• Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Sep 19, 2006
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 171 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 171

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    Fantastic album. One of the best of the decade for hip hop. I'm not sure Lupe is appreciated enough for what he brings to the table, but this album is great song to song. "Kick Push", "I Gotcha", and especially "Hurt Me Soul" are my favorites, and show is lyrical abilities.
  2. TravisH
    Oct 9, 2006
    10
    Basically, beats are great, and his lyrical content rivals his idol, Nas, in every song. He's unreal, the way he plays with words "They accented like the UK" when its also "They Axe-ented like the UK" in I Gotcha. He's from Chi-City, which is where I'm from, but there's no bias here, he's the savior of hip-hop
  3. DanA
    Jun 24, 2007
    9
    A PHENOMENAL debut album from Lupe Fiasco. Engaging originality in the subject matter of the lyrics and great production. It's a damn shame that people like Shop Boyz will sell while Lupe will have to peddle out amazing albums year after year to try and get recognition.
  4. raymondw
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    If anybody can see this album as less than a 9 or a 10 then you know nothing about hip hop or music in general because the skills showcased on this album is incredible. The storytelling, the metaphors, beat selection, concepts and lyrics are all original and great. I met Lupe and I asked him to sign this album instead of the Cool because I think this one will be the one we remember in 10 years.
  5. EdgarM
    Mar 30, 2009
    10
    This is without a doubt the best rap album in the last 15 years! Lupe definitely gives Jay-Z, Nas, Eminem, Common, Kanye and all the other rappers in the game a run for there money in terms of being a story-teller and poet. Great, great album.
  6. jordanr
    May 2, 2009
    10
    This is the best hip hop album ever created. Number 1 on my top ten hip hop albums of all time and shortly followed by the cool. It's hard to decide whether the cool or food and liquor is better but I'd have to go with food and liquor only because nobody in the history of the genre has ever put out such an extraordinary piece on a debut album. I still listen to the album the This is the best hip hop album ever created. Number 1 on my top ten hip hop albums of all time and shortly followed by the cool. It's hard to decide whether the cool or food and liquor is better but I'd have to go with food and liquor only because nobody in the history of the genre has ever put out such an extraordinary piece on a debut album. I still listen to the album the entire way through at least once a week and it's been over 2 years. Expand
  7. MattyW
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    DUDE LUV how can u say this is a bad album. at the most there is 2 bad weak songs on it. are u tipsy or jus deaf. BEST ALBUM OF 06!!!!
  8. JackJ.
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    Classic.
  9. g.o.
    Sep 25, 2006
    9
    lyrically and conceptually absolutely amazing. challenges donuts and game theory for best hip hop album this year.
  10. JohnM
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    Great album. It is easily one of the best albums of the year.
  11. KSpearman
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    Best debut rap album since Reasonable Doubt
  12. EdwinO
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    Best album to come out (Until Ye's on December 11th. Im praying for that release date Kan!).
  13. FlossyP
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    Intellegent lyrics all around. This is what Hip-hop should be. Enjoyable and Amazing Production.
  14. kareemf
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    quite possibly the best album of the year.. lyrically stimulating verses filled with extended metaphors and vicious wordplay over these infectious beats makes this album a hip-hop classic in my eyes.. it sucks that ignorant people cant apprecate the album because they cant decipher his rhymes but ohh well, he is the truth
  15. LukeL.
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    Definitely the future of hip-hop. Common sense and real thoughts in a sea of 'club tunes'. People don't just have to dance all the time. But if you want to, you still can with this album. Good under any state of mind. Brilliant, even.
  16. DerekS.
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    The thing that makes Lupe's music so good is that he talks about things that are important in the world not cars, big screen tvs and gettin some. Its shame his album hasnt sold more copies this guys music is pure genious.
  17. Daryl-AnnH.
    Sep 8, 2007
    10
    Love his lyrics.. his beats are fire and he's just great overall.. he's bringing something new to what is now called hip-hop!
  18. Shay
    Jan 29, 2009
    10
    One of the best debuts I've heard by anyone in a long, long time. Full of brilliant songs.
  19. mariof
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    da best album of 06 so far
  20. Kay
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    Fantastic album, really well built and with great collaborations.
  21. JasonK
    Oct 15, 2006
    9
    Excellent representation of Lupe
  22. TiffanieG
    Dec 20, 2006
    10
    This album is bangin' from beginning to end...a MUST have for '06 and the rest of your life!!!
  23. TonyB
    Oct 26, 2006
    10
    Best album of 2006 so far.
  24. DavidL
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    A refreshing, insightful approach to Hip-Hop music that hasn't been around since the hay-days of A Tribe Called Quest, or the advent of Eminem. Completely original style and music sampling, just short of genius. A must buy, by all means.
  25. PostmanP
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    Best Cd Of The Year
  26. GiovanniD
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    This is the best album i've herd all year the beat the lyrics are all whoa.
  27. GregF
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    Best Rap Album of the Year
  28. Ouas
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    This is classic Status. The only drawback that most people may find in this is there is really no standout track, U know how you can tell what will be the next single on most Cds it's just about impossible to tell on this one. But my man is representin' My State to the fullest. It's better then rhymefest(Blue collar was great but "Food & Liquor" is ridiculous) It's This is classic Status. The only drawback that most people may find in this is there is really no standout track, U know how you can tell what will be the next single on most Cds it's just about impossible to tell on this one. But my man is representin' My State to the fullest. It's better then rhymefest(Blue collar was great but "Food & Liquor" is ridiculous) It's better then College Dropout and Late Registration. It will take a few times through to catch the lyrical content in this one but If he don't get at least mentioned in the New Artist awards next year I'm not ever watch another award show again, I say this is one above The Roots "Game Theory" So that makes this cd. Best Hip Hop album of the year in my book. Expand
  29. DavidP
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    Best rap album I've picked up since The College Dropout. definately worth every penny.
  30. joeb
    Sep 26, 2006
    10
    THE best hip hop album of the year by far and the best to come along in a loooong while. Lupe's bringing intelligence back to the game and does it in fine fashion. Looking forward to the follow-up.
  31. GregF
    Sep 26, 2006
    10
    Best Rap Album of the Year
  32. RandyB.
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    Lupe has gifted us with the most lyrically creative hip hop album in a long time. His innovation is spectacular, and refreshing to listen to. Perfect 10.
  33. haseebm
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    a breath of fresh air in the monochromatic hip hop game
  34. danmc
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    A solid CD from start to finish (okay, I didn't listen to all 11 minutes of the Outro....) It's as if Lupe took his notebook of poetry and sketches on society and set them to music...with the help of some of the best producers (Jay-Z and Kanye West) and collaborators such as Jill Scott. This is not traditional hip-hop...what to make of songs such as Kick, Push; Instrumental; and A solid CD from start to finish (okay, I didn't listen to all 11 minutes of the Outro....) It's as if Lupe took his notebook of poetry and sketches on society and set them to music...with the help of some of the best producers (Jay-Z and Kanye West) and collaborators such as Jill Scott. This is not traditional hip-hop...what to make of songs such as Kick, Push; Instrumental; and Hurts Me Soul, where he disses Jay-Z! Lupe is like the one honest person that you know that says everything he feels, whether or not that makes him popular. I didn't think there would be a better rap CD than Fishscale this year, but Food & Liquor may be the best overall CD of the year; certainly the most original. Expand
  35. dank
    Sep 29, 2006
    10
    sweet, sweet CD. Nothing bad about it.
  36. WilliamH.
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    Lupe Fiasco's Food & Liquor is a classic hip-hop album. If you have any respect for the genre, you will love this album.
  37. HatimA
    Feb 25, 2007
    10
    top class album, My second favorite rapper at the moment!
  38. Kevin
    Sep 19, 2007
    10
    This guy is beyond amazing. Lyrically a genius. It's hard to believe that this album never sold well.
  39. JackJ.
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    Classic.
  40. JosephK.
    Feb 17, 2008
    10
    Lupe Fiasco is a Genius!!! This Album is as Hip Hop as any other Album that will ever be released; It is a Classic among some of the Greatest Hip Hop Albums of All-Time such as Ready To Die, Reasonable Doubt, Illmatic, The Chronic, Capital Punishment, Lifestylez Ov Da Poor & Dangerous, and The Marshall Mathers LP; Lupe is the Best Rapper Alive in my opinion and no one in the Game can Lupe Fiasco is a Genius!!! This Album is as Hip Hop as any other Album that will ever be released; It is a Classic among some of the Greatest Hip Hop Albums of All-Time such as Ready To Die, Reasonable Doubt, Illmatic, The Chronic, Capital Punishment, Lifestylez Ov Da Poor & Dangerous, and The Marshall Mathers LP; Lupe is the Best Rapper Alive in my opinion and no one in the Game can compare with him Lyrically or Intellectually. Expand
  41. EricJ
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    This will go down as one of the best hip-hop albums of all-time.
  42. AC
    Jan 29, 2009
    10
    Great, great album. Probably, the best album of it's kind since Jay-Z's "The Blueprint".
  43. Rex
    Feb 8, 2009
    10
    Probably, one of the best albums in the last 10 years or so. This guy has a tremendous future ahead of him.
  44. JJSmoove
    Jul 17, 2009
    10
    Lupe is hip-hop's savior.
  45. PaulS
    Oct 13, 2006
    9
    This shit is the shit...cop it, listen, and use something else to break weed up on.
  46. ChozenY
    Dec 10, 2006
    10
    Lyrics of Talib united with the flow of Jay-Z, an unstoppable combination!!!
  47. mohsink
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    this is arguably the greatest cd made, ever
  48. salmank
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    This album may be quite as NY Times says it is, but it beautifully pokes at todays culture.
  49. djsmedley
    Sep 29, 2006
    10
    one of the top five rap albums of all time. nuff said
  50. MusicLover
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    This album was the best album of 2006, as far as hip-hop. Lupe was robbed of that Grammy. Subject matter & beats are all over the charts, which is what makes this album so lovable. Everybody can bob their head to at least one song. It's even got some spoken word going on at the beginning. I can't wait for The Cool to come out. Hopefully, it'll be just as good as his debut.
  51. JimmyP
    Jan 23, 2007
    10
    How Clipse got rated higher than Lupe...is a mystery, even though i loved Hell hath no fury...this is such a better album....production wise, and of course lyrics...Can't wait for the follow up which is called the cool, and it's due in the summer
  52. raj
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    thank god for Lupe...he is an original and may have resurrected hip hop from the dead...! best album of 06!
  53. JordanQ
    Mar 12, 2007
    10
    Best Hip Hop album I've heard as a whole in a while.
  54. killinlyrics
    Jun 13, 2007
    9
    everything is hot!! even his beat!!!
  55. CodyD
    Dec 3, 2008
    10
    I love this cd, but why is food & liquor higher voted then The Cool? wow.
  56. AdamS
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    Finally; a rapper talking about SOMETHING. Familiarize yourself with the concepet before listening to the concept tracks. (go to wikipedia or something).
  57. KeithT
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    Lupe is a true lyrical master. Skillfully crafting stories, wordplays, and perfect utilizing the beats that are amazingly done as well.
  58. DiabloP
    Dec 25, 2006
    9
    A great album. Good beats and good rhymes. You like hip-hop buy it !
  59. Neil
    Dec 26, 2006
    9
    The best Hip-Hop album of the year, It is up there with Kanye West's College Dropout. There isn't one bad verse on the album.
  60. DavidH.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    Its pretty incredible and immensely likable. The beats are just cracking and lupe is one of the best rappers out there. blending hip/hop and soul together to give an extraordinary atmosphere. The album is no masterpiece by any means, but the songs he say she say and sunshine (the best song on the album) are hip/hop soul classics, some of the best music i have ever heard in hip/hop. best Its pretty incredible and immensely likable. The beats are just cracking and lupe is one of the best rappers out there. blending hip/hop and soul together to give an extraordinary atmosphere. The album is no masterpiece by any means, but the songs he say she say and sunshine (the best song on the album) are hip/hop soul classics, some of the best music i have ever heard in hip/hop. best songs- real, kick-push,he say she say, sunshine and pressure are in a league most artist will never reach in music! Expand
  61. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    Food and Liquor was a well-rounded album touching on a variety of issues, ranging from the struggles of growing up in the streets to misguided racism. Named hip-hopâ
  62. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Great album, one of the best, if not the best hip hop album of all time.

    He has hands-down the best lyrical flow in the game, "Hurt Me Soul' is arguably one of the best, most meaningful songs ever.
  63. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    First of all the people who reviewed this as a negative have no understanding of Hip Hop whatsoever. They obviously didn't listen to the lyrics at all or just dumb. 'DudeLuv' I suggest you listen to something like Soulja Boy because you do not understand Hip Hop.

    This is one of the most original, profound, ingenious and intelligent Hip Hop albums of all time. If this can't be acknowledged
    First of all the people who reviewed this as a negative have no understanding of Hip Hop whatsoever. They obviously didn't listen to the lyrics at all or just dumb. 'DudeLuv' I suggest you listen to something like Soulja Boy because you do not understand Hip Hop.

    This is one of the most original, profound, ingenious and intelligent Hip Hop albums of all time. If this can't be acknowledged as one of the greatest, then there is no hope for Hip Hop fans or the genre itself.
    Expand
  64. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    A masterful debut from one the generation's greatest MCs. Lupe is on another level from many of the rappers who call themselves artists. Lupe the Killa...
  65. Jan 30, 2015
    9
    it's a breath of fresh air with Lupe's cool lyrical style. He sounds like he enjoys rapping , like he has fun doing it rather than try to seem "intimidating" as most others do. I truly enjoyed every single beat in this album and the only thing that makes it fall short of a perfect ten for me are the songs "Real" and "Just might be OK".
  66. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
  67. Apr 22, 2015
    9
    Ridiculously good freshman album from Lupe. I dont like Jays verse but besides that an amazing album with great production which only gets better with his next album release. "The Cool".
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Food & Liquor just might be the steadiest and most compelling rap album of 2006.
  2. There is not a bad verse on it.
  3. Where Fiasco misses classic status is his sonic approach.