Flashy - Electric Six
Flashy Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 9 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fifth album for the Detroit rock band features a reference to its 2003 hit 'Gay Bar.'
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. More often than not, though, Flashy is lots of cleverly dumb fun.
  2. No, the Electric Six haven’t crafted a masterpiece, but each new disc shows them evolving and developing into one of the most reliably consistent rock groups out there today.
  3. 70
    Much of the record satirizes plastic surgery and oversexed macho men, but despite the ironic humor, there’s a compassion in the music that’s unexpected coming from a band best known for a Taco Bell–referencing novelty hit.
  4. 60
    Reborn, the track leads off the sardonic sextet’s fifth album of apocalyptic buffoonery shot through with metal, new wave and disco, all of it hilarious, none of it a joke.
  5. True to its title, Flashy is heavy on sheen, and bombast that blinds like glitter on a dirty bar floor. [Year End 2008, p.82]
  6. The world only needed one Electric Six album, but for a few understated moments, this one makes the case for a second.
  7. Flashy, the Detroit band's fifth full-length, still executes garage-glam with senses fully heightened, but it seems totally uninterested in doing anything new.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2