Flamingo - Brandon Flowers
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    Brilliant album! All the songs are good. Where as most albums have a couple of songs that you just simply skip over this album doesn't. My favourite album at the moment and one of my favourite of all all time.
  2. Pat
    Sep 21, 2010
    7
    Not terrible. It's a bit like a B-sides album for the Killer's Day and Age. Killers A-side albums are fairly different sounding from each other. 'Playing with Fire' is a good high point of the Flamingo.
  3. MD_
    Sep 15, 2010
    8
    Eight is a charitable score, in truth. Eight is a step below greatness, and while Flowers' debut, Flamingo, is not a truly great album, it is a very good one for what it tries to accomplish. In relation to its peers' (and Flowers' own musical Alma Mater, The Killers') work, it is deserving of a low eight.

    It is a strong pop-oriented album that lacks the indie sensibilities that seemed to
    weaken Day & Age and perhaps the strongest effort the young Las Vegas resident has afforded us, solo or otherwise. Expand
  4. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    As a big Killers fan i found this album underwhelming alot of the songs sound like Killers lite , there's not alot of experimentation or ambition on this record and overall the songs just aren't that strong , there are a couple of highlights in Only The Young and Playing With Fire but still both songs seem overproduced , the bonus tracks are a treat (especially 11 , 12 and 14) they are far more interesting and better lyrically than the majority of songs on the main album.

    Flamingo is okay but not great
    Expand
  5. Sep 14, 2010
    9
    Quite an overwhelming listen. Great music with just the right production. Sounds a bit like U2, could be the influence of Daniel Lanois. The combination of producers and instruments has given the music much more variety and depth compared to Day and Age which was a little one dimensional thanks to the lone production from Stuart Price. It seems that there is an evolution of his pop to more country oriented sound. I love the CD and highly recommend it to the all the people who love great singalong melodies Expand
  6. Oct 2, 2010
    4
    If you're looking to listen to an exuberant, mind-filled artists with ace songs, look no further than The Killers. But really, don't look further than that, because their frontman Brandon Flowers made a flop of a decent record with "Flamingo". Really, "Crossfire" was the only track that had garnered any of my interest. Well, maybe also the exception with "Only the Young". But the rest of the record sounds like an obvious revision of Sam's Town into some sort of "looking back to my childhood" feel, rather than the latter's "Young boys wanting to grow up to be men" feel. Ultimately, my point is that this album had hype to it, but failed to live up to it. But, Flowers did appear to make an effort on the record, but recycling idea is not the best way to do so, thus I give the record a "2 out of 5 stars" a.k.a. a 4. Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2010
    9
    Ignore the critics! Like all the music of The Killers, this album requires a second listen (or maybe even a 3rd) to truly appreciate it. Several songs contain the kind of brilliant hooks that the Killers are so adept at, which will keep you coming back for another listen. Despite being accused of writing cliché lyrics, Flowers manages to take a cliché, and, in true Vegas style, sing it with just the right tone and emphasis to make un-cliché it. There are some songs I don't care for as much as others, but the songs that stand out are good enough to make up for those that don't. Flowers shows once again that he is versatile, drawing inspiration from several genres. Again, like the albums of The Killers, Flamingo seems to be unclassifiable-by using a little bit of everything, Flowers has made a sound of his own. It isn't The Killers, although the there are echos of The Killers on every track. It is something unique that only Brandon Flowers, in his own unclassifiable way, can define. If you like The Killers, buy this album. You will be entranced by it's hooks, and compelled to, for just a moment, see the world as it must appear in the noonday sun on the Vegas strip. Expand
  8. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    Think it's great. A good traveling album in my opinion, something to take away when you're far from home. Love most of the intros on this record, it builds well, possibly 1 or 2 fillers here and there, but the rest is good. I'd recommend this to anyone who just wants to chill out to a relaxing record of songs.
  9. Mar 26, 2011
    8
    In essence, Flamingo grants you the almost same amount of joy and consistency you'd get with any killers album (if youâ
  10. May 29, 2011
    6
    The album is absolutely incredible! Brandon couldn't have came with better material for his debut as a solo artist. I loved his two previous singles. He did a great effort, can't wait to see what he picks as the next single. What a great singer and songwriter.
  11. May 26, 2012
    6
    This album sounds a lot like a Killers record, which is generally a good thing. Unfortunately, for me, the majority of the songs weren't very memorable and half of the record sounds like the weaker tracks off of "Sam's Town". I would recommend this album to those who are fans of The Killers, but I wouldn't say this album is anything particularly special.
  12. Aug 30, 2012
    8
    The LP is varied and in an other, but also cool style than The Killers. Brandon Flowers experimentalizing with his first solo album and made a good one! Don't look at the critics - look at the user scores! It only has 3 really good songs, but the album itself is the great thing! It has two weak songs but it's just a interesting adventure to hear. Hopefully there'll be another solo album by Mr. Flowers or an album by The Killers which is as good as this. Could've been better but is great, anyways. Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Flamingo finds Brandon Flowers exploring big topics (love, religion, the complicated charm of his Las Vegas hometown) over even bigger arrangements.
  2. Let's hope that Flowers isn't the next Morrissey, putting out one brilliant album for every three duds. At that rate, we only have to suffer two more Flamingos to see what Flowers is capable of producing as a solo artist.
  3. You have to take the good with the bad. It's probably the case that the good is better than you remember it and the bad is worse.