For Screening Purposes Only

  • Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Jan 24, 2006
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DelroyFunk
    Apr 26, 2006
    1
    wow, this is just noise, worst album ive heard in the past 5 years
  2. Travis
    Feb 18, 2006
    8
    Ok, I'll admit, there are patchy bits - Maintain The Focus and Party On Dudes are particularly (and, based on the strength of some amazing demo cuts, peculiarly) forgettable, but overall the welding of noise and chaos to dance-able melodies and interesting structures makes this at once terrifying and electrifying. Awesome.
  3. IcicleTester
    Feb 21, 2006
    8
    Highly enjoyable stuff. If you're into experimental, noise and dance-punk, you should check this out. Their live performance is out of this world!
  4. MerrinD
    Feb 25, 2006
    10
    My favourite.. Can't believe people don't dig this shit..
  5. CarysW
    Feb 28, 2006
    8
    This album has been the album album i've been ooking for. Raw, Edgy, Electrical, this album is brilliant. They are even better live! Adore this album, shame tey have split up so soon!
  6. BenL
    Mar 16, 2006
    9
    Experimental, Dangerous, and Brilliant. Test Icicles re-invent music with a daunting future-sight. Probably the best record I've bought over the last 6 months. Shame it's gonna be their last.
  7. BrandonH
    Apr 15, 2006
    9
    I love it. Everything sounds like it could fall apart at any second, and that's exactly the kind of loud, decadent, new noise I've been looking for while I wait for the next Blood Brothers release.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    Half the time it's a match made in hipster heaven. [27 Jan 2006, p.85]
  2. Billboard
    50
    The deafening dialectics often feel contrived, making Test Icicles sound like a fun "project," not a real band. [28 Jan 2006]
  3. The New York Times
    60
    This is music that tries to be over-the-top and uncool: too hard, sometimes. But more often the songs are too contagious and exuberant to dislike.