• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Food & Liquor Image
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 171 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Championed by Jay-Z and Kanye West, the Chicago MC finally makes his full-length debut with this 16-track disc.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. By boldly expanding the parameters of mainstream hip-hop, Fiasco's threatening to make rap a welcoming place for geeks and iconoclasts as well as pimps and thugs.
  2. Food & Liquor is the best hip-hop album of 2006.
  3. Being bold and different for Lupe pays off right from the jump.
  4. 80
    One of the albums of the year. [Dec 2006, p.120]
  5. The album might not become a rap classic, but it is easily one of the best rap albums of 2006, and maybe one of the top records of any kind to appear this year.
  6. Fiasco is actually an absolutely dazzling emcee and a genuinely nuanced personality, and both of these things are incredibly rare in hip-hop in 2006.
  7. His orchestral Kanye-meets-Nas muse lacks originality.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 81
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 81
  3. Negative: 3 out of 81
  1. GregF
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    Best Rap Album of the Year
  2. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    Fantastic album. One of the best of the decade for hip hop. I'm not sure Lupe is appreciated enough for what he brings to the table, but thisFantastic album. One of the best of the decade for hip hop. I'm not sure Lupe is appreciated enough for what he brings to the table, but this album is great song to song. "Kick Push", "I Gotcha", and especially "Hurt Me Soul" are my favorites, and show is lyrical abilities. Expand
  3. djsmedley
    Sep 29, 2006
    10
    one of the top five rap albums of all time. nuff said
  4. MusicLover
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    This album was the best album of 2006, as far as hip-hop. Lupe was robbed of that Grammy. Subject matter & beats are all over the charts, This album was the best album of 2006, as far as hip-hop. Lupe was robbed of that Grammy. Subject matter & beats are all over the charts, which is what makes this album so lovable. Everybody can bob their head to at least one song. It's even got some spoken word going on at the beginning. I can't wait for The Cool to come out. Hopefully, it'll be just as good as his debut. Expand
  5. Shay
    Jan 29, 2009
    10
    One of the best debuts I've heard by anyone in a long, long time. Full of brilliant songs.
  6. DanA
    Jun 24, 2007
    9
    A PHENOMENAL debut album from Lupe Fiasco. Engaging originality in the subject matter of the lyrics and great production. It's a damn A PHENOMENAL debut album from Lupe Fiasco. Engaging originality in the subject matter of the lyrics and great production. It's a damn shame that people like Shop Boyz will sell while Lupe will have to peddle out amazing albums year after year to try and get recognition. Expand
  7. DudeLuv
    Oct 9, 2006
    0
    This combo of food and liquor makes me wanna throw up. No reason for the hype...I guess it just disapoints on a grander scale cause of it. I This combo of food and liquor makes me wanna throw up. No reason for the hype...I guess it just disapoints on a grander scale cause of it. I rather eat some Chicken and Beer...not cheap liquor and stale food. Boooo this album!!! Collapse

See all 81 User Reviews