Food & Liquor - Lupe Fiasco
Food & Liquor Image
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 160 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Championed by Jay-Z and Kanye West, the Chicago MC finally makes his full-length debut with this 16-track disc.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. By boldly expanding the parameters of mainstream hip-hop, Fiasco's threatening to make rap a welcoming place for geeks and iconoclasts as well as pimps and thugs.
  2. Food & Liquor is the best hip-hop album of 2006.
  3. Being bold and different for Lupe pays off right from the jump.
  4. 80
    One of the albums of the year. [Dec 2006, p.120]
  5. The album might not become a rap classic, but it is easily one of the best rap albums of 2006, and maybe one of the top records of any kind to appear this year.
  6. Fiasco is actually an absolutely dazzling emcee and a genuinely nuanced personality, and both of these things are incredibly rare in hip-hop in 2006.
  7. His orchestral Kanye-meets-Nas muse lacks originality.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 78
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 78
  3. Negative: 3 out of 78
  1. joeb
    Sep 26, 2006
    10
    THE best hip hop album of the year by far and the best to come along in a loooong while. Lupe's bringing intelligence back to the game THE best hip hop album of the year by far and the best to come along in a loooong while. Lupe's bringing intelligence back to the game and does it in fine fashion. Looking forward to the follow-up. Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    Fantastic album. One of the best of the decade for hip hop. I'm not sure Lupe is appreciated enough for what he brings to the table, but thisFantastic album. One of the best of the decade for hip hop. I'm not sure Lupe is appreciated enough for what he brings to the table, but this album is great song to song. "Kick Push", "I Gotcha", and especially "Hurt Me Soul" are my favorites, and show is lyrical abilities. Expand
  3. djsmedley
    Sep 29, 2006
    10
    one of the top five rap albums of all time. nuff said
  4. WilliamH.
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    Lupe Fiasco's Food & Liquor is a classic hip-hop album. If you have any respect for the genre, you will love this album.
  5. Shay
    Jan 29, 2009
    10
    One of the best debuts I've heard by anyone in a long, long time. Full of brilliant songs.
  6. DavidH.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    Its pretty incredible and immensely likable. The beats are just cracking and lupe is one of the best rappers out there. blending hip/hop and Its pretty incredible and immensely likable. The beats are just cracking and lupe is one of the best rappers out there. blending hip/hop and soul together to give an extraordinary atmosphere. The album is no masterpiece by any means, but the songs he say she say and sunshine (the best song on the album) are hip/hop soul classics, some of the best music i have ever heard in hip/hop. best songs- real, kick-push,he say she say, sunshine and pressure are in a league most artist will never reach in music! Expand
  7. DudeLuv
    Oct 9, 2006
    0
    This combo of food and liquor makes me wanna throw up. No reason for the hype...I guess it just disapoints on a grander scale cause of it. I This combo of food and liquor makes me wanna throw up. No reason for the hype...I guess it just disapoints on a grander scale cause of it. I rather eat some Chicken and Beer...not cheap liquor and stale food. Boooo this album!!! Expand

See all 78 User Reviews