Fleet Foxes

  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Jun 3, 2008
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 245 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 245

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MaxB
    Jun 10, 2008
    0
    This is awful. This is terrible yuppie music. Read all the reviews and gave it a listen. This is lifestyle music for Starbucks-addict faux hipsters. Your parents will love this because it sucks. Instead, listen to any of the amazing musicians from the last forty years of recorded popular music this band is ripping off that are leaps and bounds ahead of this. Go buy some Squeeze, Fairport This is awful. This is terrible yuppie music. Read all the reviews and gave it a listen. This is lifestyle music for Starbucks-addict faux hipsters. Your parents will love this because it sucks. Instead, listen to any of the amazing musicians from the last forty years of recorded popular music this band is ripping off that are leaps and bounds ahead of this. Go buy some Squeeze, Fairport Convention, Pavement, Elvis Costello, or anything else. Sappy, derivative trash. Expand
  2. James
    Jul 27, 2008
    0
    My rating may seem low but something has to be done to tame all the crazy high praise. If you like boring mountain music with really lame lyrics and harmonies that will make you want to turn the music down when a car pulls next to you so not to be embarrased -then this is the band for you. Songs that start off by repeating lay me down over and over with vomit inducing harmonies do not My rating may seem low but something has to be done to tame all the crazy high praise. If you like boring mountain music with really lame lyrics and harmonies that will make you want to turn the music down when a car pulls next to you so not to be embarrased -then this is the band for you. Songs that start off by repeating lay me down over and over with vomit inducing harmonies do not make album of the year. There is so much better music out from this year alone. I can't believe how over-hyped these guys are. Just wait until some time passes. I bet no one will want to admit they thought this was a masterpiece 2 years from now. It will be like Clap Your Hands Say Yeah all over again but worse. Basically, this music is lame. Don't get caught up in the hype. Expand
  3. RonJ.
    Jul 29, 2008
    3
    I don't understand the hype. When I first played this album I turned the volume WAY down so no one else would hear it. It was pretty embarrassing. This sounds like something that should be playing as background music at a King Richard's fair.
  4. uhguhggerson
    Jan 3, 2009
    0
    Uhg. Crap. Stop it already. Just stop it.
  5. HexumS
    Mar 3, 2009
    0
    Listen to some of these user reviews: "I *cannot* listen to a single song without mentally placing myself in a Robert Frost poem". "...or on a late fall road trip through a wooded nowhere." "Harmonies flow and haunt you..." "Probably only Biffy Clyro or Lightspeed Champion have come close..." When you see remarks like these, you know the music is garbage. These people aren't even Listen to some of these user reviews: "I *cannot* listen to a single song without mentally placing myself in a Robert Frost poem". "...or on a late fall road trip through a wooded nowhere." "Harmonies flow and haunt you..." "Probably only Biffy Clyro or Lightspeed Champion have come close..." When you see remarks like these, you know the music is garbage. These people aren't even making sense! Expand
  6. AndrewS
    Mar 10, 2009
    1
    This music makes me want to stick knitting needles into my ears.
  7. JoeBlow
    Jun 5, 2009
    0
    Just another perfect example of the oldest misconception in the world, if everyone likes it that much, it must be good. Wrong. The way I see it, if everybody likes it that much, it probably means that it's suited for the masses, meaning, common, saturated ideas that are more than likely being done better elsewhere, not en-masse.
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Helplessness Blues is one of the few things reminding me that behind the liquor stores and condominiums is a little freedom and a lot of hope.
  2. Throughout the album, the band sounds wise beyond its years, so it's not really that surprising that Fleet Foxes is such a satisfying, self-assured debut.
  3. With their self-titled debut, Fleet Foxes have attained this and have delivered one of the best albums of the year.