Fishscale - Ghostface Killah
Fishscale Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MF Doom, Madlib and Pete Rock lend their production talents to the Wu-Tang member's fifth solo outing, which includes a collaboration with Ne-Yo.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. This is Ghostface's best album.
  2. 91
    Toning down his oddball style and ramping up his storytelling, he drops a pusher’s odyssey as developed and cinematic as any Scorsese joint.
  3. The scenarios he recounts are as detailed and off-the-wall as ever, elaborate screenplays laid out with a vocal style that's ceaselessly fluid and never abrasive.
  4. Ghost continues his tradition of being the Wu's most consistant soloist.
  5. 80
    Strange, spooky and brilliant. [Apr 2006, p.114]
  6. Another great release from the most important emcee in hip-hop.
  7. Fishscale's tail-end reeks ("Jellyfish," "Big Girl," "Momma"), but then first cuts are always the deepest.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 55
  2. Negative: 3 out of 55
  1. Sep 29, 2014
    10
    Cinematic classic. That's all you need to know about this album. Wow is this ever an epic album both in length and quality. It's one of those rare albums that takes many listens to understand and being to enjoy but once you understand it you never ever go back. Expand
  2. Warsk
    Apr 25, 2006
    10
    Incredible album. No doubt. That being said, please please please STOP hating on Bulletproof Wallets -- that shit is like his Sgt. Pepper's record . . . a transitional time masked by the events of 9/11. Why people hate Wallets so much, I'll never know. Just please stop hating on it. The Hilton, anyone? Pop Yo Collar? Christ . . . Expand
  3. CASTROR
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    Ghost was the very 1st person to rhyme on the Wu's 1st album. At that point in time he really didn't grab me. Method was baskin in the lite back then. I was on the westside hiway w/ my cousin when Supreme Clientele dropped, and I first heard in my car. It was live, but I really didn't pay much attention to it. My cousin was more up on Ghost back then, than myself. It must have been around 2002 I purchased Supreme Clientele(One of the best albums in music of all time!). I payed attention to Ghost, and it was sick! Every album he has put out is fly. I have them all, plus his mixed tapes. Ghost's skill as a rapper is off the scales. I 1st heard Kilo on the underground. I was glad to hear him again, and not shocked about how fly the song was/is. I couldn't wait for his album to drop. The entire Fishscale is Fly. It captures the essence of rap music. I can tell he was raised on the same radio rap shows that I would listen to when I was 12- til today. I always admire his flavor. None of his music is for wack. Shame the masses don't buy his albums, as they do for other rappers of a lesser calibur. His albums are like jewels that are yet to have been appreciated by the mainstream mass. This album was surely one of the top 5 albums of 2006. Expand
  4. PaulB
    Apr 1, 2006
    9
    About as good lyrically as you are allowed to expect.
  5. G-Spottin'Killah
    Oct 23, 2006
    9
    This album is by FAR the illest he's dropped. These wack - albeit few - reviews which suggest otherwise need get their ears checked. And checked hard. Expand
  6. DanH
    May 6, 2006
    9
    If you don't like rap/hip-hop this won't be a big breakthrough for you. If you do like most rap/hip-hop, sit back and enjoy it.
  7. DaveA
    May 27, 2006
    0
    Rap is not music. And this album is no different.

See all 55 User Reviews