For Now I Am Winter - Ólafur Arnalds
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Apr 5, 2013
    88
    For Now I Am Winter is filled with widescreen ambitions that deliver on every count.
  2. Apr 3, 2013
    80
    It’s pop, but it’s not; it’s classical, but it’s also electronic; it’s jazz and it’s rock and it’s ambient and it’s none of these things and all of them.
  3. Apr 1, 2013
    80
    For Now I Am Winter, effortlessly incorporates elements of pop into the budding singer/songwriter's already evocative blend of wistful neo-classicism and icy electronica.
  4. Mar 11, 2013
    80
    Sometimes the sound can appear overly clean, but on the whole Arnalds makes intelligent, informed decisions on the musical options available to him.
  5. Mar 22, 2013
    75
    For Now I Am Winter is surely set to become Arnalds' most successful outing yet. [Mar-Apr 2013, p.90]
  6. Apr 5, 2013
    70
    The living, breathing aspect of Arnalds' music is more evident here than on his previous six years’ worth of albums and EPs, which makes Winter easily his most straightforwardly accessible and mainstream-leaning effort to date.
  7. Apr 2, 2013
    70
    For Now I Am Winter is a record of intimate beauty and Arnór Dan's R&B-inspired vocals, which bear at least a passing resemblance to Ango or How To Dress Well, work surprisingly well in these sparse yet complex and layered compositions.
  8. Mar 11, 2013
    70
    It is an album that demands attention, not to mention repeated listenings, to draw out the beauty.
  9. Mar 11, 2013
    70
    There’s a light to guide Ólafur Arnalds’ music now, and it's allowing him to escape the darkness in a way he'd never quite imagined.
  10. Apr 2, 2013
    66
    For Now I Am Winter plays like a cultural stereotype, conjuring all the obvious adjectives but none of the emotions. But Arnalds has a gift for making boredom sound beautiful.
  11. Apr 10, 2013
    60
    The results meld as mood music of the highest variety--dense yet delicate, edgy and yet elegiac.
  12. 60
    Olafur Arnalds' third album, For Now I Am Winter, is an exemplary suite of Icelandic music, blending American minimalist techniques with European sensibilities.
  13. Apr 9, 2013
    55
    For Now I am Winter is competent, reasonably varied, and efficiently rousing.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Apr 6, 2013
    8
    In For Now I Am Winter he cooperate with Arnor Dan Arnarsson, the leading singer of Agent Fresco. The result is a beautiful, space-like sounds which hugs gently the listeners ears not letting him forget what he heard. I think it's one of the most atmospheric albums I've ever heard, the closest thing to Sigur Ros projects. It's hard to imagine that Olafur Arnalds was once the drummer of a Hardcore/Metal bands but that's the magic that lays on his hands: On the one hand, he can hit the drums and the other hand, he can play peacefully on the piano.

    http://5songsperartist.blogspot.co.il/2013/04/for-now-i-am-winter-olafur-arnalds.html
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 5, 2013
    7
    There is no denying Olafur's talent, however some of these pieces fall a bit short. There really isn't a lot of variety here, or courage. It more often feels like he's going for timelessness, rather than poinance. The music is serene, beautiful, and sometimes haunting, but it's also cloying, repetitive, and leaves you feeling that he could've made bolder choices. Full Review »
  3. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    I listen to this and end up feeling pretty damn good. I love the classical melody fused with the sweet, light and somber lyrics. I can listen to this for a day straight. It will be that album that you want to listen to at the end of the day. Songs like no other and songs like stutter are definitely songs that you'll want to listen to over and over again. Full Review »