Flesh Tone - Kelis
  • Band Name:
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Flesh Tone Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fifth studio album from Kelis features producers David Guetta and Benny Benassi, bringing dance and techno tidbits within her soulful R&B mix.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 90
    Long-time Kelis fans might be initially surprised at the sonic switch-up-it's more dance than quirky R&B-but there's something totally right about the way Kelis tackles electronic music.
  2. Does pregnancy turn R&B singers into robots? First Christina Aguilera went cyborg for her post-baby album Bionic, and now Kelis has gone Robo-Mom on this tribute to her infant son, Flesh Tone, which blends awesomely sweaty urban pop with cold Eurodisco.
  3. While the sound of Flesh Tone is electro cool, the songs reveal a deep humanity.
  4. Kelis's honey-husky voice slips easily into the hypnotic repetitions of dance music vocalisation; she uses the classic language of love songs and the soaring declarations of generalized euphoria particular to house music.
  5. Whatever her bad luck might be down to, Kelis can take some small comfort in having made her best album since Kaleidoscope.
  6. 60
    This is one record on which his ultimate masterplan to weld R&B sass to thumping club beats comes good. [Aug 2010, p.84]
  7. The biggest crime here is that it sounds so dated-listening to Flesh Tone is a bit like watching a filmmaker failing to ape the innovation of The Matrix more than a decade after it was made.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    Upon first hearing this album I had no idea that it was made by the same person who sang 'Milkshake', and I was really surprised upon hearing this. 'Flesh Tone' sounds like an album that has been made by a well established dance artist/DJ. I then quickly sought out her previous works after hearing this and was pleased, but none of them compare to 'Flesh Tone'. With no hesitation, I can say this is the best album of 2010. Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    Far the best Kelis album, It is completely different from her previous albums but in a good way. All tracks compliment each other and flow brilliantly. Kelis is one of those artist that I believe don't get enough recognition and she deserves so much more. Intro, Fireworks (4th of July), Acapella, 22nd Century & Brave are my top tracks. Should be on your iPod! Expand
  3. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    Forget the old Kelis, cause this one R-O-C-K-S. I wouldn't say that the old Kelis is bad, or boring (in fact, she's been as great as I've remembered), but I just want to say that 'Flesh Tone' is a techno-electro master-piece. A great album for every occasion. The way 'Flesh Tone' flows is flawless. From the first one (Intro) to the last one (Song for the Baby), you can hear a story of an independent, humble, heartbroken and at the same time, strong woman. Also I've noticed that it has some elements of Daft Punk's 'Discovery' (22nd Century, Home). Which is great and refreshing. I can't pick a favorite, cause the album is so well made, it's really difficult to proclaim a highlight on this effort. Kelis, you've done an amazing job. Can't wait for your next album. Expand
  4. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    The segues compliment the tracks very well. Each song tells a different story. The techno, dance beats with Kelis' supernatural voice is just simple amazing. The best dance album I've heard in a extremely long time. I advise Kelis to stick with the Electronic path. It suits her and compliments her voice very well! Expand
  5. Aug 12, 2011
    10
    Having not really been a fan of Kelis I didnt really plan on buying this album. After 'Acapella' and '4th Of July' I downloaded it and WOW! One of the greatest albums I've ever bought!!! Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2010
    8
    Quite Good. Although most of the songs on the album don't stand out that much, the way the entire album flows together creates a brilliant piece of art. Highlights include "Acapella", "Scream" and "Brave". Expand
  7. Sep 26, 2011
    5
    Neither hated it or loved it. It certainly deserves far more success than it got. I enjoyed the majority of her new sound, some hard hitting electro beats, but with David Guetta and Benny Benassi what more could you expect ? It does at times feel alittle forces, i-must-fit-this-genre kinda feelings do drag this album down in parts, but all in all, a good album from a very underrated artist. Collapse

See all 11 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. July's Best New Music

    July's Best New Music Image
    Published: July 29, 2010
    Our list of the best-reviewed albums from the past month is topped by Sir Lucious Left Foot himself, and also includes discs from indie buzz band Best Coast, pop singer Kelis, and Las Vegas crooner Tom Jones. (Yes, that Tom Jones.)