite album of The Strokes by far. Less catchy than Is this it, I think the lyrics are much better, the music is more complex. It contains masterpieces such as "Evening Sun", "Heart in a Cage" and "Ize of the world".
  10. May 14, 2011
    9
    the most underrated album of the last decade, just falls flat of a masterpiece.
    maybe a little too long. isn't as fun start to finish as the first two. but the songs are equally as strong. if they'd cut the songs that aren't as good as others.namely: ask me anything and killing lies. it will just as good as the first two. though i must agree it strays a bit from the formula that made them
    the most underrated album of the last decade, just falls flat of a masterpiece.
    maybe a little too long. isn't as fun start to finish as the first two. but the songs are equally as strong. if they'd cut the songs that aren't as good as others.namely: ask me anything and killing lies. it will just as good as the first two. though i must agree it strays a bit from the formula that made them famous. it doesn't stray to bad places
    Expand
  11. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    Not as good as their first 2 albums but still has playability. But their new album is kind of bad. Like really bad. I have a headache just thinking about it.
  12. Jan 18, 2011
    8
    The Strokes have no doubt changed their style in music. This sounds like a garage punk album. Julian Casablanca's vocals are louder on this album and he sounds like a punk rocker whereas in their first album Is This It, his voice sounds more smoother. It's a good change. It sounds great. Especially for their third album considering Room On Fire was disappointing. "Juicebox" is my favoriteThe Strokes have no doubt changed their style in music. This sounds like a garage punk album. Julian Casablanca's vocals are louder on this album and he sounds like a punk rocker whereas in their first album Is This It, his voice sounds more smoother. It's a good change. It sounds great. Especially for their third album considering Room On Fire was disappointing. "Juicebox" is my favorite track on this album. "Heart In A Cage" is another great track. And "Ask Me Anything" is also great. All In All, The Strokes haven't made an album as good as their first and they probably never will, but First Impressions Of Earth is a very good album and still shows that The Strokes are still one of the best bands of our generation. B+ Collapse
  13. Dec 13, 2010
    10
    Sure, its not as good as Is This It. But really, this album is incredible in its own right. How can you give an album with such intensity and musical brilliance a 70? Julian clears up his singing, the guitars get more complex solos and clarity to create a stunning album. Can't get enough even 4 years after relese...
  14. Vinnyg
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    SO UNDERRATED. While not quite as good as "Is This It," it easily surpasses "Room on Fire." I personally love almost every single track. The Strokes are definitely a great band.
  15. daver
    Oct 13, 2009
    9
    Love this cd as much of the other two, i don't care what the "critics" say about it, Their music is something refreshing.
  16. BenF
    Feb 14, 2009
    7
    It is different than their previous two albums but still good. "You live only once" is pretty much my favorite track from this album. The rest are decent but not great.
  17. BurwellW.
    Jul 12, 2008
    7
    While the first two albums were damn near perfect (if not the second then certainly the first with room on fire trailing close by) first impressions of earth slightly misses its mark. The first two albums were filled with nostalgia entangled within the lyrics and the melodies. This is lost. Hopefully with a new album they can get their mojo back.
  18. Jodan
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Awesome! Every song is amazing. The strokes kick A**!!!
  19. AdamP.
    Apr 3, 2008
    4
    A poor album and a shame after enjoying this is it and room on fire. A shambles.
  20. DanielB.
    Feb 6, 2008
    7
    Good for most of the album but nothing more than solid and how the hell are the strokes indie rock?
  21. FrankieM.
    Jan 18, 2008
    9
    I wasnt going to buy this album due to mixed reviews but then i heard you only live once and i thought why not buy it and now im so happy i did. my faviourite tracks are juicebox,vision of division, ize of the world and you only live once. also impressed by the guitar work the best ive heard from the strokes
  22. RR
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    Great, great album. I lost interest in the Strokes after their first, which I'd played to death. Then saw them live and was blown away - Pearl Jam aside, this is the tightest rock band in the world right now. Most of the songs they played I hadn't heard before, and I was thrilled by all of them. Guess what? They're on this record. A song or two could have been dropped; Great, great album. I lost interest in the Strokes after their first, which I'd played to death. Then saw them live and was blown away - Pearl Jam aside, this is the tightest rock band in the world right now. Most of the songs they played I hadn't heard before, and I was thrilled by all of them. Guess what? They're on this record. A song or two could have been dropped; aside from that negligible fact, Impressions stands as one hell of an accomplished album. Can't get enough of it. And only Julian Casablancas can rip off Barry Manilow (in Razor Blade) and still sound cool. Great job. Expand
  23. EddieEinarMrtnsnN
    Dec 9, 2007
    7
    First Impressions of Earth offers a matured the Strokes, and although they've lost the skipping and fast-moving appearance of the their two first albums, they've changed their style briefly in favor for something more ambitious. The album opens up as strong as anything, but midway through songs starts behaving half-formed, unusual for someone as Casablancas who's proven First Impressions of Earth offers a matured the Strokes, and although they've lost the skipping and fast-moving appearance of the their two first albums, they've changed their style briefly in favor for something more ambitious. The album opens up as strong as anything, but midway through songs starts behaving half-formed, unusual for someone as Casablancas who's proven himself such an early-matured songwriter. Either way, the band has learned new tricks and they behave just as smart as they did back in the early days, even a bit smarter. Lots of enjoy here, but you can't avoid feeling disappointed as 5 and maybe 6 of the 14 songs doesn't really punch as they could. Anyway; the Strokes rocks and still sounds refreshing. Expand
  24. Oligami
    Sep 11, 2007
    6
    Uneven. Some of it is more aggressive and in-your-face than their older songs, and some of it is just boring.
  25. marcyb
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    I think that they eally tried to grow on this album. they used a lot of experimental sounds, its great. julian really showed his talent as a singer.
  26. MarkK
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    it´s been a while since this was released and i recently heard it again. My impressions from back then were good , it sounded like a massive improvement in production, and i liked a couple of songs , but i never gave this album the atention i now know it deserved, mainly becuase i got distracted by other releases and frankly i got a little caught up in the critical reception it got it´s been a while since this was released and i recently heard it again. My impressions from back then were good , it sounded like a massive improvement in production, and i liked a couple of songs , but i never gave this album the atention i now know it deserved, mainly becuase i got distracted by other releases and frankly i got a little caught up in the critical reception it got and the overall sentiment that this was a dissapointment. Well , having listened to this again , for numerous times , i can say i LOVE it. IMHO, much better than the first two. It has such great guitar lines, with both sublime melodies and awesome tech.Nick and Albert just sound beautiful here, i´m impressed with these guys. Fab must have taken lessons or something , because he does some great drumming here and plays miles better than his old amateurish stuff. And Julian finally sounds like his singing and trying his best at it . And apart from the total upgrade in overall sound, the songs, while being still catchy and very strokes, are more diverse and interesting. Im not giving this a 10 becuase some songs frankly annoy me or i think are filler, like "Ask Me Anything", "Killing Lies" and "15 minutes" , but for the rest of them , a 9 seems fair enough. Expand
  27. williamDOE
    May 28, 2007
    7
    not as bad as most critics will say, but not as good either. granted, their first album was great, so they'll always have to match it. they havent with this album. the album starts off great with their first 4 songs, but the rest just kind of drag on.
  28. bobR
    May 5, 2007
    10
    "you only live once" is their best song yet... and it's in this album :)
  29. Link
    Apr 20, 2007
    9
    The most authentic rock-n-roll album to be released in the last ten years. Killer solos, catchy rhythms, and beautifully crafted lyrics. The Strokes have outdone themselves. And the music is AWESOME in concert
  30. DylanR
    Feb 25, 2007
    9
    Great album, it's awsome, I listen to it all the time.
  31. MattK
    Jan 9, 2007
    9
    This album is great, and if your a fan of previous work of the Strokes, you will not be disappointed with this effort. The music sounds fresh!
  32. Amelia
    Dec 24, 2006
    9
    I pity those who can't appreciate the brilliance of this album (nelson) and cheers to precious - I too love electricityscape and RED LIGHT is my absolute favourite - listen to that gutiar--- oh my goodness they are brilliant. and strokes lovers check out albert hammond jrs solo album - it is fantastic.
  33. MC
    Dec 16, 2006
    8
    A real grower. So very bold. The guiter riffs are awesome , and the drumming skills of Fab Moretti are really evident here. And only The Strokes could pull off a song like Ize of the World.
  34. NelsonD
    Dec 5, 2006
    0
    SOOOOOO bad !! The Strokes are overrated!
  35. AddlerS
    Dec 2, 2006
    8
    The instruments sound great! The first half of this album is very good and then it declines, but nonetheless it is a good piece of work from The Strokes and we're interested to hear what's next from them, which will be a critical release.
  36. maria
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    This album is a-freakin-mazing. And to all the people who say it's crap, they probably don't evn like this kid of music. And hello, do they know anything about anything? It is, in fact, very common to use melodies from past songs for a totally new one. So get a life and go smoke your crack and don't even bother next time you want to say something bad about The Strokes. This album is a-freakin-mazing. And to all the people who say it's crap, they probably don't evn like this kid of music. And hello, do they know anything about anything? It is, in fact, very common to use melodies from past songs for a totally new one. So get a life and go smoke your crack and don't even bother next time you want to say something bad about The Strokes. Other than that I love every song on this album! Expand
  37. tiega
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    rock on.
  38. JoeR
    Oct 27, 2006
    10
    truly amazing. the opening five tracks are hands down the best opening five tracks of all time. what else could you want
  39. Precious
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    The critics who panned this album are closed minded. I don't know how anyone could not love it. The lyrics and music on this album are absolutely stunning. While I didn't like it as much when first purchased, Impressions is now the only album i've got going on a continuous loop in the car and on the iPod. It works its way into your mind and stays there. I'm The critics who panned this album are closed minded. I don't know how anyone could not love it. The lyrics and music on this album are absolutely stunning. While I didn't like it as much when first purchased, Impressions is now the only album i've got going on a continuous loop in the car and on the iPod. It works its way into your mind and stays there. I'm particularly loving Electricityscape and Razorblade. Expand
  40. MaddyH
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    I personally don't know what some critics are on abou. All the songs are great and it REALLY does grow on you. The songs are amazing, julian is a great songwriter, and teh band has evolve into something new, but it is great.
  41. JamesF
    Aug 10, 2006
    8
    Yes, the media enduced hype has burned out but what is still left is the blatant evolution of the strokes music. On tracks such as ize of the world , vision of division, ask me anything and even the well recieved juicebox it is evident that first impressions of earth is evidence that the strokes are fully capable of diversification. please - ignore what the critics say
  42. tommijo
    Aug 5, 2006
    10
    great cd and the best indie post-rock album in a year
  43. bhrigug
    Jul 29, 2006
    9
    i gave it a 9 out of 10,coz i have been led to believe that perfection is impossible to attain......it's heartbreaking to know that people havent yet understood this album...it will take time,i saw it happen to me.when you understand it u will get addicted...........................and it really annoys me when i see critics giving their views so early in time.afterall critics are i gave it a 9 out of 10,coz i have been led to believe that perfection is impossible to attain......it's heartbreaking to know that people havent yet understood this album...it will take time,i saw it happen to me.when you understand it u will get addicted...........................and it really annoys me when i see critics giving their views so early in time.afterall critics are mere human like anybody else.what can i say about the strokes????no words can describe them best.. Expand
  44. eotmetalhero
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    ithink this album is very fantastic, for lyric and song is hard and so easy in to heart and my head, for ecample is a song electricity escape ithink is good. THE STROKES IS MY HERO.thank for nick,julian,and all, make a good song!!!!!
  45. blakew
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    nothing short of the best. And its ten times better than any band out there right now
  46. amurabim
    Jun 19, 2006
    7
    At first impression, the new Strokes album is precise. Rocking, well produced, with each member dominating its instrument. The first six roles falling with grace and applomb, but after that, the album feels a little bit boring (no hooks, nothing great). Julian sounds powerful, lyrics are dealing with the fame and the fortune but in a very NY context. After the monumental "You Only Live At first impression, the new Strokes album is precise. Rocking, well produced, with each member dominating its instrument. The first six roles falling with grace and applomb, but after that, the album feels a little bit boring (no hooks, nothing great). Julian sounds powerful, lyrics are dealing with the fame and the fortune but in a very NY context. After the monumental "You Only Live Once" (one of the greatest songs of the year), the album falls proggresively. Exhausting its energy (and our patience) in the latest tracks. It sounds as The Strokes repeating themselves, even with a clear, better sound. With a spirit that combines energy with melancholy and sense of humor. A sound bigger, crunchy. accesible. The voice is in first frame. Guitars are brilliant and some tracks are amazing ("Ask Me Anything" with strings and no drums). But the entire result does not take great heights in art-pop-punk ground. This is an attempt to break frontiers and a try to get attention musically instead comercially. Expand
  47. ElliotM
    Jun 3, 2006
    8
    It certainly doesn't demand as many repeat listenings as its forebears (mostly due to its flabby nature and a couple of lacklustre tracks), but it still boasts the wonderful catchiness and musicianship. First Impressions.. almost runs out of steam after its fantastic opening stride, but their willingness to try new things - even if not always particularly successful - keeps it It certainly doesn't demand as many repeat listenings as its forebears (mostly due to its flabby nature and a couple of lacklustre tracks), but it still boasts the wonderful catchiness and musicianship. First Impressions.. almost runs out of steam after its fantastic opening stride, but their willingness to try new things - even if not always particularly successful - keeps it afloat. While previously each band member contributed to an overall sound, now each layer of music is easier to pick out (such as in the shuddering guitar and thrumming bass of Juicebox, and the upbeat drumming of Red Light) - and is all the better for it. Julian's voice, fuzziness begone, still remains one of the less urgent-sounding in rock, but it suits the music perfectly, and isn't that what's most important? Expand
  48. AlessandroO
    May 30, 2006
    8
    Everybody said that The Strokes would have failed with the third album. I would say that Casablancas &co. have the talent to make "classic" almost every song they edit. Maybe ten minutes (and 4 tracks) less would be better, but please, from now on nobody say that The Strokes are over!
  49. Hein
    May 21, 2006
    10
    They lost it compleetly
  50. NicolaasG
    May 19, 2006
    10
    Amazing album. Just amazing.
  51. RonG
    May 8, 2006
    9
    The one that converted me Better vocals, more inventive guitars - such an improvement on the boring sounds of the past
  52. jyotirmayad
    Apr 27, 2006
    10
    I like this CD. I thought the first two Strokes' CDs were kind of boring. they sounded so mcuh the same. This one had more musical variations in it -- both lyrically and musically -- which made all of the difference to me to buy it.
  53. hfraza
    Apr 25, 2006
    7
    Good, but not so good. But why all the critics say better things about some shitty new bands ( Kasabian, keyser chiefs...)
  54. IlyaR
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    Time and a tour has once again proved The Strokes, and this album, to be every bit worthy of the title for greatest band alive. After some of these ridicolous reviews, time, just like Julian said, is turning them into jokes...and it's only April. Imagine how this album will be remembered by December...and even more so 20 years from now, when this will be one of those pivotal, Time and a tour has once again proved The Strokes, and this album, to be every bit worthy of the title for greatest band alive. After some of these ridicolous reviews, time, just like Julian said, is turning them into jokes...and it's only April. Imagine how this album will be remembered by December...and even more so 20 years from now, when this will be one of those pivotal, defining albums of our generation, when kids who aren't born yet will be listening to classics like "Heart In A Cage" and "Vision Of Division" and complaining about how music used to be great way back when. Expand
  55. funkink
    Apr 16, 2006
    10
    I don't know what everyone's complaining about, I wore out the first two albums so quick, i was worried this was another candy coated attempt to win over the masses. These guys are changing, they're growing and getting better. don't worry, you'll catch on eventually.
  56. LeaA
    Apr 12, 2006
    10
    Authentically expressed, musically and lyrically. It both rocks and stirs, makes me hungry for the growth that will have them producing even better stuff in the future. Someday, when this band achieves its greatness, people will be revisiting this album, appreciating it and seeking out its messages as if they are hearing it for the first time.
  57. TomC
    Apr 11, 2006
    6
    I think they lost a lot of the their traid sound in this album, they got rid of the raw sounding vocals. they kind of changed their style. i was a bit upset with it. 1st two albums were great tho.
  58. AlexC
    Apr 6, 2006
    8
    C'mon, this album deserves a better rating! The first 8 tracks are all killers so i'll give it an 8. The album dies a bit towards the end, which was not a tendency of the first two albums, but there are more tracks on here so that's understandable. God damn I love The Strokes!
  59. StephenD
    Mar 30, 2006
    8
    There is no way this record deserves a 67 from critics. serious hating going on here. there are a ton of great songs on this album and maybe 3 to 4 bum tunes. People are just pissy about David Kahne being involved and otherwise, i don't know, deaf? jealous? i can't figure it out.
  60. DougL
    Mar 28, 2006
    9
    Not as consistantly good as the first two albums, but nevertheless a handful of good tunes in the first half of the album. The guitarists have really stepped it up a notch on this effort as well. I would think old fans would appreciate this one for sure
  61. BMikols
    Mar 21, 2006
    9
    I also think this album is fantastic. It, like previous Strokes albums, gets better with each listen. Critics say it only has six or seven good songs. What other album in recent memory had that many good tracks? Not as good as Is This It? It will be hard to ever overachieve when held against such high criteria. Some of their best songs are on this album
  62. BellaC
    Mar 21, 2006
    9
    I love this album! Altough it is not as good as its predecessors Is This It and Room On Fire. The best song is definitly Heart In A Cage. Casablancas vocals are splendid.
  63. jo
    Mar 7, 2006
    9
    VISION OF DIVISION blows me away every time, amazing hook, amazing song, amazing solo... other highlights are Heart In a Cage (glad its the new single) and Juicebox for me personally. Very good album!
  64. jules
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    Strokes, you say strokes...
  65. Shawna-
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    my all time favorite band. Ten.
  66. nandog
    Feb 27, 2006
    10
    it the greatest album yet to come
  67. samd
    Feb 26, 2006
    10
    Very underrated, lyrically dense- passionate singing and biting lyrics such As "I went to the concert and I fought through the crowd Guess I got too excited when I thought you were around". Not much better rock and roll around. The Stones of our generation. I think the critics are looking for a groundbreaking album , however it happened if "is this it?". What more can you ask for than Very underrated, lyrically dense- passionate singing and biting lyrics such As "I went to the concert and I fought through the crowd Guess I got too excited when I thought you were around". Not much better rock and roll around. The Stones of our generation. I think the critics are looking for a groundbreaking album , however it happened if "is this it?". What more can you ask for than honest songwriting, good musicianship, passionate singing and tight harmonies. beautiful, probably the best album of the year- best since arcade fire. Expand
  68. AshleyC
    Feb 19, 2006
    9
    Couldn't agree more with Elene - the negativity levelled toward First Impressions is highly frustrating. The band were at liberty to bang out a third, battered copy of Is This It but, instead, have clearly, and bravely, gone for broke. Yes the album is a couple of tracks too long and some experiments don't quite work but the overall level is very high and it is a BIG grower.
  69. SteveB
    Feb 18, 2006
    8
    The Strokes needed to break out with something new or they were finished. The first 6 tracks of this album are fantastic and fresh. The rest, well, not so much. If they had trimmed the album down to 10 songs, critics would have loved it. My attitude is, the first 6 songs are so good that I don't care what the rest of the album sounds like. How many other albums can boast that many The Strokes needed to break out with something new or they were finished. The first 6 tracks of this album are fantastic and fresh. The rest, well, not so much. If they had trimmed the album down to 10 songs, critics would have loved it. My attitude is, the first 6 songs are so good that I don't care what the rest of the album sounds like. How many other albums can boast that many good songs? Expand
  70. RenanF
    Feb 18, 2006
    10
    what to say about you only live once, juice box, razor blade, heart in a cage, the other side, evening sun and red light? It´s great!!!!!!
  71. Dave
    Feb 16, 2006
    8
    An excellent album. The only reason the critics didn't get this is that they didn't listen enough. If you put this on for the first time in the mindset that any first impression other than immediate mind-blowing amazement is a failure to deliver on some kind of promise that's been hyped up by the media, you'll resent it. Give it a few listens, though, and you will love An excellent album. The only reason the critics didn't get this is that they didn't listen enough. If you put this on for the first time in the mindset that any first impression other than immediate mind-blowing amazement is a failure to deliver on some kind of promise that's been hyped up by the media, you'll resent it. Give it a few listens, though, and you will love it. Like both the other Strokes albums, really. Except that the musicianship's gone up a notch. Expand
  72. TBone
    Feb 14, 2006
    8
    There's some good stuff on this album. I can't figure out why critics hate this so much, maybe it' s because the Strokes have been around for a while. Critics seem to not like established acts at all. Razorblade is 5 stars, as is You Only Live Once. Heart in a Cage is pretty good. I really don't like Juicebox.
  73. layak
    Feb 12, 2006
    10
    Shows the depth of the strokes, the musicianship is much better. Overall a great album, even haters might change their minds about the strokes. Highly recommended.
  74. mattl
    Feb 12, 2006
    10
    Amazing album, truely pulled me in as a fan!
  75. Elene
    Feb 11, 2006
    8
    i don't know why everyone is saying it's not a good album. the album was great and had alot of really good songs. razorblade, you only live once, and on the other side are awesome tracks. everyone is complaining about julian's voice .. but on the other hand .. everyone is bitchin how they had the same sound. they changed, and now people are giving them crap. just deal. i don't know why everyone is saying it's not a good album. the album was great and had alot of really good songs. razorblade, you only live once, and on the other side are awesome tracks. everyone is complaining about julian's voice .. but on the other hand .. everyone is bitchin how they had the same sound. they changed, and now people are giving them crap. just deal. it's a sweet album from a sweet band. Expand
  76. lukew
    Feb 10, 2006
    10
    what is wrong with the music critics? is everyone really that snotty, they can't admit that the strokes made a fan-fucking-tastic record? is it just me? maybe my taste has become less discerning, i dunno. i'm just kinda flabbergasted that people aren't falling all over themselves; i think it's totally brilliant. and gutsy. and absurdly catchy.
  77. BeckyB
    Feb 8, 2006
    10
    Simply the best band around and an album to prove that. Somehow totally different whilst being entirely recognisable as The Strokes we know and love.
  78. rickrecksloppyjoe
    Feb 6, 2006
    10
    i love it when albums this good get schizophrenic and bad reviews. lol. this album kicks ass.
  79. jamesl
    Feb 6, 2006
    6
    There are a couple good songs, but too much of it sounds the same. In this case shorter would have went a longer way.
  80. Paul
    Feb 5, 2006
    10
    amazing, not as perfect as is this it but nicer than room on fire.
  81. DickC
    Feb 5, 2006
    6
    The first disappointment of 2006.
  82. Miguel
    Feb 4, 2006
    8
    It's a grower. "You Only Live Once" is amazing. The second half drags a bit, but you gotta give The Strokes credit for sucking it up and putting efforts into rejuvinating themselves.
  83. FoxyBrown
    Feb 4, 2006
    10
    very good.
  84. Shinto
    Feb 2, 2006
    9
    The Strokes 3rd record First Impressions of Earth You Only Live Once classic infectious pop Julian Lauper Juicebox batman red corvette pinball round the course Heart in a Cage hipster allan poe Razorblade mario water level Nikolai bass bop first harmony sweetheart On the Other Side Cash over ice baby drum groove Vision of Division virtuoso guitar c/o Valensi violent middle east mess The Strokes 3rd record First Impressions of Earth You Only Live Once classic infectious pop Julian Lauper Juicebox batman red corvette pinball round the course Heart in a Cage hipster allan poe Razorblade mario water level Nikolai bass bop first harmony sweetheart On the Other Side Cash over ice baby drum groove Vision of Division virtuoso guitar c/o Valensi violent middle east mess guitar imitating machine gun Ask Me Anything ballad no talk lies deceipt indians casinos mellotron Electricityscape sci fi sea city ominous gothic night light landscape w/ radio on 80s Killing Lies Is This It A side Fabrizio drum tap 3x lounge ballad Fear of Sleep Cyndi Lauper no fun 15 minutes clash down ending thud loud Hammond Jr on very drunk beer or redbull Ize of the World solo revenge of the 80s apocalypse ambulance night in the city Evening Sun beautiful contemplative VU calm glimmer stutter recede Red Light 8-bit nintendo blip blop sweet old fashion rock Expand
  85. mijur
    Feb 1, 2006
    9
    i like ize in the world
  86. MarioP
    Jan 29, 2006
    8
    I had some reservations on this album, but after a few listens I must say it really is quite great. The first 4 songs are brilliant, as in my opinion is Electricityscape. The rest are interesting songs, barring Killing Lies, Fear of Sleep and Evening Sun: the album would be much more solid without those stinkers. Nonetheless, this CD marks a nice evolution for The Strokes and I'm I had some reservations on this album, but after a few listens I must say it really is quite great. The first 4 songs are brilliant, as in my opinion is Electricityscape. The rest are interesting songs, barring Killing Lies, Fear of Sleep and Evening Sun: the album would be much more solid without those stinkers. Nonetheless, this CD marks a nice evolution for The Strokes and I'm really enjoying it. Expand
  87. HansF
    Jan 29, 2006
    0
    This c.d. is awful! Please, I beg each of you who gave this c.d. a positive review to find a Strokes fan site. I will then ask you to read the lyrics for each song. Then once your emberassment subsides, then write an updated review. I will now give my review with the same thoughfulness contained in the lyrics of this album, " This is one steaming pile of boring crap."
  88. Alex
    Jan 28, 2006
    8
    I've listened to this album about 10 times now and I must say it keeps getting better. When I first listened to it, I was disapointed. It did not sound like The Strokes I knew and was expecting. After I forced myself to listen to them more, hoping there was something more here, I was pleasantly suprised. The songs grow on you, well for the most part. "On the Other Side" is pretty I've listened to this album about 10 times now and I must say it keeps getting better. When I first listened to it, I was disapointed. It did not sound like The Strokes I knew and was expecting. After I forced myself to listen to them more, hoping there was something more here, I was pleasantly suprised. The songs grow on you, well for the most part. "On the Other Side" is pretty weak, as well as "Ask Me Anything". The rest of the songs are pretty good. "Heart In A Cage", "Vision of Division", and "Fear Of Sleep" are the top tracks on the album. Overall there are far more strong tracks than weak. Overall, it is worth the buy, if you have the patience. Expand
  89. RichardR
    Jan 28, 2006
    9
    Yo, forget how cool they are or aren't, in your opinion, which, yes, matters as much as anyone else's; it all comes down to the songs. It always does. That's why the Stones are better than the Beatles, the Sex Pistols better than the Clash, the Psychedelic Furs better than Depeche Mode, Radiohead better than... This album is full of freakin' great rock songs, Yo, forget how cool they are or aren't, in your opinion, which, yes, matters as much as anyone else's; it all comes down to the songs. It always does. That's why the Stones are better than the Beatles, the Sex Pistols better than the Clash, the Psychedelic Furs better than Depeche Mode, Radiohead better than... This album is full of freakin' great rock songs, flawlessly conceived and executed. Great instrumentals, singing, and lyrics. We're all lucky guys like this are around to carry the torch. Expand
  90. [Anonymous]
    Jan 27, 2006
    10
    Pretty much the best cd of all time. You get completely rocked out from the first 3 tracks and still have 11 solid hits to go. This album also contains at least a dozen of the best lines ever heard on cd, mp3, vinyl, whatever
  91. PeterP
    Jan 26, 2006
    7
    The first six songs on this album are fantastic. "You Only Live Once" is one of the best songs they have ever written. "Juicebox" is an ourstanding song, "razorblade" is great with a chorus nicked from Berry Manilow's "mandy", "On the other Side" is another favorite. but After "Vision of Division", the album trails off. the only real standout in the 2nd half is "Ize of the World".
  92. vjason
    Jan 25, 2006
    8
    I will not do a critic as a journalist but just express how much I love this album. In first time, before it was on the stores I had some songs like "razorblade" or "you only live once". I loved them ,the way they were going to, the guitars' sounds =>it made me feel better because they are the type of songs that strike you.And after a while I had "juicebox".I was so surprised because I will not do a critic as a journalist but just express how much I love this album. In first time, before it was on the stores I had some songs like "razorblade" or "you only live once". I loved them ,the way they were going to, the guitars' sounds =>it made me feel better because they are the type of songs that strike you.And after a while I had "juicebox".I was so surprised because of the intro , I don't really appreciated it(the intro).But the rest of the track don't deceive me. Finally I had three songs really cool : the strokes don't changed a lot finally , there was the same spirit in the songs:" the strokes'touch" was there.The melodies were worked ("razorblade", "you only live once"). So, now I have the album I can say that Julian really impressed me==> whoah! what an evolution! Julian control his voice it's awesome!(I don't say he was bad before but now he is very good) what an album! I can almost feel Julian's feelings , it's fantastic! "vision of division", "fear of sleep"==>those songs show the changement.the voice and the instruments are perfect. "electricityscape"=> I adore the way where Julian sing and the guitars..so beautiful when Julian stop.Fabrizio is fantastic in,with a cool entry. "heart in a cage"=>one of the tracks that resort from this album.There is a passage who make me think to "radiohead".=>like the album,fresh and well done "on the other side" is a cry Expand
  93. RobK
    Jan 25, 2006
    0
    oh god no
  94. M.Lewis
    Jan 23, 2006
    2
    The single sounds like the theme song from The Munsters. How can anyone enjoy this?
  95. StephenC
    Jan 23, 2006
    8
    Not as cool as This IS It, but much cooler than Room On Fire. The opener is probably the best song I've heard from the strokes and Juice box is contagious. It seems as though they haven't tried to make a hit, they've just made an album which they wanted to do and the resulrts are great. Cassablacas' (Don't know how to spell it but you know who i mean) voice Not as cool as This IS It, but much cooler than Room On Fire. The opener is probably the best song I've heard from the strokes and Juice box is contagious. It seems as though they haven't tried to make a hit, they've just made an album which they wanted to do and the resulrts are great. Cassablacas' (Don't know how to spell it but you know who i mean) voice isn't perfect and that what makes it perfect and what make up the Strokes sound. Who wants to sound like a pop star anyway? Not these guys. Expand
  96. paulr
    Jan 22, 2006
    10
    This album proves the band to be the best in the buisness.3/3 and more juice to come.
  97. whiteskin
    Jan 21, 2006
    8
    just take it or leave it...:)
  98. joshoh
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    La neta esta bien chido este disco !!!
  99. JotaP
    Jan 19, 2006
    6
    My vote is in fact a 5,5. I consider the Strokes a 3 time "one hit wonder", with one hit per album. After Las Nite and 12:51 they give us Juicebox now. It's a great song, followed by far by the rest of the songs in the album, clearly bellow avarage.
  100. andreas
    Jan 19, 2006
    9
    Actually this album has 4 songs ( juicebox, ask me nothing, razorblade,vision division ) that are so fresh...contagious...that only cold hearted poor guys can rate a 2 or 3. We live hard times for music...there is a general lack of ideas...and entertainment is a component so precious that a grouop like strokes should be blessed, instead of being awaited for a CRITICS killing... Gorgeous Actually this album has 4 songs ( juicebox, ask me nothing, razorblade,vision division ) that are so fresh...contagious...that only cold hearted poor guys can rate a 2 or 3. We live hard times for music...there is a general lack of ideas...and entertainment is a component so precious that a grouop like strokes should be blessed, instead of being awaited for a CRITICS killing... Gorgeous album anyhow ! Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Blender
    70
    Earth is the sound of a band coming to that inevitable realization: five patrician perfectionists who've resolved to sound sloppy, even (or especially) at the risk of fucking up. [Jan/Feb 2006, p.98]
  2. Turns out what the world was waiting for really was those that saved guitars finally making a record that truly reaped the rewards of their efforts. Is this it? OH GOD YES!
  3. First Impressions introduces some subtle new colors to the band's musical palette... but the pervasive sense of inert boredom, which has been noted as a strength in the past, is difficult to shake.