Fleet Foxes

  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Jun 3, 2008
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 236 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 236

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2012
    5
    This album has some lovely moments, but the whole saturday afternoon at the renaissance fair vibe ends up feeling forced upon repeated listens. Didn't even make it to my IPod.
  2. Jul 22, 2011
    4
    When you get right down to it, too often this album sounds like elevator music for indie kids. I really enjoyed the new album they just put out (Helplessness Blues), but I could never really get into this one. Other than the terrific little folk stomper White Winter Hymnal and the intimate Your Protector, this album is way too cute and effete for its own good. Music like this works bestWhen you get right down to it, too often this album sounds like elevator music for indie kids. I really enjoyed the new album they just put out (Helplessness Blues), but I could never really get into this one. Other than the terrific little folk stomper White Winter Hymnal and the intimate Your Protector, this album is way too cute and effete for its own good. Music like this works best when the lyrics and songwriting are deeply personal and easy to relate to, but instead this album settles for bland ballads about mountains, meadowlarks, and the lead singer's brothers, and none of those topics make for very compelling songwriting. Expand
  3. DennisD.
    Dec 15, 2008
    4
    I don't get the hype and really don't understand how this made so many best of 08 lists. It's listless and dull, without a memorable track. It sounds like My Morning Jacket on valium.
  4. ChristianP
    Nov 17, 2008
    5
    Technically proficient but other than "White Winter Hymnal," there's no real magic.
  5. ZackT.
    Oct 4, 2008
    6
    A great first album , it give hope , but vocal are not really good , sometimes yes sometime no. A bad production with boring songs. But when i hear Tiger mountain or your Protector , i am sure this bands have a great potential.
  6. GeneS.
    Sep 15, 2008
    6
    First of all, drenching vocals in reverb doesn't can't cover up bad singing but the record is nostalgic and innocuous enough to win over some ears. The "Are you Going to Scarborough Faire/Parsley, Sage, Rosemary & Thyme" folksiness of Simon & Garfunkel) and shows that people really still dig baroque choral music. But essentially the combined the overly drenched reverb of the old First of all, drenching vocals in reverb doesn't can't cover up bad singing but the record is nostalgic and innocuous enough to win over some ears. The "Are you Going to Scarborough Faire/Parsley, Sage, Rosemary & Thyme" folksiness of Simon & Garfunkel) and shows that people really still dig baroque choral music. But essentially the combined the overly drenched reverb of the old AM radio sound that My Morning Jacket did on "Z" a couple of years ago. There's also a little freak folk bandwagonesque going on this side of Joanna Newsome. Hopefully Fleet Foxes will slink away quietly and might be able to weather the long haul. As for now, it's the flavor of the month for the indie world. Expand
  7. Belle
    Aug 21, 2008
    4
    No no no. Way overrated. It was really... boring. All the tracks sound the same and there's just nothing I loved about it. Bleugh.
  8. DagW.
    Aug 15, 2008
    5
    Jump the bandwagon if you must, but frankly this can only appeal to those with an affinity for Shakespearean costume dramas that address each other with "thou" . Save for a couple of undeniably beautiful moments ("Blue Ridge Mountains" and "Mykonos") it is difficult to understand the group's appeal beyond Robin Hood's trusted men. "Meadowlark, fly away down/I hold a cornucopia Jump the bandwagon if you must, but frankly this can only appeal to those with an affinity for Shakespearean costume dramas that address each other with "thou" . Save for a couple of undeniably beautiful moments ("Blue Ridge Mountains" and "Mykonos") it is difficult to understand the group's appeal beyond Robin Hood's trusted men. "Meadowlark, fly away down/I hold a cornucopia and a golden crown/for you to wear upon your fleecy down". I guess that would have passed as poetry circa 1540. Expand
  9. JCC.
    Jul 24, 2008
    4
    After all the hype, I finally listened to this. And what a letdown - it just fits in that dull niche of paint by numbers alternative music. Nice, safe, repetitive but ultimately disengaging and downright dull.
  10. FletcherD.
    Jun 20, 2008
    5
    This album is solid, but let's get ahold of ourselves, this is not one of this years best in the big picture. People kind of need to cool their jets and quit riding the Hype Train.
  11. J.E.
    Jun 11, 2008
    5
    More civil war beard blog rock. They sound just like a less rock influenced My Morning Jacket and Band of Horses. There's nothing original going on here. The songs are pleasant enough, but you've heard it all before. The title track "ragged wood" very blatantly rips off MMJ's "golden".
  12. PaulC
    Jun 10, 2008
    6
    Slightly above average, but nowhere near as good as the reviews. Maybe I expected too much after seeing such a high metacritic score. There are definitely albums with lower scores that rock more, are more fun, and more worth a listen.
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Helplessness Blues is one of the few things reminding me that behind the liquor stores and condominiums is a little freedom and a lot of hope.
  2. Throughout the album, the band sounds wise beyond its years, so it's not really that surprising that Fleet Foxes is such a satisfying, self-assured debut.
  3. With their self-titled debut, Fleet Foxes have attained this and have delivered one of the best albums of the year.