Flesh Tone - Kelis
  • Band Name:
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Flesh Tone Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 39 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fifth studio album from Kelis features producers David Guetta and Benny Benassi, bringing dance and techno tidbits within her soulful R&B mix.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 90
    Long-time Kelis fans might be initially surprised at the sonic switch-up-it's more dance than quirky R&B-but there's something totally right about the way Kelis tackles electronic music.
  2. Does pregnancy turn R&B singers into robots? First Christina Aguilera went cyborg for her post-baby album Bionic, and now Kelis has gone Robo-Mom on this tribute to her infant son, Flesh Tone, which blends awesomely sweaty urban pop with cold Eurodisco.
  3. These songs, for all their Top 40 disco glitter (will.i.am. signed her to his label and executive-produces here), compel with their tradeoffs between vulnerability and euphoria, though if you aren't paying attention, they're slick enough to pass as merely exceptional pop-radio or club-floor fodder.
  4. Kelis's honey-husky voice slips easily into the hypnotic repetitions of dance music vocalisation; she uses the classic language of love songs and the soaring declarations of generalized euphoria particular to house music.
  5. Whatever her bad luck might be down to, Kelis can take some small comfort in having made her best album since Kaleidoscope.
  6. She's always had an impressionistic vision of R&B, but this isn't just a curveball for the hell of it; she uses escapist tracks (written with guys like David Guetta and Jean Baptiste) to realist ends.
  7. The biggest crime here is that it sounds so dated-listening to Flesh Tone is a bit like watching a filmmaker failing to ape the innovation of The Matrix more than a decade after it was made.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    Far the best Kelis album, It is completely different from her previous albums but in a good way. All tracks compliment each other and flowFar the best Kelis album, It is completely different from her previous albums but in a good way. All tracks compliment each other and flow brilliantly. Kelis is one of those artist that I believe don't get enough recognition and she deserves so much more. Intro, Fireworks (4th of July), Acapella, 22nd Century & Brave are my top tracks. Should be on your iPod! Collapse
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    The segues compliment the tracks very well. Each song tells a different story. The techno, dance beats with Kelis' supernatural voice is justThe segues compliment the tracks very well. Each song tells a different story. The techno, dance beats with Kelis' supernatural voice is just simple amazing. The best dance album I've heard in a extremely long time. I advise Kelis to stick with the Electronic path. It suits her and compliments her voice very well! Expand
  3. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    Upon first hearing this album I had no idea that it was made by the same person who sang 'Milkshake', and I was really surprised upon hearingUpon first hearing this album I had no idea that it was made by the same person who sang 'Milkshake', and I was really surprised upon hearing this. 'Flesh Tone' sounds like an album that has been made by a well established dance artist/DJ. I then quickly sought out her previous works after hearing this and was pleased, but none of them compare to 'Flesh Tone'. With no hesitation, I can say this is the best album of 2010. Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2011
    10
    Having not really been a fan of Kelis I didnt really plan on buying this album. After 'Acapella' and '4th Of July' I downloaded it and WOW!Having not really been a fan of Kelis I didnt really plan on buying this album. After 'Acapella' and '4th Of July' I downloaded it and WOW! One of the greatest albums I've ever bought!!! Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2010
    8
    Quite Good. Although most of the songs on the album don't stand out that much, the way the entire album flows together creates a brilliantQuite Good. Although most of the songs on the album don't stand out that much, the way the entire album flows together creates a brilliant piece of art. Highlights include "Acapella", "Scream" and "Brave". Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2015
    8
    Flesh Tone was one of the best listening experiences of 2010. I love nearly all of the songs on here. Kelis changes her direction with nearlyFlesh Tone was one of the best listening experiences of 2010. I love nearly all of the songs on here. Kelis changes her direction with nearly every album, and this album is no exception. The dance songs here take some getting used to: they're not generic mainstream dance songs. They're unique, they combine Kelis' lyrical concept with production that is definitely interesting: it shows the talents of many producers such as the Benassi Bros. and will.i.am. This album is unlike any dance album ever created. And the segues work extremely well too. There are a few songs on here I don't love (but still like) and the album should be a bit longer, but overall this is an impressive effort and unlike anything I have ever heard before. Grade: A-. Highlights: "Home", "Acapella", "Emancipate" and the segues. Worst song: "Scream" Expand
  7. Sep 26, 2011
    5
    Neither hated it or loved it. It certainly deserves far more success than it got. I enjoyed the majority of her new sound, some hard hittingNeither hated it or loved it. It certainly deserves far more success than it got. I enjoyed the majority of her new sound, some hard hitting electro beats, but with David Guetta and Benny Benassi what more could you expect ? It does at times feel alittle forces, i-must-fit-this-genre kinda feelings do drag this album down in parts, but all in all, a good album from a very underrated artist. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. July's Best New Music

    July's Best New Music Image
    Published: July 29, 2010
    Our list of the best-reviewed albums from the past month is topped by Sir Lucious Left Foot himself, and also includes discs from indie buzz band Best Coast, pop singer Kelis, and Las Vegas crooner Tom Jones. (Yes, that Tom Jones.)