User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 61
  2. Negative: 3 out of 61

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    Food and liquor 2: the great American rap album is a really good album. The beats are really good and his lyrics are a masterpiece. Every songs in the album are classic. My favorite songs on the album are Bad **** cold war, around my way, ital (roses), Strange Fruition, and Audubon ballroom. Buy this album, support real hip hop.
  2. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    i rate this album solely based on lyrics and concept and with that said its a perfect 10 no less (maybe more)
    production is not so perfect for me though but it matches very well with lyrics
  3. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    Classic album... more focused and more potent than either the original F&L and The Cool. This will have a hard time going over on any fans he's made off of LASERS alone due to the heavy topics and dense lyrics. Lupe pulls no punches on this release and raps over heavy hip hop beats (something LASERS was missing) as well as some smooth ones (Its Hood Now). If youre a Lupe Fiasco fan you'llClassic album... more focused and more potent than either the original F&L and The Cool. This will have a hard time going over on any fans he's made off of LASERS alone due to the heavy topics and dense lyrics. Lupe pulls no punches on this release and raps over heavy hip hop beats (something LASERS was missing) as well as some smooth ones (Its Hood Now). If youre a Lupe Fiasco fan you'll love the album. If youre not, you can still go pick up your Waka Flocka album. Expand
  4. Sep 26, 2012
    9
    Lupe Fiasco is a technically talented emcee, but that
  5. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    Based on Lupe Fiasco's material before, his most recent album Food & Liquor Vol 2: The Great American Rap Album does not disappoint. To me he goes back to the bases of hip-hop when he made the songs Around My Way (Freedom Ain't Free) and Put Em Up. Other tracks like Strange Fruition, ITAL (Roses),B!%ch Bad, Lamborghini Angels, Heart Donor, and How Dare You still touch the bases of hip-hopBased on Lupe Fiasco's material before, his most recent album Food & Liquor Vol 2: The Great American Rap Album does not disappoint. To me he goes back to the bases of hip-hop when he made the songs Around My Way (Freedom Ain't Free) and Put Em Up. Other tracks like Strange Fruition, ITAL (Roses),B!%ch Bad, Lamborghini Angels, Heart Donor, and How Dare You still touch the bases of hip-hop but he fixes it up for the 2012 hip-hop sound. Above all, his choice of words for his lyrics are insane. If you love true hip-hop/rap i suggest that you buy this album. Collapse
  6. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    I Definitely Give This Album A 10 Lupe Is A GREAT Lyricist.....If Your Thinking About Getting The Album I Think You Should You Want Be Disappointed,I New It was Gonna Be A Good Album Because The First Food & Liquor Album Was Pretty Tight.
  7. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    The song that impacts me the most is unforgivable youth. to me it implies that the country when young made a lot of stupid mistakes that are unforgivable. to its detriment. vs 1The Indians welcomed the settlers, instead of killing all of them immediately, vs 2 talks about the slave trading and how african americans built this country, but promised that they would have to pay for theirThe song that impacts me the most is unforgivable youth. to me it implies that the country when young made a lot of stupid mistakes that are unforgivable. to its detriment. vs 1The Indians welcomed the settlers, instead of killing all of them immediately, vs 2 talks about the slave trading and how african americans built this country, but promised that they would have to pay for their sins, and vs 3, finale retribution. his poetry is not subtle. but it f s with you because he speaks the truth. Expand
  8. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    A rap album for a generation that should be number 1 in every country. My favorites include Bad" and "Freedom ain't Free(Around My Way)". Lupe is my favorite rapper for a reason, and this album exemplifies why.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 31, 2012
    90
    What it proves to be is an exhilarating, uneven, thought-provoking, over-egged, over-long, lucid, barnstorming, soul-infused hip-hop album of a type that, as I may have mentioned once or twice or five times, you just don't get any more. Except, of course, you do, and here it is.
  2. 60
    Some of these tracks give Lupe the room to triumph... But he falters on the frivolous "Heart Donor."
  3. Oct 4, 2012
    60
    Food & Liquor II is fine and good. It's just not The Great American Rap Album.