Food & Liquor, Vol. 2: the Great American Rap Album, Pt. 1 Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lupe Fiasco's third album was self-produced and features guest appearances by Bilal, Casey Benjamin, Guy Sebastian, Jane $$$, Jason Evigan, and Poo Bear.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 31, 2012
    90
    What it proves to be is an exhilarating, uneven, thought-provoking, over-egged, over-long, lucid, barnstorming, soul-infused hip-hop album of a type that, as I may have mentioned once or twice or five times, you just don't get any more. Except, of course, you do, and here it is.
  2. Sep 25, 2012
    80
    With Food & Liquor 2: The Great American Rap Album Pt. 1, Rap's resident Judo master of juxtaposition sounds inspired again, dishing out shifting dichotomies through a scattering of deliveries without encroaching on petulance.
  3. 75
    He could use a little more production sugar to chase his socially conscious medicine on this restless, claustrophobic sequel. [5 Oct 2012, p.77]
  4. Sep 25, 2012
    70
    A challenging set that refuses to settle for easy rhymes or facile ideas.
  5. Sep 25, 2012
    68
    Lupe's dexterity remains his greatest asset.
  6. Oct 4, 2012
    60
    Food & Liquor II is fine and good. It's just not The Great American Rap Album.
  7. Sep 27, 2012
    40
    Fiasco is not without skills or beliefs, but neither are as refined as his self-regard.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    Food and liquor 2: the great American rap album is a really good album. The beats are really good and his lyrics are a masterpiece. Every songs in the album are classic. My favorite songs on the album are Bad **** cold war, around my way, ital (roses), Strange Fruition, and Audubon ballroom. Buy this album, support real hip hop. Expand
  2. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    The song that impacts me the most is unforgivable youth. to me it implies that the country when young made a lot of stupid mistakes that are unforgivable. to its detriment. vs 1The Indians welcomed the settlers, instead of killing all of them immediately, vs 2 talks about the slave trading and how african americans built this country, but promised that they would have to pay for their sins, and vs 3, finale retribution. his poetry is not subtle. but it f s with you because he speaks the truth. Expand
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    i rate this album solely based on lyrics and concept and with that said its a perfect 10 no less (maybe more)
    production is not so perfect
    for me though but it matches very well with lyrics Collapse
  4. Sep 28, 2012
    8
    http://ccthestudenthub.com/2012/09/28/your-food-your-liquor-socially-conscious-music/

    From the second you enter your local music retail
    store this week, you should have an immediate idea about what kind of man Wasalu Muhammad Jaco (Lupe Fiasco) is. Amongst the vibrant cover arts of this weeks best releases and latest offers, you Expand
  5. Mar 31, 2013
    8
    better than lasers, the beats are actually poppy and good, lupe also brings great lyricism to modern hip-hop. bad is a great example of a positive image.one of the best rap albums of 2012 Expand
  6. Oct 4, 2012
    7
    SO lame and forgettable. His next album needs to be Lasers 2. I am not a big Lupe fan anymore. I like the album, but he can do so much better! He dosen't need to make a F&L2: Part. 2. His lyrics are getting worse. His song **** Bad was lame. The beat was lame. The hook was lame. The lyrics were okay, but the song is very forgettable. Expand
  7. Oct 2, 2012
    0
    The beats are ripped off from other sources. The best example being Around my Way - it is a near duplicate of They Reminisce Over You. The lyrics are overly preachy and quite stale. Lupe is technically adept, but this is the Mediocre American Rap Album. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews